FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Cyberon Voice Commander vs. Cyberon Voice Speed Dial vs Microsoft Voice Command?

632 posts
Thanks Meter: 108
 
Thread Deleted Email Thread
Ok, I see three voice dialing applications we can use (please add any others that work!):

1.) Cyberon Voice Speed Dial
2.) Cyberon Voice Commander
3.) Microsoft Voice Command

I've searched the forums and came up with a wealth of conflicting and often outdated information. I'd like a concise thread here detailing the differences between them, how they work on the Titan, and any hacks needed to get them to work, in say the latest DCD ROM or WinMo 6.1.

Here are the things I think I know (In italics) and the things I've got questions on (in bold). Certainly feel free to add opinion on functionality, or additional comparison information, or please correct anything that I thought that was wrong, etc etc etc! Thanks! Then I'll update my original post here so we can have a nice comparison thread...

1.) Cyberon Voice Speed Dial
Is what the phone comes with stock
Allows speed dialing only - no system control
Requires voice tagging of each contact
Does not require any hacks to work
Does not do any Text to Speech.

2.) Cyberon Voice Commander
Allows system control
Does not require training / tagging.
Does it do Text to Speech? Can it do Caller ID Announcement, or SMS Announcement?
Does it require any hacks to work?
Can you activate voice recognition from bluetooth headset?

3.) Microsoft Voice Command
Allows system control
Does not require training / tagging.
Requires hack to get caller ID announcement to work
Does Text to Speech for Caller ID and SMS senders announcement
Can you activate voice recognition from bluetooth headset?
15th August 2008, 10:16 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Culver City
Thanks Meter: 103
 
More
All I can answer for is MSVC since it's what I use. First off, it does NOT require a hack to get caller ID announcement to work. All I had to do was check off a box in the settings and it announces the caller ID information in my ear whenever the phone rings.

Second, yes, the voice recognition works fine from the bluetooth headset. Just hit the headset's action button, wait for the MSVC beep, and speak your command. Everything can be handled that way, and it does it very well.
15th August 2008, 11:19 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I 2nd the MCVC... Only drawback for me is its amount of memory that it uses in the background. I use Garmin Mobile XT and it fails to start a lot of the time because of lack of memory. I either need to do a soft reset or reclaim RAM with SKTools... Not a huge deal, but kind of frustrating. Love the functionality of it, though. Works great!
16th August 2008, 04:46 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
MSVC gets my vote also - just wish the idiots at slorizon would release 6.1 so I can re-install it with working confirmations.

I'm planning on using MSVC once again when I upgrade to the new ROM.
25th August 2008, 08:34 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Angry MSVC with MIcrosoft MObile 6.1
I have just gotten started on the Sprint Mogul and have upgraded to MS Mobile 6.1 and installed MSVC V1.6. I can tell you that there are some major issues with this combination.

1. I get the ringtone in the bluetooth earpiece and the phone doesn't ring.
2. The earpiece button does nothing,
3. Voice Command only brings up the contact list but doesn't dial the number.

I have talked to a guru at my local sprint and he has experienced the same problems with another phone of the same type. I'm thinking of reverting to MSMO 6.0 to see if things are different.

If you have any other sources that address these issues, I will take all the help I can get.

Thanks.
26th August 2008, 12:04 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Morrisville, NY
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymatter

I 2nd the MCVC... Only drawback for me is its amount of memory that it uses in the background. I use Garmin Mobile XT and it fails to start a lot of the time because of lack of memory. I either need to do a soft reset or reclaim RAM with SKTools... Not a huge deal, but kind of frustrating. Love the functionality of it, though. Works great!

One tip on Voice Command, if you have a lot of media files, disable Media in the voice command settings. For me, Voice Command won't even start with it enabled. Saves quite a lot of memory to disable it.
15th November 2008, 11:28 PM |#7  
credemann's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Charlotte
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Voice command 1.6 and Verizon XV6800 issues
I have tried for 3 days to locate a "fix" for using VC 1.6 on my verizon xv6800.

I use a PLT 150 and when i press the button to make a call Voice Speed Dial works. I read about and tried some registry edits but some edits did not "take" i tried but they did not work. I just wnat to know how to use Voice Command 1.6 to call my contacts.

Here is what i tried:
Use MS Voice Command 1.6 instead of the built-in Cyberon Voice Dialer

For those of you who would rather use MS Voice Command instead of the built-in Cyberon Voice Dialer (and who wouldn't...), try this tweak (courtesy of MobiltyToday). I've been using the XV 6800 with a Blue Parrot Truckers Bluetooth headset for about a week now, and it works great!

Installing Voice Command on Verizon XV6800

1. Cyberon's Voice Speed Dial software is embedded with the OS and not as an addon through the Extended ROM. The only way to disable it is to delete the shortcut in the \Windows\Start Menu as well as the SDDaemon.lnk file in the \Windows\Startup folder. Note: If you've already installed Voice Command - don't delete the Voice Command shortcut - just delete the SDDaemon.lnk. This points to the new software!

2. Install Microsoft Voice Command normally. You may be prompted with an erroneous error message saying it's going to install in Main which is fine. Just continue with the installation. Note: this didn't happen with me.

3. The installation will reassign the Messaging button to Voice Command, but you probably want to give that back to the Messaging or other favorite applet. Reassign the Voice Speed Dial button to launch Voice Command. Note: The XV 6800 doesn't have this button - Voice Command goes to the email button in the upper left - you can leave it there or change it with the buttons settings.

4. Lastly, you must modify this registry entry in order to use your Bluetooth headset with Voice Command:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\OEM\VoiceCommand\
Path = "\Program Files\Voice Command\VoiceCmd.exe"NOTE: Create the entry if it does not exist.

Clearing out the traces of Voice Speed Dial
1. In these registry locations:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Microsoft \ Shell \ Extensions \ ContextMenus \ Contacts \ Main_ContextMenu
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Microsoft \ Shell \ Extensions \ ContextMenus \ Contacts \ Main_Tools
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Microsoft \ Shell \ Extensions \ ContextMenus \ Contacts \ Summary_ToolsRemove this key entirely: {2C0E9904-F32D-4f53-875F-479F5CA81E18}

2. In this registry location:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ControlPanelRemove this key entirely: VoiceTagCPL

3. In this registry location:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\OEM\VoiceCommandChange this value:

Path="\Program Files\Voice Command\VoiceCmd.exe"
(It probably points to SDDialer.exe now.)

4. In this folder: \Windows\Startup Remove this file: SDDaemon.lnk (you should have already done this if you followed the instructions above.

5. Reassign the Voice button in Buttons applet under Settings to Voice Command.

Now, soft-reset your device and that should do it. Cyberon's Voice Speed Dial is out of the picture. That is, until you hard reset, then it all comes back.


Can someone help? Thanks!
19th November 2008, 02:05 AM |#8  
credemann's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Charlotte
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Finally Fixed!
Thanks to Daniel who posted his "fix" the registry edit above now works on my XV6800!!!



1. Open BT Voice Command Config from Programs. Uncheck XCSdm
2. I put in 2 strings under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\OEM\VoiceCommand

Default = "\Program Files\Voice Command\voicecmd.exe"
Path = "\Program Files\Voice Command\voicecmd.exe"

I put "" around the strings - and the voicecmd.exe is SMALL case voicecmd not VoiceCmd.exe

3. Deleted the other keys under VoiceCommand
4. deleted the BT headset pairing - the paired jawbone headset again... perfect.
3rd December 2008, 08:56 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I am trying to get this to work on my XV6800 but when I try to modify this reg entry:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\OEM\VoiceCommand\
Path="\Program Files\Voice Command\voicecmd.exe"

It does not stick. Here is a message I posted to the Q&A forum with more details. I think it has to do with some security policies being pushed down due to sync with Exchange... Any ideas for how I could work around this?
7th December 2008, 01:33 AM |#10  
thundaar2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New England
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hey!
I use a vx6800 with a stock 6.1 rom.
I installed several different builds of MSVC and the only one that worked without ANY mods or glitches is v1.6.192009
I purchased an older version that the bluetooth would not work, notifications would not work etc etc. So I did a little research and found this version that worked perfectly!
All I needed to do was to go to start >settings >voice speed dial >settings, and then disable voice speed dial.
Also under programs >voice speed dial switch, you can disable there too!
9th December 2008, 12:11 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Most excellent! So simple yet so effective... Looks like disabling the voice speed dial was the piece I was missing. And here I was trying to modify registry entries. Silly me... By the way I am using v1.60.4622.0 (I'm Microsoft Internal so this should work with later versions as well!

Thanks for the help!
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes