FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[SOLVED] FASTBOOT flash recovery remote: not allowed (update boot.img and system.img

148 posts
Thanks Meter: 37
 
By zomgitsanoob, Senior Member on 9th January 2014, 02:32 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
9th January 2014, 09:38 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Okay, I see the problem now. Somehow, somewhere along the line, my bootloader got locked again... no idea how (last OTA update, perhaps?) (says TAMPERED/LOCKED)

Do I simply follow the same procedure I did the first time, or will supercid/s-off be a problem?
 
 
9th January 2014, 09:46 PM |#12  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gilmer
Thanks Meter: 852
 
Donate to Me
More
lol


#EDIT#

yeah, just

fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin

---------- Post added at 03:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:39 PM ----------

S-OFF and superCID won't be a problem

---------- Post added at 03:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:41 PM ----------

also with s-off, no need to ever lock/relock you're bootloader again...
9th January 2014, 09:52 PM |#13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellvone

lol


#EDIT#

yeah, just

fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin

---------- Post added at 03:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:39 PM ----------

S-OFF and superCID won't be a problem

---------- Post added at 03:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:41 PM ----------

also with s-off, no need to ever lock/relock you're bootloader again...


wait, I'm confused. Didn't I have to unlock it again right now, despite being s-off, in order to flash my recovery? Or did you mean the pl80.zip method would have worked without unlocking, since I have s-off?
9th January 2014, 09:56 PM |#14  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gilmer
Thanks Meter: 852
 
Donate to Me
More
nope, sorry I posted before I read you 'oops I'm relocked' post

you gotta be unlocked to flash anything, s-on or s-off

keep it unlocked, there is no reason to lock it again after you unlock it this time.....

you can accept OTA updates with unlocked bootloader being s-off
9th January 2014, 09:56 PM |#15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Ah, man! I unlocked the bootloader like you said and upon reboot it went to the initial set-up... it factory reset.... despite not having the stock recovery or anything

So.., back to square one- flash the recovery and I can apply the OTA update that started this whole mess, correct?

Will I lose the OTA update if I restore a remote nandroid backup from obackup?
9th January 2014, 09:59 PM |#16  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gilmer
Thanks Meter: 852
 
Donate to Me
More
no, you'll still be able to receive it

and as long as your

/system

is in stock condition it will go through
9th January 2014, 10:19 PM |#17  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
by /system in stock condition, you mean as in not having removed all the bs I didn't want/use in order to make room, right? because I removed the cricket account app (which did nothing anyway, the default facebook app, the rescue app... a lot o things. I have backups of the apks and the app data, though.

Of course, because f-k me, my nandroid seems to be corrupted

godammit, I just want to get this OTA update installed because it has touch5 and an updated Android. I'd tery installing from sideload, but CWM can't mount the sd card
9th January 2014, 10:30 PM |#18  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gilmer
Thanks Meter: 852
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zomgitsanoob

by /system in stock condition, you mean as in not having removed all the bs I didn't want/use in order to make room, right? because I removed the cricket account app (which did nothing anyway, the default facebook app, the rescue app... a lot o things. I have backups of the apks and the app data, though.

Of course, because f-k me, my nandroid seems to be corrupted

godammit, I just want to get this OTA update installed because it has touch5 and an updated Android. I'd tery installing from sideload, but CWM can't mount the sd card

what about the zip I linked to you?

just flash it

---------- Post added at 04:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:20 PM ----------

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f2fq45couq...ock_odexed.zip

flash this then stock recovery and update after

---------- Post added at 04:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:22 PM ----------

twrp twrp twrp....

I've got a twrp backup too if you want to restore it(with twrp) of course, lol
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to russellvone For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift russellvone Ad-Free
9th January 2014, 10:34 PM |#19  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Since we're s-off, we can then flash cwm or twrp back, install root and supersu from a .zip, and use rom toolbox to start hacking all the garbage back out again (and reinstalling the xposed framwork and all the good stuff) while enjoying sense 5 and android 4.whateverversionIdon'tevenrememberrightnow-2,ithink, correct? So like square one (when we bought the phone), but but with the latest OTA?


<-- just knowledgeable enough to make a mess, apparently
9th January 2014, 10:42 PM |#20  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gilmer
Thanks Meter: 852
 
Donate to Me
More
yes, successfully update to 4.2.2 Sense 5 then hack it up!
The Following User Says Thank You to russellvone For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift russellvone Ad-Free
9th January 2014, 10:46 PM |#21  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Thanks

I wish there were a way to sideload/install the zip from recovery when you've changed the /system partition. All the links Google found, though, say it'll just give you an error

I'm sure this is done intentionally, to discourage extensive changes to the carrier's phones.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes