FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Never wipe again after an upgrade!

2,515 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,779
 
By cyanogen, Retired Recognized Developer on 6th June 2009, 01:23 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
It seems that quite often after an upgrade (especially when using Apps2SD), Android rebuilds the /data/system/packages.xml file because it thinks you have reinstalled all of your apps. This results in missing apps, force closes, etc, because UIDs have changed and they don't match whats in your /data/data directory. It's almost always fixed by a wipe, but screw that

Download this file: http://n0rp.chemlab.org/android/fix_permissions.sh

Push it to your sdcard, su, and run "sh /sdcard/fix_permissions.sh" and reboot. You should be good to go with NO WIPE!

Credit goes to this guy, I simply ported it to shell code: http://blog.elsdoerfer.name/2009/05/...id-mismatches/

UPDATED: Now works with protected apps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anddep

so when installed.. i dont have to wipe for a new build?

Well, there are some other factors, like app data that is stored in the same place but in a different format. You'd likely run into this going back and forth from an HTC based build like Hero or Sapphire and an Android based build like mine, Dude's, or JF's. I can't fix that situation, YMMV.

Except for that special case, this should do the trick.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cyanogen For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cyanogen Ad-Free
 
 
6th June 2009, 01:42 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I hope I don't sound like a complete idiot. Do you do this before or after the update and will this work with any update (like moving from ION to Rogers?
6th June 2009, 01:42 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank you! This will help me a lot! I wipe so often that I have to wait awhile to sync my Google account. It seems they have some limit on the amount of times you can sync your account in 24 hours?
6th June 2009, 01:45 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by al74

I hope I don't sound like a complete idiot. Do you do this before or after the update and will this work with any update (like moving from ION to Rogers?

You don't sound like an idiot. That's actually a good question. I'd say before, but I'm curious as well.
6th June 2009, 01:46 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Dallas, Tx
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by al74

I hope I don't sound like a complete idiot. Do you do this before or after the update and will this work with any update (like moving from ION to Rogers?

second that about will it work on any update?
6th June 2009, 01:47 AM |#6  
cyanogen's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 5,779
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powermaniac

You don't sound like an idiot. That's actually a good question. I'd say before, but I'm curious as well.

You would have to do it after the update, and reboot.
6th June 2009, 02:02 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Clearwater, FL
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Bravo!!!
@Cyanogen: YOU **ARE** THE MAN! Woot!
6th June 2009, 02:03 AM |#8  
DOHCtor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 120
 
More
Now I'm not so hesitant to test out new roms! Thanks cyan
6th June 2009, 02:06 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Murfreesboro, TN
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
so when installed.. i dont have to wipe for a new build?
6th June 2009, 02:21 AM |#10  
GT30RSUBIE's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
damn your good..
6th June 2009, 02:26 AM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Smile
Thank you very much
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes