FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Win Honor 9 Lite

[APP][Updated 07/18/2008] BubbleLevel v1.02

393 posts
Thanks Meter: 97
 
By j0bro, Senior Member on 14th July 2008, 04:21 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
BubbleLevel v1.02

My first attempt at utilizing the Touch Diamond's accelerometer. And it's free!
The sensor is a Kionix KXSD9.

Donate a cup of coffee!
Thanks for donating on my birthday: Damien (€2,00)
and another thank you for Nuno (€1,00)

Features:
- Measure the slope of a surface using the 'bubble level' concept
- Display the slope angle in degrees
- Real time display and calibration of sensor data
- Can be used upside down too (go measure yer ceiling matey!)

Changelog:
v1.02
- Added verbose calibration screen
- Real time sensor data monitoring
- Implemented two-direction calibration method (for absolute sensor bias compensation as suggested by Kionix)
- Calibration data is stored to memory (used for BubbleLevel only!)

v1.01
- Added icon and placed shortcut in Programs (instead of Start Menu)
- Fixed bug of bubble flying away >42 lightyears when device is tilted at 90 degrees, causing a warp core breach (thanks akito)

v1.00
- Initial release
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BubbleLevel.jpg
Views:	18040
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	99253  
Attached Files
File Type: cab BubbleLevel.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (26.4 KB, 19749 views)
 
 
14th July 2008, 04:25 PM |#2  
TomInMB's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Myrtle Beach
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up
You developers never cease to amaze me. Great work! XDA-Dev is wonderful!
14th July 2008, 04:26 PM |#3  
Da9L's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Sounds nice ! So this software will let us be able to calibrate the Touch Diamonds Accelerometer?

I have downloaded the cab and installed it but how to use it?
akito
14th July 2008, 04:27 PM |#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm going to try this!! Thanks for posting it and letting us try :D
14th July 2008, 04:30 PM |#5  
j0bro's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Eindhoven
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da9L

Sounds nice ! So this software will let us be able to calibrate the Touch Diamonds Accelerometer?

I have downloaded the cab and installed it but how to use it?

The shortcut's in your Start Menu. Click the Windows flag to get to it; I will find a nice icon and add a decent Programs shortcut later on
14th July 2008, 04:41 PM |#6  
Da9L's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0bro

The shortcut's in your Start Menu. Click the Windows flag to get to it; I will find a nice icon and add a decent Programs shortcut later on

Okay got it working now.. But when i calibrate and exit the program it resets the settings back to before it was calibrated.. So it doesnt save the calibration..
14th July 2008, 04:51 PM |#7  
Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Brilliant!

Now if the Diamond had a flat back cover, I could actually use this for a bit of DIY
akito
14th July 2008, 05:34 PM |#8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Bug found ;)
Whether calibrated or not, when I hold my phone completely vertical making it show about 87 degrees of more the program crashes... actually my whole phone crashes cause I can't exit the program anymore and need to push the reset button :-p
14th July 2008, 05:40 PM |#9  
horstborsch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
can anyone post some screens? my diamond is up and away for repair

edit: sorry my browser took some while to load the pic on the first post so I didn´t see it.
14th July 2008, 05:52 PM |#10  
Blob8me's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spalding
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0bro

BubbleLevel v1.0

My first attempt at utilizing the Touch Diamond's accelerometer. And it's free!

That is soo cool. Thanks Bro - great work.

.
14th July 2008, 06:04 PM |#11  
j0bro's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Eindhoven
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by akito

Bug found ;)
Whether calibrated or not, when I hold my phone completely vertical making it show about 87 degrees of more the program crashes... actually my whole phone crashes cause I can't exit the program anymore and need to push the reset button :-p

Thanks akito, I could indeed reproduce that behaviour quite easily... I guess I need some exception handling when doing vector dot product calculations
Will fix this asap.

Edit: Fixed in v1.01, check start post!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes