FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Manila2D on Sony Ericsson X1 (Instructions and file in here!)

146 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi, been home from work on a sick leave all day, and being bored to death started looking at the possibilites of perhaps making Manila2D available on the X1 (Portrait-mode only though)!

Instructions goes like this.

1. First, install the latest version of Manila2D. It can be found here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=398173

Follow the instructions found on that page.

2. Next, install the VGA-update made by pijulius, everything explained here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=429224

(the file you're looking for is the last link in the first post).

3. Go to Settings -> Today and uncheck the TouchFlo-plugin.

4. After you have done that, download my file, extract HTCHomeSettings.xml and move it to the Windows-folder of your device.

Go back to the settings for Today and check the box for TouchFlo. Voilá, working.

If your ROM is not WWE, but perhaps Swedish or something, you can follow the instructions in the last answer of this post, this will fix alot of problems you might otherwise encounter:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2741


Thank's to: Herg62123/others for Manila2D, pijulius for the VGA-version, darth maximus for his QWVGA-version that taught me alot, and ababrekar for the HTCHomeSettings XML-tutorial.

Will continue to work on this to see if I perhaps can improve it somehow

Screenshots:



Oh, the background image is taken from a QVGA-Manila2D-theme and resized to WVGA-size, renamed hh_fw_background.png and put in the windows\manilagfx-folder.
Attached Files
File Type: zip HTCHomeSettings.zip - [Click for QR Code] (8.8 KB, 1539 views)
 
 
30th September 2008, 03:56 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Bet it looks awesome on that screen.
Good job!
30th September 2008, 04:03 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Bavaria
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Great!
I really want my X1 - NOW!
30th September 2008, 04:09 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Oh my!!! That is nice.

Can you make Manila2D work on one of the panels? Or does it remove panels?


I suppose the next step would be to get the new version of Manila from the Touch HD.
30th September 2008, 04:13 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Linköping
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hehe I'm unfortunately not that good This is a today-plugin for the Microsoft Today-screen, which is one of the panels!

Yeah, hopefully we'll get a version that's made for WVGA from the Touch HD when it's released!
30th September 2008, 04:14 PM |#6  
msalmank's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Islamabad
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMike

Oh my!!! That is nice.

Can you make Manila2D work on one of the panels? Or does it remove panels?


I suppose the next step would be to get the new version of Manila from the Touch HD.

I'd really like to know that too!
30th September 2008, 04:22 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I suppose someone will have to look into the Xperia Panel SDK:

http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/corp...panel-20080903


Too bad I cant program : (((
30th September 2008, 04:49 PM |#8  
msalmank's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Islamabad
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMike

I suppose someone will have to look into the Xperia Panel SDK:

http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/corp...panel-20080903


Too bad I cant program : (((

I've already got that installed... but unfortunately they only support C++ for Panels at this time... am waiting for 'em to support C# and VB.Net CE.
30th September 2008, 05:01 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by msalmank

I've already got that installed... but unfortunately they only support C++ for Panels at this time... am waiting for 'em to support C# and VB.Net CE.

Lets hope it wont take them too long to bring out a new version! )

Nelsh:

Which prototype do you have and how well does it perform .. panels and touchflo interface?

Would be good knowing on what the final device will be capable of.
1st October 2008, 12:37 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Linköping
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Sorry I havent answered..been too busy trying to figure out this xml-thing! I have a 256 MB RAM-prototype..obviously I love it, wonderful phone! Even better now with the Manila2D up and running!
1st October 2008, 12:40 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nelshh

Sorry I havent answered..been too busy trying to figure out this xml-thing! I have a 256 MB RAM-prototype..obviously I love it, wonderful phone! Even better now with the Manila2D up and running!

How's it handling the panels and overall performance with the 256 mb?
Any bugs you've noticed? How's the keyboard?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes