FORUMS

How to Turn OFF 3G & only have Edge?

416 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By mikeycollins13, Senior Member on 13th July 2007, 04:42 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Whenever I travel abroad and turn off my connection, my battery lasts for 48 hours without any problems vs 8 in the UK.

I use push e-mail, so I really do not need the 3G speed, they just drop in fine.

I googled all over the web I've not been able to find a auto turn off program yet?

I am on ROM Black Magic

Thx
13th July 2007, 05:05 AM |#2  
900SS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CA
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
I use Bandswitch on both my 8525s..

do a search and you will find the file.


Gary
13th July 2007, 05:40 AM |#3  
pronor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hechingen
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Hi,

"Schaps 12 buttons with 3G band switch button" Works fine for most ppls.
Before you can install it you should study his thread a little bit, you may need too kill a certain registry string berfore.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=310650

pronor
13th July 2007, 07:12 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Cool this wil do the trick
Even better, you can do this without third party tools.
Just go to your phone options.
Select the tab "band" and switch the network type from "auto" to "gsm".

Did this help you?

-P-
13th July 2007, 07:19 AM |#5  
shogunmark's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter: 202
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimvis

Even better, you can do this without third party tools.
Just go to your phone options.
Select the tab "band" and switch the network type from "auto" to "gsm".

Did this help you?

-P-

make sure you kill your data connection before hitting ok to make the change..
13th July 2007, 09:16 PM |#6  
moisha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
That's exactly what I do. Start-Settings-Phone-Band-GSM.
14th July 2007, 03:01 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
what do you gain with just edge vs 3g?
14th July 2007, 06:53 AM |#8  
pronor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hechingen
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PostDeals

what do you gain with just edge vs 3g?

My reason ist to save battery consumption
14th July 2007, 12:54 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
edge vs 3G
The main reasone i upgraded from the 8125 to the 8525 is so that while my phone was getting push updates from my exchange server callers would goto my voicemail without any warning. This is a problem with Edge voice or data not both...
14th July 2007, 09:53 PM |#10  
mikeycollins13's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
OK, Scnapps does work w/ BlackMagic Roms
So I'll use the manual switch, it sounds fine
Thanks for the help, this 3G has been a total waste of time for me.

the only issue, I think all my GSM types have 3G:
GSM (900+1800) +UMTS2100
OR
GSM (1900+850)+ UMTS (1900+850)
OR
gsm (900+1800) +UMTS850
OR
GSM gsm (900+1800) +UMTS850+2100

Nothing without UMTS?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes