FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Mod] Change actual resolution of screen[Script]

1,370 posts
Thanks Meter: 316
 
By deadlocked007, Senior Member on 14th August 2013, 12:50 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Disclaimer: I am not responsible for anything that happens such as data loss, device explosion, etc.

Mods please move this if this isn't the right section but I saw the thread made by shadow caster http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2401489 (credits for finding the app and most of the instructions for not bootlooping)and the app actually worked. So I did some snooping around and found out the app simply does one command while the paid version adds another for changing the density.

Script Instruction:
Simply download the file which corresponds with your device and run it using scriptmanager with root enabled. To get rid of it use the reset file which is universal for all devices.

Remember to clear launcher data after every change and reset.

For android 4.3 replace am with wm

Now for the magic:
Simply type this into terminal or adb shell

su
am display-size yourresolution

So for example(Resolution of prime)
am display-size 1280x800

Also since the dpi will be whack you'll also want to resize that so here it is.

su
am display-density youedensity

So for example(Density of prime)
am display-density 160

Also as a side note go to settings and clear data for your launcher so it adjusts to the dpi and resolution.

So far everything is running fine for me and the implications of this are pretty awesome. Like resizing for lower res tvs. Playing games that don't run so well and don't have resolution options. The settings even stick after reboot so to get rid of them all you have to do is type.

su
am display-density reset
am display-size reset

I hope this is helpful to everyone!!

Bugs:
-Cromi-X seems to have data loss and bootlooping issues.

Before:


After:


Well now as you can see haha... :thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thum bup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:: D

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app
Attached Files
File Type: pdf (4.2)1280x800res160dpi.sh.pdf - [Click for QR Code] (64 Bytes, 1290 views)
File Type: pdf Reset.sh.pdf - [Click for QR Code] (111 Bytes, 653 views)
File Type: pdf (4.3)1280x800res160dpi.sh.pdf - [Click for QR Code] (48 Bytes, 738 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to deadlocked007 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift deadlocked007 Ad-Free
 
 
14th August 2013, 03:49 AM |#2  
Member
Flag Elk Grove
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Doesn't seem to work on CM 10.2 says unknown command. Would love to see this work for those games that don't work on high res device like Zenonia 5

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4
14th August 2013, 04:22 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Glendale Heights
Thanks Meter: 316
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by littleguy101

Doesn't seem to work on CM 10.2 says unknown command. Would love to see this work for those games that don't work on high res device like Zenonia 5

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4

Try wm instead of am that should work I forgot to say they changed it for 4.3 edit the op btw!

Edit: Working on scripts for scriptmanger so It'll actually deserve a place in the dev section.
14th August 2013, 04:43 AM |#4  
Member
Flag Elk Grove
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadlocked007

Try wm instead of am that should work I forgot to say they changed it for 4.3 edit the op btw!

Edit: Working on scripts for scriptmanger so It'll actually deserve a place in the dev section.

Looks like the command for 4.3 is "wm density 160" and "wm size 1280x800".

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4
The Following User Says Thank You to littleguy101 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift littleguy101 Ad-Free
14th August 2013, 04:50 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Glendale Heights
Thanks Meter: 316
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by littleguy101

Doesn't seem to work on CM 10.2 says unknown command. Would love to see this work for those games that don't work on high res device like Zenonia 5

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by littleguy101

Looks like the command for 4.3 is "wm density 160" and "wm size 1280x800".

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4

Already on it btw no more prerequisites! Seems to work normally now but take caution!

Edit: Scripts now working
14th August 2013, 07:59 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 981
 
More
Does this help with performance at all? I noticed when I had the Prime and updated to 4.2 that the transition became really smooth.

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk 4

---------- Post added at 10:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:45 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by littleguy101

Looks like the command for 4.3 is "wm density 160" and "wm size 1280x800".

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4

Thanks. Not having "display-" in the line accepted the command on 10.2. Otherwise I kept getting command error.

EDIT: I cant tell the difference after I rebooted. Is there a way to tell?

sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4
15th August 2013, 03:11 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Glendale Heights
Thanks Meter: 316
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznmode

Does this help with performance at all? I noticed when I had the Prime and updated to 4.2 that the transition became really smooth.

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk 4

---------- Post added at 10:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:45 AM ----------



Thanks. Not having "display-" in the line accepted the command on 10.2. Otherwise I kept getting command error.

EDIT: I cant tell the difference after I rebooted. Is there a way to tell?

sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 4

Well it should take effect immediately and since I couldn't take a photo showing the difference use this app it tells you the resolution
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...rs.ScreenSpecs
Text should be much less sharp and just in general not as focused due to a lower res and us being used to the 1080p
Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using xda app-developers app
15th August 2013, 10:50 AM |#8  
Pretoriano80's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,697
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi mate, i've tested the 4.3 script on CM 10.2 but it doesn't work, here's the log:

Code:
exec /system/bin/sh '/storage/emulated/legacy/Resolution Script/(4.3)1280x800res160dpi.sh' 
mulated/legacy/Resolution Script/(4.3)1280x800res160dpi.sh'                   <emulated/legacy/Resolution Scri
usage: wm [subcommand] [options]
       wm size [reset|WxH]
       wm density [reset|DENSITY]
       wm overscan [reset|LEFT,TOP,RIGHT,BOTTOM]

wm size: return or override display size.

wm density: override display density.

wm overscan: set overscan area for display.


Error: unknown command 'display-size'
usage: wm [subcommand] [options]
       wm size [reset|WxH]
       wm density [reset|DENSITY]
       wm overscan [reset|LEFT,TOP,RIGHT,BOTTOM]

wm size: return or override display size.

wm density: override display density.

wm overscan: set overscan area for display.


Error: unknown command 'display-density'
Honestly i would never use this device with a downgraded resolution ( last year i bought this product because of the FullHD screen), but i' m really curious to see how it performs.
15th August 2013, 12:25 PM |#9  
rickvrolings's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 225
 
More
This works awesome ! I noticed a big difference in mc4 so I decided to test it using benchmarks. I downloaded the game epic citadel which comes with a benchmark. The results are measured in frames per second.
With 1920x1200, the result was 37.1 fps
With 1280x800 I got a stunning 49.2 fps!

Running cm10.1 without any other modifications.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using xda app-developers app
15th August 2013, 05:04 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Glendale Heights
Thanks Meter: 316
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pretoriano80

Hi mate, i've tested the 4.3 script on CM 10.2 but it doesn't work, here's the log:

Code:
exec /system/bin/sh '/storage/emulated/legacy/Resolution Script/(4.3)1280x800res160dpi.sh' 
mulated/legacy/Resolution Script/(4.3)1280x800res160dpi.sh'                   <emulated/legacy/Resolution Scri
usage: wm [subcommand] [options]
       wm size [reset|WxH]
       wm density [reset|DENSITY]
       wm overscan [reset|LEFT,TOP,RIGHT,BOTTOM]

wm size: return or override display size.

wm density: override display density.

wm overscan: set overscan area for display.


Error: unknown command 'display-size'
usage: wm [subcommand] [options]
       wm size [reset|WxH]
       wm density [reset|DENSITY]
       wm overscan [reset|LEFT,TOP,RIGHT,BOTTOM]

wm size: return or override display size.

wm density: override display density.

wm overscan: set overscan area for display.


Error: unknown command 'display-density'
Honestly i would never use this device with a downgraded resolution ( last year i bought this product because of the FullHD screen), but i' m really curious to see how it performs.

Just woke up I'm on it its not that bad really the performance boost is worth it haha!





Quote:
Originally Posted by rickvrolings

This works awesome ! I noticed a big difference in mc4 so I decided to test it using benchmarks. I downloaded the game epic citadel which comes with a benchmark. The results are measured in frames per second.
With 1920x1200, the result was 37.1 fps
With 1280x800 I got a stunning 49.2 fps!

Running cm10.1 without any other modifications.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using xda app-developers app

Glad it does! I'm going to post benchmark before and after pictures now in the op! My mc4 just finished downloading since I could never use it on the tablet but now yay!

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app





Edit: OP updated with fixed script for 4.3 I really should just install cm 10.2 on something....
Attached Files
File Type: pdf (4.3)1280x800res160dpi.sh.pdf - [Click for QR Code] (64 Bytes, 219 views)
15th August 2013, 05:47 PM |#11  
Pretoriano80's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,697
 
Donate to Me
More
Updated 4.3 script still not working here on CM10.2 (same errors as the previous one).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes