FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Guide] Start Icons Skins QVGA-WQVGA-VGA and How-to

264 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Madremiha, Senior Member on 14th September 2008, 06:50 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello i made this thread to post my skins for start icon, a thread already exist but it will be clearly at that, i think
This manipulation doesn't use more memory, no app required.

Here is a preview of what's looks like:
Here is a preview of differents skins you can use


For QVGA WQVGA:

Install "Icone demarrer.cab" it's just 2registry key. (thank to my friend Shakass)

Then put in "/Windows"the file named "shellres.96.dll.****.mui"
**** is the localization code of your ppc's rom (040C for France and 0409 for US/UK)
The files you'll find in the folder are in 040C so change them if you're not french.

And Soft reset

This operation will replace too your wait cursor by the wait cursor vista by Marshall if you want to keep your cursor follow the How-to instructions to extract and modify your shellres.96.dll file.

If you want to put your original system just erase your shellres.96.dll.****.mui file and soft reset.


The folder QVGA-WQVGA contains all the Start icons
French Code 040C
http://rapidshare.com/files/14526119...WQVGA.zip.html

Us Code 0409
Pack QVGA-WQVGA
http://www.4shared.com/file/63132544...kins_0409.html
Skins Wapvirus post #29
http://www.4shared.com/file/63275979...art_Icons.html
Biohazard on post #44
Megaman on post #82
HTC on post #93


Change Start text

Open the file named shellres.dll.****.mui and go the String value 321 change the name, compile script and save then sign with MSsigner and put in /Windows; Enjoy !!

Here is some shellres.dll.040C.mui modified: Démarrer, Start, HTC, SFR, Vide(empty)
Change the country code if necessary.

If you like it, you can Donate to XDA .
Attached Files
File Type: cab Icone Demarrer.cab - [Click for QR Code] (5.6 KB, 9497 views)
File Type: zip Change Start text shellres.zip - [Click for QR Code] (231.4 KB, 6633 views)
 
 
14th September 2008, 06:51 PM |#2  
Madremiha's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
For VGA:

Same manipulation just the name of the file is "shellres.192.dll.****.mui"

The folder VGA contains only the "Blue windows" and "Office" Start icons for the moment if VGA's user wants some other, request it
"Points" icon added.
Apple Colors - Blue vista - Blue windows - Superstart added on post #168
Dark Glass windows on post #203
Mushrom on post #204
F star on post #194
Eye on post #211

Big Thanks to
Lolento who made a "How-to" to create and change your own icon;
Marshall who give us the way and all other xda members

Here is the Start discussion thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=378084
And the first How-to of Lolento on post #40.

If you like it, you can Donate to XDA .
Attached Files
File Type: zip VGA.zip - [Click for QR Code] (544.7 KB, 4369 views)
File Type: zip Points.zip - [Click for QR Code] (275.1 KB, 2194 views)
14th September 2008, 06:52 PM |#3  
blazingwolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 409
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks. I will try it in a bit.
14th September 2008, 06:52 PM |#4  
Madremiha's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
How-To


If you want to create your own icon,

For QVGA WQVGA

Create an icon in 21x18 then save as .ico file (32bits)
Take one of the "shellres.96.dll.****.mui" file
Or if you want to keep your own Wait cursor:
Copy to your SD card then to your PC the file named "shellres.96.dll"
Open it in Reshacker and go to "Icon group/4609
Clic on Action/Replace Icon/Open new file
Insert your new icon, clic replace.
Save your modified file takes the name of the old "shellres.96.dll.****.mui" and the old takes the name of "shellres.96.dll.****.mui".
If you have used your own "shellres.96.dll" file rename it as "shellres.96.dll.****.mui"

Open Mssigner,search your shellres file, clic Start sign Process
a window appear "Process finished!" then go where is your shellres file, a text file has been create
Open it, if there is wrote "Warning: This file is signed, but not timestamped,Succeeded" that prouved all is okay

After you know the suit.

For VGA
Same things just the size of the icon must be 41x36 and the name must be "shellres.192.dll.****.mui"


What is my Country Number?
Execute the Mortscript which is in the folder "ShellresNameHelper" (with Mortscript) Big Thank to mr_deimos for this script.

All the Softs are in the Tools folder

If you need some ideas here is a french site with lot of PNG image
http://www.customxp.net/PngFactory/
Write in the search bar what you want.

When you do a start icon file
Post the info (VGA QVGA; US FR)
And the PNG file or a screenshot

Enjoy!!!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Tools.zip - [Click for QR Code] (784.6 KB, 5308 views)
File Type: zip shellresNameHelper.zip - [Click for QR Code] (426 Bytes, 1436 views)
14th September 2008, 07:03 PM |#5  
eme82's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Cab Version of the Certificates
Here is a Cab Version of the certificates for those who are not comfortable with Registry Editor. This worked perfect for me.

Thanks for the great skins.
Attached Files
File Type: cab Start Menu Certificates.cab - [Click for QR Code] (6.0 KB, 2714 views)
14th September 2008, 07:12 PM |#6  
jrdejavux's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
works great on my tilt thanks a lot
14th September 2008, 11:35 PM |#7  
FatBoyExtraordinaire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Once I install the cab, what do I do? And how do you go about changing among the various icons? Sorry for the rookie questions.
15th September 2008, 12:43 AM |#8  
Madremiha's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Choose an icôn and go in the folder which has the same name, then put the shellres file you'll find in windows. If you aren't french change the "040C" by your localization code (0409 for US)
15th September 2008, 12:59 AM |#9  
lepsyfou's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal ( and Lille France)
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
hey amigo great post ( pub AM first Post please lol)
15th September 2008, 03:09 AM |#10  
FatBoyExtraordinaire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Do I have to put the icon itself under "Windows" as well or do I leave that in the folder? And ho do you get the default flag back if you don't like a particular icon?
15th September 2008, 10:42 AM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
^No you have to add the icon with Reshacker in your shellres file found in the /Windows folder.

Thanks alot for these clear instructions. Will give it a try when I have the time.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes