FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

HButton - maps more apps on HW buttons

197 posts
Thanks Meter: 45
 
By Hundera, Senior Member on 12th May 2007, 07:49 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
NEW VERSION 2.3

*** this application is no longer developed. Last version (2.3) is attached to this post ***

I didn’t find freeware application for assign more applications to one HW button using hold-button, so I decided to write my own. Here is result.

Application HButton can be used to assign more applications to one HW button. If you press the button, the first application is run. If you hold button till device vibrate, second app is run. If you hold button till second vibrate, third app…. And so on, and so forth.


Usage:
* Install attached cab.
* Run HBSetup (Programs - HButton - HBSetup), setup up to 5 applications to Button1
* Start Setting – personal – Buttons and assign HButton1 to any HW button.

Now you can run all selected applications using this one HW button.


Any topics welcome.

Hundera

[18.5.2007] UPDATE
I uploaded new version 1.2.
Contains new options for starting applications
* vibrate
* beep
* display name on screen

[22.5.2007]
Version 1.3
* "unlimited" num of apps on one button
* <None> application
* option to cycle thru applications
* option to notify first application

[25.5.2007]
Version 1.5 - please uninstall previous version (not necessary on WM5, WM6)
* Fix: Bugs in installation and setup on devices with localized ROMs
* Fix: Unable to remove first app in list
* Fix: Not working for some buttons on Universal
* Could be installed on Storage Card (Only HBSetup.exe)
* <Clock> application
* Positioning of info box.

[2.6.2007]
Version 1.6
* <Today> application
* HButtonTask - task switcher like alt+tab. (first app is always today)

[6.6.2007]
Version 1.7 - fixed bugs with PHM keys
* Possibility to start application with params
* HBSetup search for links in linked directories
* HBSetup doesn't assign .lnk file, but parse it and assign exe with params

Vesion 1.8 - added some "applications"
* <Ok/Close> (minimize app)
* <Quit> (terminates app)
* <Start Menu>

[7.6.2007]
Vesion 1.8.1 - Fixed bug with param parsing

[30.9.2007]
Version 1.9.1
* <Back> - switch to previously opened application
* HButtonTask - first item in list could be Today or previously opened application
* Fixed: Device reboots when <QUIT> is used on "Programs"

[23.10.2007]
Version 2.0
* <Rotate Left>
* <Rotate Right>
* assignment to HW buttons could be done directly in HBSetup
* Label configuration - size, font size, colors
* Fixed: install dir in localized ROMs

[29.10.2007] Version 2.1
* <Toggle BT>
* <Toggle SIP>
* Fixed: refreshing top window after Rotate

[10.1.2008] Version 2.2
* <Toggle Sound (only WM5,WM6)>
* <Toggle WiFi>
* Fixed: list of applications on PPC2003
* Fixed: directory browsing in HBSetup

[15.5.2008] Version 2.3
* Import / Export of settings
* 2 more buttons (HButton6 & HButton7)
* Browse... select any file to be started by HButton
Attached Files
File Type: cab HButton_2.3_PPC2003.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (72.8 KB, 176 views)
File Type: cab HButton_2.3_WM5.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (72.8 KB, 574 views)
 
 
12th May 2007, 08:00 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
.NET2.0 necessary
One more remark.

.NET 2.0 is necessary to use HBSetup. If you want to use HButtons without .NET, you can install it from cab and setup it manually using registry editor.
For Notify and flags use sum of numbers for options you want. for example notify=5 means vibrate and display name

Code:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HButton]
Delay   : DWORD   delay in ms between applications start. (Optional, Deafult 500)
Notify  : DWORD   type of notification. 1 - vibrate, 2 - Beep, 4 - display name. (Optional, default 1)


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HButton\Button1]
flags      : DWORD   flags for this button. 1 for cycle thru apps, 2 for notify even first app, 4 custom delay. (Optional, default 0)
Delay   : DWORD   delay in ms between for this button. Only when custom delay is set. (Optional)
NItems   : DWORD   number of applications assigned to HButton1

Item0    : STRING   first application
Item0_name    : STRING   displayed name of first application. (Optional)
Item0_param   : STRING   Parameters of first application. (Optional)

Item1    : STRING   second application
Item1_name    : STRING   displayed name of second application. (Optional)
Item1_param   : STRING   Parameters of second application. (Optional)
…

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HButton\Button2]
   .. same for others buttons

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HButton\ButtonT]
flags    : DWORD   flags for task. same as other flags + 8 for show next application + 16 for first item is last opened application. (Optional, default 8)
Delay   : DWORD   same as for buttons
Special applications:
#t - <Today> (i.e. Item0="#t" )
#o - <Ok/Close>
#q - <Quit>
#w - <Start Menu>
#c - <Clock> (*_name must be set to "<Clock>")
#b - <Back>
22nd May 2007, 10:00 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Cycling
Hello there.
Its a nice tool. Thanks for that.

What about to cycle through defined applications till the button is released? If I do miss the application which I want to launch - it launches the last defined application. I do think there should be the way how to "cancel" the launching at all or something like this.

Sincerely David
22nd May 2007, 10:16 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmisek

What about to cycle through defined applications till the button is released? If I do miss the application which I want to launch - it launches the last defined application. I do think there should be the way how to "cancel" the launching at all or something like this.

Thanks for remark.
My idea was to start last application immediately, when there is no application left – if you have two applications assigned to one button, second will run exactly after 500ms(or delay you have set).
In your situation, there is necessary to release button in proper time.

But I think, that it could be added as possibility – so user can choose, if
- it will works like now
- it will cycle thru defined applications
- last application will be "CANCEL". (or combination with previous one)
22nd May 2007, 05:19 PM |#5  
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
It unfortunately fails to install on my smartphone (VOX).
Can you build a version for smartphone?

Thanks!
22nd May 2007, 06:12 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Smartphone
I can't promise anything, because I have no experiences with Smartphones.
But I will try to compile it.
22nd May 2007, 06:31 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have found the problem of missing the app I want to be a nag as well. As dmisek said, if you have 5 apps assigned to a button and you miss the app you want, you have to take one of the following.

As a quick work around, I created a link to the today screen and added it to the last app of each button. So, the worst case there is that if I miss my intended app, I will at least go back to the today screen.

As a suggestion for a fix, I would probably say to have the apps loop over and over in the list. I would also suggest adding a "Cancel" like you said in the list.
22nd May 2007, 10:51 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jockyw2001

It unfortunately fails to install on my smartphone (VOX).
Can you build a version for smartphone?

Thanks!

As I said before, I have no smartphone. There is some version, but not tested. Use it at your's own risk.

Vibration is not vorking - I used functions that doesn't exists on smartphones. If everythink else will work, I will try to find substitute for this functions.

hopes that help
Hundera
Attached Files
File Type: cab HButtonSPh.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (39.0 KB, 347 views)
23rd May 2007, 09:53 AM |#9  
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Hundera: Thanks for your time. Unfortunately it still doesn't install ("The installation file is not intended for this device").

The WM6 standard edition on my VOX smartphone doesn't have a button changer in the settings menu.
Does anyone know which executable is responsible for this on a PPC?
Alternatively can anyone provide me the registry keys?

Thx!
23rd May 2007, 12:37 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Maybe smartphone has no button to map.

On PocketPC it is store in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Shell\Keys\.

There are keys 40Cx for buttons...

If you havn't these keys, app will not work...
23rd May 2007, 12:52 PM |#11  
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
I've got one regkey 40C1 (voice record button) and that's exactly the button I'd like to use with HButton.

Can you write down the steps to install your app manually?
(files and reg keys)

Oh btw, is it the ResetCmd value in 40C1 key I need to change?
Currently it's set to "\Windows\AppButtons\Record.lnk -b"
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes