FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP] Manila2D WeatherCities Editor v.1.2.1 [UPDATED 17-09-2009]

554 posts
Thanks Meter: 19
 
By cyberde, Senior Member on 1st September 2009, 04:36 PM
Post Reply Email Thread

Manila2D WeatherCities Editor
donate

Hi all,

I've been searching for a tool to edit the weather database (xml) in Manila2D. Because I couldn't find any I decided to code one myself. Now it's finished I want to share it with the community

Note: this program is no longer maintained as I don't have a TytnII anymore...

Features:
  • Runs on your phone!
  • Allows you to add/edit and delete cities from the database
  • Allows you to search AccuWeather.com for the corresponing weather code (no more searching for the code in the website-url whatsoever)
  • Allows you to clear the database and only add the cities you want
  • Works with the latest Manila2D (v2.0 build 19191432)

Requirements:
  • .Net compact framework 2.0
  • Patched Manila2D to allow alternate cities (eg not2advanced)
  • QVGA compatible deviceWindows Mobile 5.x or higher

Screenshots:




History:
17-09-2009 Version 1.2.1 released
14-09-2009 Version 1.2 released
11-09-2009 Version 1.1.2 released
07-09-2009 Version 1.1.1 released
06-09-2009 Version 1.1 released
31-08-2009 Version 1.0 released

Changelog:
V1.2.1
  • Updated splash screen so the user knows what the program is doing
  • Added read-only detection of the database file (xml-file), has the ability to remove the read-only attribute by itself.

V1.2
  • Enhanced graphics to match the Manila style, courtesy of S.V.I.
  • Detection of languages, so it uses the right XML file according to language settings
  • Appens the abbreviation of the state and country to the name, just like the cities that are already in the XML-file
  • Keyboard automatically shows when a textbox has gotten the focus
V1.1.2
  • Some parsing changes
  • Appends the state or province to the name instead to the country
V1.1.1
  • Fixed issue when selecting the keyboard on the search screen, the main screen gets focussed and hiding the search screen;
  • List is now alphabetically saved;
  • Fixed an exception which could occur when deleting an item.
V1.1
  • Added additional search code to improve searches (still depends on AccuWeather.com's search, but returns more results);
  • Changed "Save as New" to "Add to list" to make more sense;
  • Fixed the softkeyboard from hiding the input fields.

Q&A:
Awesome, can I donate?
Sure you can, just click here and donate away

Can I post a wish or suggestion?
You can post them in this thread and if I have time I’ll have a look at it.

I’ve found a bug, what do I do now?
Post them in this thread and instructions on how to reproduce that bug.

I’ve added a city but Manila complains it cannot retrieve weather data, what do I do now?
Most likely your Manila isn’t patched to an alternate weather url (see requirements). If it is patched then the code might be wrong or the server has a glitch.

I can't find the city I'm looking for, what to do?
This application only searches and parses the AccuWeather.com site (international search). So it could happen that for instance 'New York' doesn't return the New York in the US. Instead search for 'New York, US'.

Download:
Click here to download or click the cab-file attached to this post.

Cheers,
CYBERDE
 
 
1st September 2009, 04:37 PM |#2  
cyberde's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Reserved ...
1st September 2009, 04:44 PM |#3  
stylez's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus
Flag XDA Server Likes: The Art of War Hates: Cowards
Thanks Meter: 520
 
Donate to Me
More
Awesome gonna give try, should make things easier for people not able to edit .xml

Thankyou
1st September 2009, 07:15 PM |#4  
denco7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston, Texas
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Nice idea, really helpful.

Only the Input field does not scroll up when the onscreen keyboard pops up, so you can't see what or where you are inputting. You have to close the keyboard, check to see what you have typed or deleted and then popthe keyboard back to continue.

Also seems like I can only put in one custom city and then no others.

EDIT : ok , figured it out. After putting in new city info, you have to go to edit soft key and hit " save as new " and then press the menu soft key and hit " save changes " soft reset and new city will appear in list.
1st September 2009, 07:43 PM |#5  
greywolf1965's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Madison
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Location
Looks like a very promising and needed software.

I installed to my main memory, but now I cannot locate it in Start>Programs...I actually went to File Directory and found the files there and started it from there. Am I missing something?

I am currently testing the program, will report back later....

Thank you.


UPDATE: I found the shortcut in Start>Programs.
1st September 2009, 08:36 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberde

Hi all,

I've been searching for a tool to edit the weather database (xml) in Manila2D. Because I couldn't find any I decided to code one myself. Now it's finished I want to share it with the comunity

Features:

  • Runs on your phone!
  • Allows you to add/edit and delete cities from the database
  • Allows you to search AccuWeather.com for the corresponing weather code (no more searching for the code in the website-url whatsoever)
  • Allows you to clear the database and only add the cities you want

Requirements:
  • .Net compact framework 2.0
  • Patched Manila2D to allow alternate cities (eg not2advanced)
  • QVGA compatible deviceWindows Mobile 5.x or higher

Screenshots:



History:
31-08-2009 Version 1.0 released

Q&A:
Awesome, can I donate?
Sure you can, just click here and donate away

Can I post a wish or suggestion?
You can post them in this thread and if I have time I’ll have a look at it.

I’ve found a bug, what do I do now?
Post them in this thread and instructions on how to reproduce that bug.

I’ve added a city but Manila complains it cannot retrieve weather data, what do I do now?
Most likely your Manila isn’t patched to an alternate weather url (see requirements). If it is patched then the code might be wrong or the server has a glitch.

Download:
Click here to download or click the cab-file attached to this post.

Cheers,
CYBERDE


I have compact framework 3.5...is that ok to use or 2.0? thanks
1st September 2009, 09:05 PM |#7  
S.V.I's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
AWESOME!
So I patched Manila 2D from mega. have not yet patched it for 6.1.
as soon as I get a chance to upload it I will post a link.
can't wait to try it
1st September 2009, 09:16 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
cannot find local zip
check on accu website, it's there, did a search cannot find...is just not in the data base? any help..thanks
1st September 2009, 11:37 PM |#9  
S.V.I's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
same thing here. finding cities that actually exist (even though most people have never heard of them.
Try Mars or Moon PA (US) we have some funny places in Pennsylvania

edit: cant find any US cities. even New York!
1st September 2009, 11:48 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by S.V.I

same thing here. finding cities that actually exist (even though most people have never heard of them.
Try Mars or Moon PA (US) we have some funny places in Pennsylvania

edit: cant find any US cities. even New York!

ya, I know, same here in NC....maybe needs some more "tweaken"...still a good app though
2nd September 2009, 05:09 AM |#11  
S.V.I's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Spaming:
Patched Manila from mega. 6.5 only. I don't know what to edit to get it to work on 6.1
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=751

If you know what you are doing, you can patch it to work for 6.1 and non HTC devices. (please let me know)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cities, database, editor, manila, weather

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes