FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Windows Mobile application for Geocaching.

565 posts
Thanks Meter: 131
 
By Gech, Senior Member on 13th February 2009, 01:48 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Dear all,

I posted a topic to Geocaching forum today.
And now, I would like to introduce Windows Mobile application "GCz" to WM experts and users like you!!
Because some of you might be interested in Geocaching with WM devices.

Please visit below to know the application for your WM device.
(or visit download site here -> http://www.nicque.com/PQz )

----------

[Geocaching forum]
http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/
[Forum > All nations]
http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index.php?showforum=24

[Topic - Do you use Windows Mobile Device? if so!]
(Introduction of Windows Mobile application for Geocaching)
http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/ind...owtopic=214152

Below is the copy from the forum.
-------------------------------------------
Dear all Geocachers!!

My name is Tom and let me introduce Windows Mobile application for Geocaching.

Last October, I bought my iPhone and searched lots of application from Apple Store.
One of most interesting application is "Groundspeak's Geocaching iPhone Application".
Of course, I bought it and started to play Geocaching immediately. It is a lot of fun!!

At the same time, I searched Windows Mobile application for Geocaching like iPhone app.
But I could not find it. then I decided to develop a Windows Mobile application.

Past 2 months, I was working on it and Japanese Geocachers and friends was helping me to test it.

So, I think now is the good timing to introduce the Windows Mobile application to world wide Geocachers.
The application name is "GCz" and you can download it from below.

GCz is Freeware!!!

[Download from here]
http://www.nicque.com/PQz


************************************
To get latest GCzII
Plese check above URL or use AppToDate.
************************************


[Requirement]
- Windows Mobile 5/6 Professional Device
- Mobile Google Map (free download from Google)
- Internet Connection
(Rcommend flat rate access services to the Internet. 3G/GPRS like.)

I attach some screenshots of GCz. please take a look.

If you have any question, suggestion, bug report, anything.
Please reply here. I would love to have your comment.

best regards,

tom

====================================
PS. If you think something suspicious. please check the below URLs.
That is my profile.

-Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/

-MVP Profile - Windows Mobile Devices. (Tomohiro Nagakubo)
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/pr...C-69EBB74EFBBC
====================================
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	001[1].jpg
Views:	13441
Size:	18.9 KB
ID:	156754   Click image for larger version

Name:	002[1].jpg
Views:	11324
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	156755   Click image for larger version

Name:	002_a[1].jpg
Views:	13602
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	156756   Click image for larger version

Name:	003[1].jpg
Views:	7809
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	156757   Click image for larger version

Name:	004[1].jpg
Views:	6533
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	156758  
The Following User Says Thank You to Gech For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Gech Ad-Free
 
 
13th February 2009, 01:49 AM |#2  
Gech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Screenshots
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	005[1].jpg
Views:	1980
Size:	8.6 KB
ID:	156759   Click image for larger version

Name:	006[1].jpg
Views:	1828
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	156760   Click image for larger version

Name:	007[1].jpg
Views:	2024
Size:	21.1 KB
ID:	156761   Click image for larger version

Name:	008[1].jpg
Views:	1733
Size:	8.9 KB
ID:	156762   Click image for larger version

Name:	009[1].jpg
Views:	2861
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	156763  
13th February 2009, 02:12 AM |#3  
Gech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
FYI

If you try GCz in UK, please check below when use postal code.

e.g)
[Manchester, Greater Manchester M13 0AS, UK] <= I lived here 2005-2006. ;D
----------------------------------
(X)Not work -> [M130AS]
- As - Brasília, Brasília - DF, BRA
- As, 5753 Deurne, The Netherlands
- Ås, 5417 Stord, Norway

(X)Not work -> [M13 0AS]
- M13, South Africa
- M13, Zambia
- M13, 77500 Selandar, Melaka, Malaysia

(X)Not work -> [M130AS,UK]
- (Not found)

(O)Works -> [M13 0] or [M13 0AS UK] or [M13 0AS,UK]
- Manchester, Greater Manchester M13 0, UK
----------------------------------

thanks

tom
13th February 2009, 03:29 AM |#4  
noellenchris's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Marlton, NJ
Thanks Meter: 888
 
More
Man....been looking for a good little app like this! I've been using Navstation's program for awhile, but I will definitely follow your program. Thanks a ton for your app. I will type more after my next cache trip!
13th February 2009, 09:35 AM |#5  
Gech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Hi noellenchris

THank you very much!!! ;D

and, I have recieved a bug report and fixed it.
please re-download latest one. (ver 0.0.25)

http://www.nicque.com/PQz

regards,

tom
13th February 2009, 01:26 PM |#6  
glaucos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Torino
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Wow, I was searching for this from long time, so, let me start testing it!
First request: can you add AppToDate support?

Message edited to remove "bug" that i've found: It was mine error
13th February 2009, 02:51 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thank you!
13th February 2009, 02:59 PM |#8  
BlackBull's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
yeah man!!! i have been looking for this a while. you are an genius!! thank you alot!!
13th February 2009, 03:53 PM |#9  
Gech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Thank you guys!! I am really happy to hear from you. ;D


>> glaucos
I modified the cab file to support AppToDate.
Please re-download and try it.

http://www.nicque.com/PQz
GCz_20090213_1800_0025.cab

The cab file name is same as before but works with AppToDate.

regards,

tom
14th February 2009, 03:03 PM |#10  
glaucos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Torino
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gech

Thank you guys!! I am really happy to hear from you. ;D


>> glaucos
I modified the cab file to support AppToDate.
Please re-download and try it.

http://www.nicque.com/PQz
GCz_20090213_1800_0025.cab

The cab file name is same as before but works with AppToDate.

regards,

tom

Great! Installed, now waiting for a new version to see if it works
And now, another question: Can you implement a system to cache the downloaded data? I don't have a flat plan for data, so I can use the program when I'm at home using my ADSL without spending money, and when I'm in searching for cache I don't have to spend money because the data is cached by the program.
14th February 2009, 03:14 PM |#11  
Gech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Hi glaucos,

Yes, off-line mode is next goal of GCz!!
I have recieved same requests.
I will implement it ASAP.

But currently, I need to develop another application.
It might take a while. probablly March.
After that I will work on GCz development again.

Sorry inconvenience.

regards,

tom
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
free apps, gcz, gczii, geocaching, gps

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes