FORUMS

GPS Status 2 for Adnroid 1.5

16 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By rhornig, Junior Member on 18th April 2009, 06:42 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello all,

As developers start to use firmware 1.5 I have updated the GPS status app to work with the new firmware.

The good news is that I no longer have to use internal APIs. Some features have been removed or changed:

- Screen orientation settig has been removed as it can be configured globally in 1.5
- Magnetic declination setting is removed too, but the good news is that declination is now automatically calculated (without internet access) based on a geomagnetic model. The model also gives the absolute value of the magnetc field at your location which is also displayed.
- finally: the GPS is not automatically turned on, because average programs can no longer turn on the GPS (it is possible only by using the system settings program) (GPS switch appliction will no longer work)

Have fun, comments are welcome.
Rudolf
The Following User Says Thank You to rhornig For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rhornig Ad-Free
18th April 2009, 08:44 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
If you start the app without enabling GPS first, it crashes right away.
19th April 2009, 08:33 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karolis

If you start the app without enabling GPS first, it crashes right away.

Thanks, noted the issue.
19th April 2009, 10:15 AM |#4  
koxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Crash on 5.0.1Gr3.

I switch GPS ON before launching.

It shows the first screen, and "force close" ...
19th April 2009, 07:56 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i hope this works because GPStatus is my favorite app.
19th April 2009, 08:02 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
g force registers at 1.00 as default... it doesnt seem to be as accurate as gps status was on 1.1, or its more sensitive i dunno.
19th April 2009, 08:03 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
without moving, my heading goes frim 78-81deg.
20th April 2009, 05:33 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeydsmith

g force registers at 1.00 as default... it doesnt seem to be as accurate as gps status was on 1.1, or its more sensitive i dunno.

Right, I've detected this too. It seems that the new formware is doing much less filtering than the 1.1 version. This gives a faster response with much more errors. Unfortunately I cannot do anything about it at the moment.

Having acceleration at 1.0 g is correct (at least GPS Stus 1.5 works the same way) as we are standing on the surface of the earth Thats a different stiry whether it is correct to call it "acceleration" for ordinary people (I know Einstein would not mind it )
20th April 2009, 08:08 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
lol yeah cant u jsut make it x-1? or sumthing lol, but yeah you are right we exipreince 1 g all the time.
21st April 2009, 05:23 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeydsmith

lol yeah cant u jsut make it x-1? or sumthing lol, but yeah you are right we exipreince 1 g all the time.

Version 1.4 did that, but that was not correct.
The problem is that acceleration is a vector not a scalar. I.e. I have to add/substract vectors not scalars...

example:
- If you would accelerate horizontally with 1g and in addition the earth has also 1g gravity, you would feel (and your phone would measure) approximately 1.41g (sqrt(1g^2+1g^2))

- on the other hand if you would accelerate vertically (upwards) with 1g, your body would feel 2g

The real problem: it is not possible to measure the direction of your acceleration (and according to Einstein its not even distinguishable from the gravity at all).

Maybe I will assume that the acceleration is horizontal (which is true for most ordinary people, moving on the surface of Earth). The rest (astronauts during launch, parachute jumpers) will get slightly wrong results, but I'm hoping they will have better equipment than relying on their G1
21st April 2009, 06:08 PM |#11  
unicornio's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Rudolf i am a fan of your gpsstatus.apk and since i load the 1.5 in my dev phone i wanting for your upgrade. really i do not understand what happens with this firmware but i think that the compass do not work anyway and all operations that in the past (and that work in my g1-not updated- phone) put to work the compass now is not responding...i have my compass pointing near the east!!!...

may be (that you says) is the automatic magnetic declination are actuating but the pointing i shure that is a mistake...

i am very fustrated and worried if this issue and if you can help me to understand this, it would be very appreciated...

meanwhile i thanks so much your work and hope gpsstaus.apk go to work in the future at least good that we have working in the past...

best regards and electronics greetings from spain
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, gps

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes