FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Help! App2SD issues, SD apps disappeared & won't work!!

1,280 posts
Thanks Meter: 380
 
By snovvman, Senior Member on 30th October 2010, 03:15 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
N1, rooted, 2.2, many apps to SD (both natively or using root).

Things have been humming along just fine. Today, after a reboot from a hanging app update, I no longer have access to apps that are loaded on SD. LauncherPro displays them using generic Android icons rather than the actual apps.

When I go to Manage Applications, they are listed but are all grayed out.

Several reboots, no joy.

Went to Settings/SD/. SD is shown as mounted. Tried to umount, the process hangs.

HELP!!

How do I troubleshoot/get my phone back to normal?

Is there a Linux "chkdsk" I can invoke?

I would really appreciate some help.

Cheers.

Edit: It appears that I can take pictures and browse pictures stored on SD, which suggests that the SD is mounted. What could be wrong?

Edit 2: From what I can tell, the link or reference to all the apps on SD is lost or corrupted. How do I rebuild/fix? HELP!!

Edit 3: Under Manage Applications, all the A2SD apps are grayed out. When I select one, the size information hangs at "Computing..." PLEASE HELP!!
 
 
30th October 2010, 04:03 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
More
Here is another clue: When I remove the MicroSD and boot the phone without it, there is no "SD missing" indicator on the notification bar. I thought there should be??

Without the MicroSD inserted:

The phone and the missing App2SD behave the same as if the SD were inserted except when I go to Manage Applications and select one of the App2SD apps, the file/cache/data size information show up right away (correctly). When SD is inserted, they hang at "computing size...".

Does this give someone a clue on what to do? Please?
30th October 2010, 04:12 PM |#3  
danger-rat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 316
 
More
Sounds like they are corrupt...
Just reinstall from the market.

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
30th October 2010, 04:37 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danger-rat

Sounds like they are corrupt...
Just reinstall from the market.

Thanks. It would seem like not the individual applications, but rather the table or links to all the App2SD is corrupt. Is there a way to fix this without needing to reinstall everything? I have over 200 apps!

Moreover, does the 1) lack of "missing SD" when it is not inserted, 2) strange behavior when trying to umount the SD and, 3) hanging at "computing size..." under Manage Applications suggest a deeper issue? (All described above.)

Here is a lesson for having a good backup.
30th October 2010, 05:24 PM |#5  
highvista's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Eugene, OR
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
I've had this happen to me a few times now. I'm running stock, rooted 2.2.1 and am using the native app2sd functionality of FroYo. It occurs after a reboot. Shelling into the phone and doing a "df" to show mounts reveals that none of the normal application mounts are in place. Going to the /mnt/asec directory shows that each of the application directories exist but are empty. When things are working, each application's directory contains a "pkg.apk" file.

The only way I've been able to recover has been to use Titanium Backup to re-install each app from the back-up I'd made before this happened. I've become very paranoid and keep my back-up up-to-date at all times. Recovering this way is still pretty tedious, and I only have about 18 apps on my SD card. I'd think there'd be a better way to rebuild the /mnt/asec directory. I've created a tar of /mnt/asec and, if I have this problem again, I'm going to try just restoring the tar and rebooting to see if I can avoid the one-by-one reinstall.
30th October 2010, 05:43 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
More
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by highvista

I've had this happen to me a few times now. I'm running stock, rooted 2.2.1 and am using the native app2sd functionality of FroYo. It occurs after a reboot. Shelling into the phone and doing a "df" to show mounts reveals that none of the normal application mounts are in place. Going to the /mnt/asec directory shows that each of the application directories exist but are empty. When things are working, each application's directory contains a "pkg.apk" file.

The only way I've been able to recover has been to use Titanium Backup to re-install each app from the back-up I'd made before this happened. I've become very paranoid and keep my back-up up-to-date at all times. Recovering this way is still pretty tedious, and I only have about 18 apps on my SD card. I'd think there'd be a better way to rebuild the /mnt/asec directory. I've created a tar of /mnt/asec and, if I have this problem again, I'm going to try just restoring the tar and rebooting to see if I can avoid the one-by-one reinstall.

Oh man I didn't want to hear that! Any idea what caused this? I saw it once before and things went back to normal after another reboot. This time, it didn't

Also, any idea why I am unable to umount the SD, no "missing SD" on notification bar when it is not inserted, and stuck on "Computing..." under Manage Applications when SD IS inserted?

Ugh!!

Edit: I'm Linux igorant. Is going to /mnt/asec simply as "cd /mnt/asec"? Also, what should I expect to see with a "df" and under /mnt/asec?
30th October 2010, 07:33 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
More
This is what I see with "df"

/dev: 197552K total, 0K used, 197552K available (block size 4096)
/mnt/asec: 197552K total, 0K used, 197552K available (block size 4096)
/system: 148480K total, 125516K used, 22964K available (block size 4096)
/data: 200960K total, 178824K used, 22136K available (block size 4096)
/cache: 97280K total, 1768K used, 95512K available (block size 4096)
/mnt/sdcard: 7763968K total, 5470400K used, 2293568K available (block size 32768)
/mnt/secure/asec: 7763968K total, 5470400K used, 2293568K available (block size 32768)

I then entered "cd mnt/asec", and "ls -a", but nothing at all was returned.

I cd'ed to /mnt/secure/asec and ls showed these (abbreviated):

android.tether-1.asec
bz.ktk.bubble-1.asec
<snip>
ymst.android.fxcamera-2.asec
ymst.android.homeswitcher-1.asec

They look like reference to the apps.

I have no idea what I'm looking at...
30th October 2010, 11:59 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
More
Trying to reinstall the apps, even on the phone rather than SD, does not work either. Is the only way to fix this to do a wipe/hard reset?

I'm really curious about what happened.
31st October 2010, 10:20 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I get the same thing every time I reboot.
All I do is "Force Stop" LauncherPro then wait for it to start back up again and all my apps reload.
It may take more than one force stop, but 1 usually does the trick.
31st October 2010, 03:42 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge94

I get the same thing every time I reboot.
All I do is "Force Stop" LauncherPro then wait for it to start back up again and all my apps reload.
It may take more than one force stop, but 1 usually does the trick.

I wish it were that easy. I've seen the problem you describe, where certain App2SD apps or gadgets don't show up on LauncherPro properly. A restart of LauncherPro fixes it. Under that condition, they still show up properly in the Market and Manage Applications. You can still launch the app by other means.

In this case, I believe the apps are actually gone...
31st October 2010, 06:14 PM |#11  
highvista's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Eugene, OR
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by snovvman

This is what I see with "df"

/dev: 197552K total, 0K used, 197552K available (block size 4096)
/mnt/asec: 197552K total, 0K used, 197552K available (block size 4096)
/system: 148480K total, 125516K used, 22964K available (block size 4096)
/data: 200960K total, 178824K used, 22136K available (block size 4096)
/cache: 97280K total, 1768K used, 95512K available (block size 4096)
/mnt/sdcard: 7763968K total, 5470400K used, 2293568K available (block size 32768)
/mnt/secure/asec: 7763968K total, 5470400K used, 2293568K available (block size 32768)

I then entered "cd mnt/asec", and "ls -a", but nothing at all was returned.

I cd'ed to /mnt/secure/asec and ls showed these (abbreviated):

android.tether-1.asec
bz.ktk.bubble-1.asec
<snip>
ymst.android.fxcamera-2.asec
ymst.android.homeswitcher-1.asec

They look like reference to the apps.

I have no idea what I'm looking at...

What you're seeing in the /mnt/secure/asec directory sounds normal. This directory wasn't altered by the problem when I had it occur, as far as I could tell.

Your description of the /mnt/asec directory is different than what I saw. It seems yours is empty. Mine had a directory for each app on the SD card, though the directories were empty, rather than having the pkg.apk files in them that they do when things are working normally.

I've always been able to re-install my apps, so your occurrence of the problem may be a bit different than mine. Are you able to install a new app and move it to the SD card via the standard FroYo method, for an app that allows this?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes