FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Step by Step instructions for installing XP

262 posts
Thanks Meter: 366
 
By dproldan, Senior Member on 16th October 2008, 08:45 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello all.

I will update these instructions as needed.

With these instructions you can install any version of windows XP, SP2 or SP3. It doesn´t need to be a tablet edition. I recommend using a lite or optimized version.

As far as I know, only two things are not working, resolution changer and tablet input panel. Both will be fixed soon.

You have to install Activesync too if you want to access the other half of your Shift.

Thank you to all the people who contributed on the other thread!

Enjoy!

1.- Download and save to a USB disk drive:
http://www.filefactory.com/file/fa3e...s_shift_XP_rar
and https://phatpipez.homeftp.org/HTCShi...chXPproSP2.exe


or http://torrents.thepiratebay.org/444...94.TPB.torrent
Be sure to extract the rar file before starting or have a unrar program installer available, you cannot extract rar files on a newly installed windows XP!


2.- Install XP. Use your own version in your own language!
Choose same disk and fast NTFS format. Use the administrator account for now.
Let it finish ignoring any message about the screen format, etc
3.- Eject CD-Drive
Insert USB pen drive

4.- Run HTC Shift XP Drivers/Chipset/infinst_autol.exe next, next, next… reboot when finished.
5.- run HTC Shift XP Drivers/VGA/win2k_xp14324.exe next, next, yes, next, next, reboot when finished.
6.- run TabletPC_PatchXPproSP2.exe, it will extract files to C:\temp,
Go to C:\temp and run step1.reg,
Run Step2.bat
Leave it alone until de hard disk stops and reboot

7.- Run HTC Shift XP Drivers\VistaECDrvV1[1].0.1.10\setup.exe from the folder

8.- Run HTC Shift XP Drivers\TouchScreen(1[1].1.0.2)\ATSV1102(WHQLed).exe next,next, next and reboot when finished.

9.- run HTC Shift XP Drivers\Synaptics MicroPad(10[1].0.11.1)\setup.exe , reboot when finished.

10.- run HTC Shift XP Drivers\Audio\WDM_R195\setup.exe , reboot when finished.

11.- run HTC Shift XP Drivers\fingerprint\setup.exe .

12.- run HTC Shift XP Drivers\omnipass 5.0\setup.exe. Reboot when finished.

13.- run HTC Shift XP Drivers\USB LAN\setup.exe .

14.- run cygwin\setup.exe, and select install from folder. select ioperm from the devel subfolder.
Unselect icons on desktop and start menu and finish.
Run cygwin.bat from c:\cygwin

type “ioperm –i” + enter and “exit” + enter

move hsect-2.1\hsect2.exe and move it to c:\cygwin\bin

15.- move the bat files from \archivos bat\ to the desktop.

16.- Run BT on.bat from your desktop and let windows install its own drivers

17.- run WF on.bat from your desktop and cancel the windows installation.

18.- copy HTC Shift XP Drivers\WLAN\sdbus.sys to c:\windows\system32\drivers\ say yes to the replace dialog and reboot.

19.- Install the WLAN drivers , from the hardware manager, right button over marvell SDIO… update driver, and select the HTC Shift XP Drivers\WLAN folder.
 
 
18th October 2008, 05:53 AM |#2  
VeEuzUKY's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 114
 
More
Talking
Thanks for the step-by-step guide dproldan! I have a couple questions:

- What is left out as far as functionality with the XP install compared to Vista or will everythign work as far as the camera, control center buttons, etc...
- Any hopes soon for resolution changer and tablet input panel functioning?
- Without the mobility center built-in Vista, is the conenction to snapview done just via active sync?
- Download link for TabletPC_PatchXPproSP2.exe does not work and torrent has absolutely no availability. Any alternatives?

Thanks again!
18th October 2008, 07:58 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks Great
This is what we needed good job again thanks.
Hope sombody do the same with the flash rom to get the gps etc.
The shift is getting better and better
18th October 2008, 08:54 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Flag Bedford
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeEuzUKY


- Download link for TabletPC_PatchXPproSP2.exe does not work and torrent has absolutely no availability. Any alternatives?

Thanks again!

This link works https://phatpipez.homeftp.org/HTCShi...chXPproSP2.exe

other files https://phatpipez.homeftp.org/HTCShift/Shift/

Hope that helps
18th October 2008, 01:26 PM |#5  
VeEuzUKY's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 114
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark1978

This link works https://phatpipez.homeftp.org/HTCShi...chXPproSP2.exe

other files https://phatpipez.homeftp.org/HTCShift/Shift/

Hope that helps

Thanks so much Aardvark1978!
18th October 2008, 02:41 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
CRC failed in Temp\TABLETPC\l1033.dlm

18th October 2008, 03:10 PM |#7  
VeEuzUKY's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 114
 
More
Which drivers are for the G3 modem? I dont see them in the XP Drivers pack, or, are they built-in in XP already?

Also, any luck now or in the future to make the GPS work under XP?
18th October 2008, 03:36 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Malaga
Thanks Meter: 366
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeEuzUKY

Which drivers are for the G3 modem? I dont see them in the XP Drivers pack, or, are they built-in in XP already?

Also, any luck now or in the future to make the GPS work under XP?

You can use the 3G modem with USBTool and internet sharing programs from the windows mobile side, the RNDIS drivers are installed automatically the first time you connect.

GPS works fine on XP using franson GPSGate and activesync.
18th October 2008, 03:36 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Malaga
Thanks Meter: 366
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaspersky

CRC failed in Temp\TABLETPC\l1033.dlm

Probably a corrupted download. try again.
18th October 2008, 04:44 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by dproldan

Probably a corrupted download. try again.

downloaded again. now it's ok. tnx

18th October 2008, 11:33 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If I install XP on my Shift...

Will things still be controlled in SnapVUE?

I say this because my audio is dead, because snapvue is dead--if I install XP will sound be dead or does installing XP Usurp Snapvue?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes