FORUMS

Storage Manager

881 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,472
 
By Cotulla, Retired Senior Recognized Developer on 11th October 2007, 05:41 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Storage Manager
Based on original Windows CE Storage Manager.
Install CAB file and go to Settings->System->Storage Manager

This program allow you to manage your stores and partitions.
You can format and dismount store.
You can create new/delete/mount/dismount partitions in store.

If your partition have FAT file system, you can also format, run scandisk and defragmentator.
On format tool you can select cluster size.
Scandisk can find errors in your SD, CF card.
I didn't test it, because all my attempts to create a lost clusters on SD 32mb failed
If someone know how/can test it, please do it.
Defragementator is very slow, but it works, at least on my 32 mb SD card.
I try to defragment 1 Gb SD and wait during a hour, but it didn't finish it.

I don't recommend to do experiments with your system stores and partitions.

You can create several partitions on your SD, CF card and it works!
I create a four partitions on my SD 32mb card and it works!
I have SD Card, SD Card2, SD Card3 and SD Card4 now.

You should careful use this tool.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	STGMGR3.jpg
Views:	1425
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	53861   Click image for larger version

Name:	STGMGR2.jpg
Views:	794
Size:	15.0 KB
ID:	53862   Click image for larger version

Name:	STGMGR.jpg
Views:	1215
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	53863  
Attached Files
File Type: cab StorageManager.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (65.5 KB, 2450 views)
11th October 2007, 05:47 PM |#2  
wacky.banana's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus
Thanks Meter: 624
 
More
Hi,

Seems a very useful tool. Thanks for developing it. I'm installing now.

WB
11th October 2007, 06:02 PM |#3  
krishan2207's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
thanx seems to be very useful
11th October 2007, 06:30 PM |#4  
iggy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Would be interested to know if we could take a 4gb card which does not work on PPC 6700 and make 2 2gb partitions, would this work anyone???
nothin
11th October 2007, 06:36 PM |#5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
interesting, gonna check this out.
11th October 2007, 08:51 PM |#6  
Cotulla's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,472
 
More
Quote:

Would be interested to know if we could take a 4gb card which does not work on PPC 6700 and make 2 2gb partitions, would this work anyone???

I don't know, because I haven't 4 GB card.
Somebody should try it.
12th October 2007, 12:55 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
YO DUDE!!!!

This app ROCKS!!!!

Been having so much trouble with my 4gb SD (infact two 4gb SD cards, both would go corrupt if I loaded more than 2gb on them), but I tried your app, and now I have two 2gb partitions (well 1.95gb actually, but it'll do me nicely!!).

Finally, I can now watch the rest of heroes at work!!!

LOL

Thanks again

RR
12th October 2007, 01:22 AM |#8  
illi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lat N03.05.589 Lon E101.37.388
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
HTC Tornado
is it safe to instal and run on HTC Tornado?
12th October 2007, 03:08 PM |#9  
Cotulla's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,472
 
More
Quote:

is it safe to instal and run on HTC Tornado?

it safe.
but you *should* understand your actions very well.
(Don't press "Format" buttton for example)

Quote:

Been having so much trouble with my 4gb SD (infact two 4gb SD cards, both would go corrupt if I loaded more than 2gb on them), but I tried your app, and now I have two 2gb partitions (well 1.95gb actually, but it'll do me nicely!!).

do you test it well?
try to fill both partitions by files and check it.
You should be sure that it works, otherwise you can have problems in future.
12th October 2007, 03:38 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Yeah, have been testing the integrity of the partitions and the first one is fine, but the second one is still being silly, and Im still getting corrupt files on the 2nd one.

Not really sure what to do now!!!

(

Might try and create 3 partions, one 2gb, and two 1gb ones. Lets see what happens then!!

RR
12th October 2007, 03:54 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Ok, just tried the 3 partition idea and.......it didn't work!!!

Was unable to create a third, so instead I have one 2gb and one 1.5 gb, as the cards total capacity is supposed to be 3.98 gb, but I thought I'd reduce it a little (Im sure I won't miss 400mb).

So just testing the second partition now, will report back with results.....

RR
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes