FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Sent My Note 3 into Samsung Repair- with KNOX tripped

293 posts
Thanks Meter: 75
 
By people211, Senior Member on 5th February 2014, 09:10 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
It took about a week between sending it in and getting it back. The issue I had was that the note would not reboot if you pulled the battery and reinserted without having to connect it to the charger. Before I sent it in, i flashed back to stock using ODIN. I checked the status of the repair and it said they had replaced a component. I wasn't sure if they were going to do anything since I had tripped KNOX counter.

**The kicker**

I got it back today and immediately went into download mode and to my surprise, KNOX was reset to 0X0!! I know they said they were going to flash it back to stock when they got it, but i didn't think KNOX could be reset (even by them).

The Following User Says Thank You to people211 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift people211 Ad-Free
5th February 2014, 09:14 PM |#2  
Compusmurf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 320
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by people211

It took about a week between sending it in and getting it back. The issue I had was that the note would not reboot if you pulled the battery and reinserted without having to connect it to the charger. Before I sent it in, i flashed back to stock using ODIN. I checked the status of the repair and it said they had replaced a component. I wasn't sure if they were going to do anything since I had tripped KNOX counter.

**The kicker**

I got it back today and immediately went into download mode and to my surprise, KNOX was reset to 0X0!! I know they said they were going to flash it back to stock when they got it, but i didn't think KNOX could be reset (even by them).


Maybe they swapped the whole board?
5th February 2014, 09:27 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Mine went in tripped and came back reset also and it said they replaced a component. Mine had a non working SD card slot, i figured that replacing that part would but the phone still has the same serial number and imei number, plus I had used the region unlock and it was still in place and the software wasn't even reset.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compusmurf

Maybe they swapped the whole board?

5th February 2014, 09:29 PM |#4  
Compusmurf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 320
 
More
Nice. Maybe the programmer geeks here will figure out how they did it and make everyone else one.

Not that I care about KNOX and wish it would just die already.
5th February 2014, 09:43 PM |#5  
people211's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bookmonke

Mine went in tripped and came back reset also and it said they replaced a component. Mine had a non working SD card slot, i figured that replacing that part would but the phone still has the same serial number and imei number, plus I had used the region unlock and it was still in place and the software wasn't even reset.

Same here. Used region lock away before and it sim unlocked my note. I got the unlock code from tmobile but didn't even have to use it. Unlock was still in place when I got it back

Sent from my LG-E988 using xda app-developers app
5th February 2014, 10:32 PM |#6  
daraj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida, USA
Thanks Meter: 247
 
Donate to Me
More
Same here. I sent it to Tmobile tripped and I got a replacement 0x0
6th February 2014, 12:40 AM |#7  
noobtoob's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 515
 
More
Thing is, the Knox warranty gets voided by a private key missing from the bootloader. Most likely, they are just flashing it back to stock with the signed bootloader, hence returning it back to 0x0.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
6th February 2014, 01:41 AM |#8  
EtherealRemnant's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 770
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtoob

Thing is, the Knox warranty gets voided by a private key missing from the bootloader. Most likely, they are just flashing it back to stock with the signed bootloader, hence returning it back to 0x0.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

Yes but this goes a long way to proving that it isn't an efuse as has been suggested in the past and has been shot around as being a fact by so many. An efuse wouldn't ever be able to be reset. Since its being reset, there is a possibility (no matter how small) of figuring out how to reset the bootloader so that it is signed when it gets sent in for warranty or traded in for JUMP.
The Following User Says Thank You to EtherealRemnant For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift EtherealRemnant Ad-Free
6th February 2014, 01:50 AM |#9  
noobtoob's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fresno, CA
Thanks Meter: 515
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EtherealRemnant

Yes but this goes a long way to proving that it isn't an efuse as has been suggested in the past and has been shot around as being a fact by so many. An efuse wouldn't ever be able to be reset. Since its being reset, there is a possibility (no matter how small) of figuring out how to reset the bootloader so that it is signed when it gets sent in for warranty or traded in for JUMP.

I agree. I never thought it was an e fuse myself. But private keys are nearly impossible to crack, unless released, which I doubt Samsung is going to leak.

If they put an e fuse in the phone, they would lose money replacing parts during their manufacturer warranty.

But, here's to hoping it does get cracked one day...:beer:

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to noobtoob For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift noobtoob Ad-Free
7th February 2014, 05:30 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
Even if it is an e fuse they probably able to just solder in a new one.
If software then they simply flash the code and it resets.

We just need to talk to someone there. I know its hard to get a hold of anyone let alone get this info out of then.

But cool you guys got it back reset.

I think it is like the HTC One tampered bootloader setup.

Just give it time and we will have a way to reset it.
7th February 2014, 07:42 PM |#11  
Jfree3000's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Metro Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 324
 
More
Yeah there is a tread in the international note 3 forum about this same thing. Couldn't find it with tapa but the topic was quite a few pages long last time I checked. Appears Samsung had the ability to rest it with their magic equipment.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes