FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

 View Poll Results: What is the result of the fix, using either the app or the manual method?

Problem is gone completely. Not placebo.
 
6 Vote(s)
10.91%
Touch screen seems better than before.
 
15 Vote(s)
27.27%
It did nothing to help.
 
12 Vote(s)
21.82%
Made things worse.
 
1 Vote(s)
1.82%
Never had a touch screen issue.
 
21 Vote(s)
38.18%

Potential Xperia Z1 touch screen fix (please test)

137 posts
Thanks Meter: 82
 
By D395267, Senior Member on 23rd March 2014, 04:02 PM
Thread Closed Email Thread
PLEASE DON'T TRY THIS FIX! If you are experiencing any touch screen irregularities, then it IS HARDWARE related. Use the warranty of the phone and either request a new device, or get a different device. Ignore the remainder of this post and the thread.

Sorry if this is very long and boring, but saying it all now saves everyone from saying it later

There is a massive problem that the Z1 suffers from, an erratic touch screen.
Some people have the problem, whilst others don't. I am one of the unlucky owners of a Z1 which has this problem
People report that the screen registers an input, then shortly losses the input and then regains it, making web browsing difficult as anything you scroll by could be clicked by accident.
I suffer from that and then some. If I use the phone for a prolonged period of time (usually 20 minutes), the screen will register my input at completely different places to where my finger actually is!
This makes normal use almost impossible since you have no control as to where it will register your input.
Oddly enough, locking the phone for a few seconds (just long enough so that the phone falls into deep sleep) then waking it again makes the problem disappear temporarily. It does start doing it again eventually. This happens regardless of phone temperature. This also proves that the issue isn't hardware related, as if it was then it should be doing this all the time, regardless of anything.

Trying to do a clean install fails to fix the issue (at least for me), and even the highly anticipated KitKat update failed to address the issue, despite them claiming that KitKat will fix it (it didn't work for me).

NOW comes the possible solution. Since I know that this could not be a hardware issue, there must be a way to fix it via the software.

I researched a lot and found something that could fix the issue.

I'm saying this now. I don't guarantee that this will fix the problem, but trying won't hurt anyone

I didn't do a nandroid backup (I'm on 4.4.2 = no system mount in recovery), but if you feel uncomfortable with this, then by all means make one

You will need the following:
Root
Terminal Emulator
Any file explorer with root access
External microSD Card
Any stock/stock based Sony ROM (try the fix on other custom ROMS if you want. No harm in trying, cough NANDROID IS YOUR FRIEND )

1: Open up the Terminal Emulator

2: Type in "su" with no inverted commas.

3: Type in the following command: touch /sdcard1/Calibration.ini
There must be a space between "touch" and "/".
If done right, you should get no response (no message at all, just back to "root@C69XX:/ #"

4: Enter and after that, shutdown the phone. Whilst it is booting, do not touch the screen. You can safely touch the screen after it is done booting (when you can see the UI). You can also reboot it instead of shutting it down, but I found that a proper shutdown works better (your mileage may very).

5: Goto a file explorer and delete the "Calibration.ini" file. This will prevent the phone from calibrating the screen after every reboot (not needed since it has just been calibrated).

6: All done

Now, test the phone properly and see if the problem is gone.
If you have the time and patience, I recommend setting the screen timeout to 30 minutes and using the phone without letting the screen turn off. If it doesn't do anything strange in that time, then you can safely assume that the problem is gone for good
Ever since I did this, the problem has ceased to be. It has gone and met its maker
Hopefully you will have the same results
Even if it didn't work, there was no harm in trying
Good luck!

Note: For the app that does the same thing as this method, see post #2
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to D395267 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift D395267 Ad-Free
 
 
23rd March 2014, 05:37 PM |#2  
Daelyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
Please link sources where you found all this info? I found threads about three years old using this method on G-Tablet and stuff from back in the day but wonder if it's still actually working.


There's also an APP that calibrates the screen without reboot with reference to above manual fix:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=934500
Beware, no idea what it does. If it works or if it ****s your phone up:
TouchRecalibrate.apk
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Daelyn For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Daelyn Ad-Free
23rd March 2014, 05:53 PM |#3  
D395267's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cape Town
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daelyn

Please link sources where you found all this info? I found threads about three years old using this method on G-Tablet and stuff from back in the day but wonder if it's still actually working.


There's also an APP that calibrates the screen without reboot with reference to above manual fix:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=934500
Beware, no idea what it does. If it works or if it ****s your phone up:
Attachment 2645905

Those which you posted are not exactly the ones I discovered.
That would be this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1960416

I knew about that app also, but I don't want to risk using it. I think that the manual method is better since it can work on any phone (or at least I think every phone)
That app may only be developed for a specific device and using it on other devices sounds like trouble to me.

Either way, the manual method worked for me. I severely doubted it would work but it did. I tested the phone for at least 1 hour straight without letting the display turn off. Game after game I ran, battery drained by at least 18% and there was not a sign that the screen was going to bugger out again
I even set the screen timeout to 30 minutes just to make sure it won't sleep.
Still no sign of the problem, 5 hours later

I haven't rebooted it yet. I don't know if it will come back once a reboot has happened...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to D395267 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift D395267 Ad-Free
23rd March 2014, 07:35 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Rhuddlan
Thanks Meter: 101
 
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up Seems to be working
I did your method and also changed the touch filter level from 2 to 5 as mentioned in another thread. I havent had the issue since, not sure if it was your method or his or a combination of the 2, but really glad its gone. Thanks a million.
23rd March 2014, 08:39 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 273
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daelyn

Please link sources where you found all this info? I found threads about three years old using this method on G-Tablet and stuff from back in the day but wonder if it's still actually working.


There's also an APP that calibrates the screen without reboot with reference to above manual fix:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=934500
Beware, no idea what it does. If it works or if it ****s your phone up:
Attachment 2645905

I tried the apk...for me it works fine for now... Will have to wait and see if it continues

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd March 2014, 10:41 PM |#6  
chitose_ndy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 180
 
More
Tried the method using terminal emulator and it seems the method has fix the problem,,
But i need to test again further..

Thankyou

Gesendet von meinem C6903 mit Tapatalk
24th March 2014, 12:44 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
I'm trying it with cm... I'll report in some days. But thank you allready
24th March 2014, 02:02 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Tried the method. Touch sensor on the edge of the screen still seems quite buggy from time to time. Everything else seems to show some improvement. Will try a bit longer and report back.

Sent from my C6902 using xda premium
24th March 2014, 02:13 AM |#9  
loveninecube's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chiba
Thanks Meter: 113
 
More
I'm tyring this fix on my Z1 flashed RomAur 6.1, and working fine.
Touch response is very sharp and fix touch problem.
Many Thanks!
24th March 2014, 06:41 AM |#10  
[Fenix]'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Italy
Thanks Meter: 762
 
Donate to Me
More
Is that normal?:what::what:


Inviato dal mio C6903 utilizzando Tapatalk
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1395639697372.jpg
Views:	3939
Size:	108.1 KB
ID:	2646948  
24th March 2014, 06:43 AM |#11  
AndroPlus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kyoto
Thanks Meter: 3,499
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Fenix]

Is that normal?:what::what:


Inviato dal mio C6903 utilizzando Tapatalk

Space is missing after "touch"...
The Following User Says Thank You to AndroPlus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift AndroPlus Ad-Free
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes