FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Tool] WhatsApp Key/DB Extractor | CRYPT6-12 | NON-ROOT | UPDATED OCTOBER 2016

171 posts
Thanks Meter: 126
 
By TripCode, Senior Member on 3rd June 2014, 03:47 AM
View First Unread Post Reply Email Thread
** Version 4.7 Updated October 2016 - Supports Android 4.0-7.0 **

SUMMARY:
Allows WhatsApp users to extract their cipher key and databases on non-rooted Android devices.
UPDATE: This tool was last updated on October 12th 2016. and confirmed working on Android 4.0-7.0 using WhatsApp version v2.16.304 (latest available).
IMPORTANT: If you wish to extract media files or WhatsApp databases from Google Drive backups then you need: WhatsApp Google Drive Extractor instead.

TUTORIAL:


BRANCH UPDATES:
v4.0 - Fixed issues with Android API 14-17 (4.0-4.2 Jelly Bean).
v4.1 - Added support for Android API 23 (6.0-6.0.1 Marshmallow).
v4.2 - Added support for specifying adb backup passwords.
v4.3 - Added PowerShell version as optional alternative to bat version.
v4.4 - Changed primary mirror for legacy apk.
v4.5 - Fixed issue pushing cipher key to emulated storage.
v4.6 - Updated primary mirror for legacy apk (again).
v4.7 - Added new sanity checks and support for Android API 24 (7.0 Nougat).

PREREQUISITES:
  1. O/S: Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10, Mac OS X or Linux
  2. Java - If not installed: Download Java
  3. ADB (Android Debug Bridge) Drivers
  4. USB Debugging* must be enabled on the target device. Settings -> Developer Options -> (Debugging) USB debugging
  5. Android device with Android 4.0 or higher. I.E. Ice Cream Sandwich, Jelly Bean, KitKat, Lollipop, Marshmallow or Nougat.
*= If you cannot find Developer Options then please go to: Settings -> About phone/device and tap the Build number multiple times.

INSTRUCTIONS:
  1. Extract WhatsApp-Key-DB-Extractor-master.zip maintaining the directory structure.
  2. Click on WhatsAppKeyDBExtract.bat (Windows) or WhatsAppKeyDBExtract.sh (Mac OS X / Linux).
  3. Connect your device via USB, unlock your screen and wait for Full backup to appear.
  4. Enter your backup password or leave blank (if none set) and tap on Back up my data.
  5. Confirm backup password in your command console and then check the "extracted" folder.

TROUBLESHOOTING:
  1. If you have never used USB Debugging before, you may also need to verify the fingerprint.
  2. If you have set a default backup password in your Android settings, then this MUST be the
    backup password that you provide when prompted to backup your data. Else it WILL fail!
  3. Linux and Mac OS X users may need to set the script permissions as executable. Depending on the
    adb permissions, you may also need to sudo ./WhatsAppKeyDBExtract.sh from your command console.
  4. If you're having issues with WhatsAppKeyDBExtract.bat then right click WhatsAppKeyDBExtract.ps1
    and select Run with PowerShell. You may have to enter "y" at first run for script execution policy.
  5. If you get an error saying "AES encryption not allowed" then you need to update your Oracle Java
    Cryptography Extension (JCE) to Unlimited Strength Jurisdiction Policy Files.

DOWNLOAD: WhatsApp-Key-DB-Extractor-master.zip


AUTHOR: TripCode
THANKS: dragomerlin for Android Backup Extractor and Abinash Bishoyi for being cool.
The Following 31 Users Say Thank You to TripCode For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift TripCode Ad-Free
 
 
3rd June 2014, 09:26 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Thumbs up alternatives
Yes, this is a normal backup method. There are automatic tools that do the same without using PC, just on device side.

Apart from normal ADB method, you could use ECLIPSE for that, using the memory module, you could transfer files from and in.

If you have physical access to the device, there are many solutions.

regards.
3rd June 2014, 10:44 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 126
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by droopyar

Yes, this is a normal backup method. There are automatic tools that do the same without using PC, just on device side.

Apart from normal ADB method, you could use ECLIPSE for that, using the memory module, you could transfer files from and in.

If you have physical access to the device, there are many solutions.

regards.

The only way to access private application files (such as a WhatsApp's cipher key) without root is the ADB method. You can backup some files on the device without a PC (APK's etc...), but there is currently no way to access private files and folders. All the "My Big Fat Backup" style apps and tools will either require root or ADB. Eclipse also utilizes ADB. Basically, device side backups of application data require root. There are no other alternatives to this. If there was, then Android would be too infeasible and insecure as a viable operating system. Physical access translates into only two solutions. 1.) The ability to root and 2.) The ability to utilize ADB (Eclipse, Bats, Exe's doing nothing more than calling a simple command line). Of course if you are aware of a 3rd method (disregarding the user interface) and is not based on root or ADB then please feel free to share.
5th June 2014, 09:26 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for this tool!
I've just tried to use it, but it installs the java constantly (while java is properly installed on computer as other applications uses it without any problem )
By any chance, do you have any idea how to pass that?
Thanks!!
Mia
PS I got JDK installed and still not working
5th June 2014, 03:41 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 126
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiaNet

I've just tried to use it, but it installs the java constantly (while java is properly installed on computer as other applications uses it without any problem )
By any chance, do you have any idea how to pass that?

The bat file automatically checks for the presence of java.exe on your system. If it's not found then it starts the install. It would appear that for some reason it's not finding Java and hence why you're stuck in this loop. Please find attached a bat file without the Java check. Just put it in the same folder as the original and run this one instead. Let me know how you get on. Java also needs to be callable from the command line. To check this is working you should click on Run... within Windows, type cmd, click OK and type "java -version" (without quotes) and press Enter. This will confirm java is in the command path and print out your JRE build number. I have also updated the release in the OP and removed the Java check, as I have had a couple of similar reports of the loop issue.

Thanks again.
Attached Files
File Type: zip WhatsAppKeyExtractNoJavaCheck.zip - [Click for QR Code] (832 Bytes, 12967 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to TripCode For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift TripCode Ad-Free
5th June 2014, 08:14 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
still showing this message attached
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripCode

The bat file automatically checks for the presence of java.exe on your system. If it's not found then it starts the install. It would appear that for some reason it's not finding Java and hence why you're stuck in this loop. Please find attached a bat file without the Java check. Just put it in the same folder as the original and run this one instead. Let me know how you get on. Java also needs to be callable from the command line. To check this is working you should click on Run... within Windows, type cmd, click OK and type "java -version" (without quotes) and press Enter. This will confirm java is in the command path and print out your JRE build number. I have also updated the release in the OP and removed the Java check, as I have had a couple of similar reports of the loop issue.

Thanks again.

Still showing the attached message
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Failed.png
Views:	14670
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	2782486  
5th June 2014, 09:44 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 126
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mesho_alaa

Still showing the attached message

This sounds to me like you need to update your PATH Environment variable with the directory in which java is installed.

Open up a DOS window and type: "where java" (without quotes) to determine possible locations.

If it's located in: "C:\Windows\System32" then the following code should suffice:

Code:
set PATH=%PATH%;C:\Windows\System32
If it's located in: "C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin" then:

Code:
set PATH=%PATH%;C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin
The above needs to be added to the bat script BEFORE Java is called. You can edit the bat script by opening it with Notepad.

Alternatively, you could permanently update the PATH Environment (probably a better method).

To do this you would: Right click on "Computer" or "My Computer", within Windows Explorer, choose "Properties", click on the "Advanced system settings" and/or the "Advanced" tab, then click on the "Environment Variables" button. Select the "PATH" line, click the "Edit" button, and add the relevant directory to the end of any text that exists for PATH, prefixing the java path with a ";" (semicolon) if this line already contains other string paths. If PATH does not exist then you will need to add it. Sorry this paragraph is a little double-dutch (trying to cater for multiple versions of Windows).
The Following User Says Thank You to TripCode For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift TripCode Ad-Free
6th June 2014, 09:47 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Many thanks! I'll test when home and let you know.
Just to let know, the path command do not fix the prior version with Java check as I first thought this might be the problem.
Thanks!
Mia
7th June 2014, 07:26 AM |#9  
McGiver93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Villarotta
Thanks Meter: 60
 
Donate to Me
More
Could even be use with ADB from phone to phone? without using the pc? Or I must install the app on the phone and do it offline?
7th June 2014, 07:54 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have find my way! Re-installed Java, manually clicked on java.exe stored in Java folder in Program files (or Program files (x86) ) I've clicked on Javacpl as well and enabled all options, not sure if this is necessary though.
I've then rerun the program without Java check (the Java check one is bugging now) and was able to do the back up.
Thanks!!
Best regards,
Melanie
7th June 2014, 11:58 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Cannot tap button
Hi! i've done all the previous steps, but when i unlock the phone, to confirm the backup, i cant tap on "back up my data", it doesnt even grey at hover, just like the button wasn't there...
I can choose not to backup, that button works perfectly, and write the password too, i've tried all the screen, but nothing happends, so i can't backup the phone...

Does anyone think how to solve that? Thanks!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
crypt, crypt5, crypt8, smsbackup, whatsapp

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread