FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOWTO] Guide to running ADB under Fedora 11 (and equivalent distros)

212 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By corp769, Senior Member on 17th September 2009, 08:30 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Ok, I have fedora 11 installed on most of my computers, since i love this distro to death. My big thing was trying to get adb to work. This is my guide to get it to work, for now.

First things first. Navigate to /etc/udev/rules.d as root. Create a rules file called 50-android.rules (touch 50-android.rules). NOTE: You are better off looking at the contents and picking a rules number set other than what is listed. Sometimes udev is picky. For the newbies, so if any rules start with '50', then change the number by one or two, like 51 or 52. Paste this into the file:

Code:
SUBSYSTEM=="usb",ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bb4",SYMLINK+="android_adb",MODE="0666"
Make sure you use ATTRS, not ATTR or SYSFS, since this is a newer updated udev system.

After that, run udevadm control --reload-rules to reload your rules files. Now just run ./adb devices as root to make sure it recognized your HTC dream. I am working on this fix right now so you don't need to be root, keep patient. Now you can adb shell into your device either as root OR normal user, just as long as you start the server as root. This is a permissions problem, and hopefully I can fix this and/or find a fix soon.

I wrote this because i searched high and low through google, and only found a few good parts as far as a fix. Hopefully this helps a few people out there.
 
 
28th September 2009, 06:26 AM |#2  
corp769's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Just wondering if this has helped anyone. If not, delete this thread or do whatever with it....
28th September 2009, 07:00 AM |#3  
sensimila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I have adb on my eeepc 900 with f11 I believe this method works too as well. although it says it has been tested with ubuntu, it works pretty well with f11.

http://www.talkandroid.com/android-sdk-install-guide/

Quote:

Installing The Android SDK

First you will need to download the Android SDK pack .zip archive, once downloaded find a suitable installation location on your machine and extract the zipped files.

Please note: This installation location will be referred to as $SDK_ROOT from now on through this tutorial

Alternatively you can add /tools to your root path which will prevent the need to specify the full path to the tools directory along with enabling you to run Android Debug Bridge (adb) along with other command line tools.

To add /tools:
Linux

1. Edit the ~/.bash_profile or ~/.bashrc files looking for a line that sets the PATH variable.
2. Add the full path location to your $SDK_ROOT/tools location for the PATH variable.
3. If no PATH line exists you can add the line by typing the following:
4. export PATH=${PATH}:<path to your $SDK_ROOT/tools>

28th September 2009, 09:50 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
It helped me, since the creation of the file my OpenSuSE 11.0 recognizes the phone perfectly

Thanks a lot for your hint.
21st October 2009, 01:47 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
thanks it helped me. ill be looking forward to getting it to work without root
5th November 2009, 08:15 AM |#6  
sensimila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
just use sudo instead
5th November 2009, 08:52 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just a heads up for user's using Ubuntu 9.10, this isn't needed. I connected my G1 to it and ran ADB with no adjustments to udev or anything else.

Pretty much it works out of the box.
5th November 2009, 08:54 AM |#8  
sensimila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Here is my version
download the .tgz file from googlecode
http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Quote:

sudo tar -xzvf android-sdk_r3-linux.tgz

Code:
sudo gedit ~/.bash_profile
heres my bash_profile
Quote:

# .bash_profile

# Get the aliases and functions
if [ -f ~/.bashrc ]; then
. ~/.bashrc
fi

# User specific environment and startup programs

PATH=$PATH:$HOME/bin
export PATH=$PATH:/android-sdk-linux/tools

logout
login
connect android g1 device via usb to pc
open a terminal
Code:
adb devices
if you cant get a device try it with superuser.
5th November 2009, 02:31 PM |#9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
Don't you think that this is all just a little bit excessive?

To make it work in F11, just do this;

Download SDK, extract.
To use, type:
/path/to/sdk/tools/adb
5th November 2009, 04:17 PM |#10  
toeshot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aurora, Near Chicago
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Another option is to edit the /etc/profile and add

PATH=$PATH:/<Path to android-sdk>/tools

This option will allow any user to use the adb tools when logged in or if you

su -

into another user
5th November 2009, 08:59 PM |#11  
enatefox's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I wrote a short guide as well for Windows and Ubuntu. Might help others.

Unfortunately, as anyone with a passing acquaintence with ADB knows, the scrolling issue can be a killer. I swear the other day I pressed "up" twice and it composed "rm /sdcard/rootfs.img /sdcard/system.ext2" and executed it. We run Android on our SD's btw.. Was not cool. Instead, I use ADB via telnet and it works beautifully. Here's how:
Code:
adb shell telnetd &
adb forward tcp:9999 tcp:23
Now type this: "telnet localhost 9999"
Enter "root" and hit enter
Finally update PATH: "export PATH=/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/sbin:/system/sbin:/system/bin:/system/xbin:/system/xbin/bb:/data/local/bin"

Okay, so 4 lines to enter and you have a "regular, sane" shell connection to the phone and you can actually scroll through history and text without it jumbling the text and executing random code. Enjoy.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes