FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor View 10

[GUIDE] How to configure VoIP/SIP client in WM6.

93 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By eluth, Member on 28th March 2007, 04:31 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Here is an example of VoIP provisioning for WM6.
Claims that it does not work have been greatly exaggerated.
Actually, it works quite well for me (test done a Wizard based on a modified Orwell ROM).


Check if the VoIP is support is present in your ROM, as some cooks have removed them from the ROM.
so look for the Internet Calling today item as well as for the following files from the packages VoIP and VoIPOS in the \Windows directory:
  • ipdialplan.xml
  • dnsapi.dll
  • voipphonecanvas.dll
  • rtcdll.dll

If you don't have Internet Calling support in your ROM, complain to your favorite cook, not me.
Internet Calling is an integral part of WM6 and should not be removed.
For the HTC Wizard, the Orwell1984, the PDAViet ROMs, MB ROM and mUn_aRTM_10_2_0_8_WWE have the necessary modules.
For other devices, try it for yourself, as I don't know the specifics of the ROMs..


Ok. Let' go to the setup on how to do it.
Simple: 1-2-3 steps.
  1. you will have to create a _setup.xml file with your provisioning information, any text editor will do, use the attached sample as a baseline.
  2. run the following command: cabarc N myVoIPsettings.cab _setup.xml
  3. get your newly created .cab file on the WM6 PPC and run it.

Note: if you don't have cabarc, you can get it from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/198038

Voilà! You might have to turn on your Wifi (it does not work over GPRS/EDGE)
and select "Whenever Available" as an option in Phone/Menu/Options/Internet or Settings/Phone/Internet.
Soon, you will be connected to your preferred VoIP provider...



As sample of the _setup.xml file is attached as _setup.xml.txt.
You can also see its content in the following section.
Code:
<wap-provisioningdoc>
<characteristic type="VoIP">
<parm name="SIPSettings" 
   value="&lt;provision key='1232ab01' name='_sip_provider_name_'&gt;
             &lt;provider name='_sip_provider_name_' /&gt; 
             &lt;user account='_account_' password='_password_'
                 uri='sip:_user@sip_host.com_'
                 allowedauth='digest'/&gt; 
             &lt;sipsrv addr='_sip_proxy.com_' protocol='UDP' role='proxy'&gt;
                &lt;session party='First' type='pc2pc' /&gt; 
                &lt;session party='First' type='pc2ph' /&gt; 
             &lt;/sipsrv&gt; 
             &lt;sipsrv addr='_sip_registrar.com_' protocol='UDP' role='registrar'/&gt; 
          &lt;/provision&gt;" />
</characteristic>
</wap-provisioningdoc>
So get the attached _setup.xml.txt and do the following modifications:
  • rename _setup.xml.txt to _setup.txt (not obvious to every one according to the comments in this thread),
  • replace _sip_provider_name_ by your provider name,
  • _account_ and _password_ by your user name and password,
  • sip:_user@sip_host.com_ should be your SIP address,
  • _sip_proxy.com_ and _sip_registrar.com_ are your SIP proxy and registrar,
    sometimes it's the same thing as your sip_host.com.
    Sometimes not. It depends on your provider.
  • save the file as _setup.xml and run the cabarc N voip.cab _setup.xml
  • transfer the cab on the PPC and run it!

How to check your installation?
-
If the provisioning worked you should find a Prov0SIPSettings under the directory \Windows\System\VoIP.
Creation date and time should match the instant when you ran your .cab file.
If you don't find one, that means that you have a syntax error in your _setup.xml file.
To demonstrate the process, you can use my attached file without any modification.
It will create Prov0SIPSettings file, but nothing will work with the dummy settings of my sample file, of course :).


To activate Internet Calling over 3G (thanks Sleuth255 & Golfman),
  • go to the HKLM\Comm\RTC\AdapterTypes with a registry editor (like Total Commander),
  • now delete both the "1" and the "2" values that are here,
  • next reset your device and Internet calling will connect over the data connection for your phoneservice.

If you need to re-apply different settings (if you changed your .xml file and .cab),
you will have to delete first the Prov0SIPSettings file under \Windows\System\VoIP
prior re-applying your new .CAB file. Otherwise, your new settings will be ignored.


Let me know how you do on this.
Enjoy!

--eluth, the comparison Guy.
Attached Files
File Type: txt _setup.xml.txt - [Click for QR Code] (774 Bytes, 17420 views)
 
 
28th March 2007, 05:42 AM |#2  
OP Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
One additional information, if you start dialing.

You probably will have to customize the ipdialplan.xml based on your region & VoIP provider requirements, in order to have the proper phone numbers dials.

The default one assumes a US SIP proxy in 425...

Cheers.
--eluth.
28th March 2007, 07:32 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
incase those files you have listed doesnot exist, what is the way of getting them. Can you arrange a cab or something?
28th March 2007, 09:11 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I'm missing the files too and which program do i need to run the "cabarc" command?
28th March 2007, 09:32 AM |#5  
OP Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I amended the post to point to where to download cabarc.
The link is http://support.microsoft.com/kb/198038
You can also just google for cabarc and you will find it.

As far as the ROM itself is concerned, if you don't have "Internet Calling" on your today screen and cannot enable it, I'm sorry. Please complain to your cook or use another ROM that has it. See my amended initial post for details.

Regards,
--eluth.
28th March 2007, 09:59 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Wow I have been waiting for ages for this! We use an Asterisk SIP at work and would love to do away with my other softphones... A few (maybe) silly questions:

1) edited replied above

2) ipdialplan, can you include an example?

3)When you say "if you start dialing" do you mean just dialing with the standard Phone application?
28th March 2007, 10:39 AM |#7  
ADB100's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Smile Nearly there.......
I followed eluth's instructions and I'm nearly there..... I need a SIP server now

I installed the cab I created with some dummy settings and I can see the Wizard attempt to register with the SIP server address I have added to the _setup.xml file. The 'Internet Calling' today plugin now says 'Searching...' whilst it attempts to register with the SIP server, after it times out it now says 'No Service'.

Excellent. I will take a look at what files and registry settings are created so I can include this in my own ROM

Andy
28th March 2007, 11:48 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I've installed the WM6 SIP Cab from the FTP (ftp://xda:xda@ftp.xda-developers.com...es/WM6VoIP.CAB)
but the files in the windows dir are still missing.
28th March 2007, 12:08 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Smile
Eluth you rock!

Have it working on mu Universal with Helmi rom + VOIP cab file. If I am on WiFi with Voip set to whenever available, my phone provider is no longer Orange but my SIP server! I think there might be some pissed off telcos soon!

It seems the calls are "forced" through speakerphone but works fine with a bt headset.

Connected and making calls through our Asterisk SIP (although only through my shortcut numbers, I expect I need to work on the dialplan file).

Anyone out there capable of making a document on how the dialplan file should be generated?

Once again eluth, well done! This is the main reason I moved to WM6 and now I have what I wanted!
28th March 2007, 12:40 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raix

I've installed the WM6 SIP Cab from the FTP (ftp://xda:xda@ftp.xda-developers.com...es/WM6VoIP.CAB)
but the files in the windows dir are still missing.

you need show all files on
28th March 2007, 12:45 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
So i have to install another CAB?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes