FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

GPS Dead Reckoning using G Sensor - Any takers?

109 posts
Thanks Meter: 15

By sama, Senior Member on 18th July 2008, 11:29 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
We've all seen it. We're stuck in traffic and the GPS signal starts going crazy! Or we're in a tunnel, or in an urban canyon.

It is possible to navigate using purely a g-sensor. The army does this.

The G Sensor information can be combined with the GPS signal, to clean the GPS signal, and make it more accurate.

Here's a thread about dead reckoning. Now we just need a brave soul to attempt it!

19th July 2008, 11:46 AM |#2  
OP Senior Member

More
I can help with this. I'm a Java programmer and can help getting the maths required to do it.
19th July 2008, 01:58 PM |#3  
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 2

More
I've noticed something strange with the Tomtom7 software.

I have never used TT7 before or any other TT product, have always used Route66 on my Nokia 6110.

When I was driving in an underground tunnel, there was no signal, but the car icon on TT kept on going? I think it's just taking last average speed and continuing on until it gets a signal lock again.

I thought it was cool.
19th July 2008, 05:06 PM |#4  
Flag Bavaria
Thanks Meter: 54

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDerrickC

When I was driving in an underground tunnel, there was no signal, but the car icon on TT kept on going? I think it's just taking last average speed and continuing on until it gets a signal lock again.

Yes, that's right. This behavior helps in tunnels, but it's quite annoying, when stopping the car underneath a huge bridge because of a red traffic light.