FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
H10 Turbo

GPS testing tools - GPS Viewer

102 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By aublumberg, Senior Member on 17th September 2007, 10:02 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Am having difficulties getting the GPS to work with Goole Maps and the product packaging here in Asia doesn't have TomTom.

I'm looking for a GPS testing tool to test whether I can get an initial lock onto a GPS (which I understand can take several minutes first time arond) and eventually then use Google Maps.

Google tells me there's a (freeware?) tool "GPS Viewer" by Holux / Maction but I can't seem to find a .cab file. Anybody can share a link to this or a similar tool, much appreciated.
 
 
17th September 2007, 01:30 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Here is a tool for you. Setup COM4, 115200, NMEA
Attached Files
File Type: zip cemonitor.zip - [Click for QR Code] (25.9 KB, 1750 views)
17th September 2007, 01:36 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks for that ... I'm not able to set COM4, the drop down list for Port: has only "Serial_BTU COM7:"
17th September 2007, 03:10 PM |#4  
shogunmark's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter: 202
 
Donate to Me
More
does anyone know of a simple today plug-in that would display different gps info? like maybe lat/long, speed, direction, etc?
17th September 2007, 05:47 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Isn't that going to kill battery... having GPS on all the time?
17th September 2007, 06:07 PM |#6  
shogunmark's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter: 202
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukenine

Isn't that going to kill battery... having GPS on all the time?

Of course it would... doesnt mean you have to have it active all the time though, i was just thinking of some instances where it would be cool to have that info but not loose all the other info on your today screen..
17th September 2007, 06:46 PM |#7  
MikeChannon's Avatar
Forum Admin
Thanks Meter: 10,223
 
10
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shogunmark

Of course it would... doesnt mean you have to have it active all the time though, i was just thinking of some instances where it would be cool to have that info but not loose all the other info on your today screen..

Hi Shogun
Seen some small apps that give basic data (no maps needed etc) but so far none that run as a plugin.

Mike
18th September 2007, 02:46 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
The tool requested by the OP.
Attached Files
File Type: cab GpsViewer.PPC300_2577.cab - [Click for QR Code] (109.4 KB, 4132 views)
18th September 2007, 04:10 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simons19

The tool requested by the OP.

Thanks much ...
18th September 2007, 04:27 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Knoxville, TN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
There is an app on use on WM5 called Navio that shows GPS data on a Today screen plugin. Do not know if will work on WM6. I hope to find out if AT&T would release the Tilt.
18th September 2007, 05:12 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
For using googlemaps, you must installing and using once tomtom. After, googlemaps is working fine.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes