FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Reg. tweak to change Rom language only works if...

1,059 posts
Thanks Meter: 53
 
By RRibeiro, Senior Member on 13th November 2009, 02:57 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I have been testing the Registry tweak to chenge the Rom language, and after some tests I have discovered that if we change the Rom language we lose the notification sounds (Like SMS sound).
So I tested with the attached files I had from a 6.5 ROM from my olg HD. And after copying the files to Windows dir and change the Reg code to Portuguese all is working fine now including notifications.
Attached is a Zip file with all the files needed and a small text file with instructions.
If you want to use this files for another language diferent from Portuguese, all you have to do is to rename the "0816" code from the end of each file to the code from your language.

I hope this is usefull.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Manila 2.5 to PT.zip - [Click for QR Code] (34.8 KB, 6547 views)
 
 
13th November 2009, 03:20 PM |#2  
hnparedes's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Den Haag
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
And works with all languages? (E que eu nao queria colocar PT :P )
13th November 2009, 03:36 PM |#3  
RRibeiro's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ericeira
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hnparedes

And works with all languages? (E que eu nao queria colocar PT :P )

Yes, works with all languages if you change the registry to your language code d the files in my Zip to the same code and then copy them to windows dir. It works.

The registry is HKEY_CURRENT_USER\MUI\CurLang and change the value 409 to 408 (Hex) (for example Greek) or try another value for your language. You can find all Windows Locale Codes here: http://www.science.co.il/Language/Locale-Codes.asp
13th November 2009, 07:18 PM |#4  
pdgpereira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag LX
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Any way to just have T9 work with Portuguese without changing anything else to Portuguese?
13th November 2009, 09:14 PM |#5  
lucid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRibeiro


....all is working fine now including notifications.

If you want to use this files for another language diferent from Portuguese, all you have to do is to rename the "0816" code from the end of each file to the code from your language.

I hope this is usefull.

Tnis is surely useful, thanks !

Question : Will this, apart from restoring notifications, have more
screens translated to the respective languages ?
If one hacks the registry now, only the "main tabs" in Sense are translated, as soon as you press a menu it's Dutch or German or whatever language again.

Q2 : If someone can do it for a Dutch ROM that would be great. I've just lend out Touch HD as HD2 arrived.
17th November 2009, 09:14 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello my friends,
I just bought my new HD2 and i tried the way as you said. I didn't copy anyt file, i just changed the registry , and now the menu and ferw more things are in my language. The only problem that rem,ains is the Keyboard. Instead of puting anothet program for Keyboard , can i correct also this one? I use for example the Greek language.

Friendly
Stragr
19th November 2009, 06:41 PM |#7  
shawchyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 27
 
Donate to Me
More
This work on changing the manila screen languages, it doesn't change the inner part, ie: new sms or new appointment, the input still in english.
20th November 2009, 10:50 PM |#8  
cidriver's Avatar
Senior Member
Somewhere under the sun
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I just try a minutes ago and the result is only change the manila language no the hole language in the device.

You have to delete the old ones form the Windows folder?

thanks a lot.
23rd November 2009, 08:22 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag Timisoara
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi,RRibeiro,doesent work for me,I changed 0409 with 0418,in all your files,copy all in windows and....no notification sound for sms ;-(
24th November 2009, 12:07 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Can we confirm? Does this change more than just the Sense language and the T9 text entry?
Does this work with Chinese language phones?
24th November 2009, 12:26 PM |#11  
Laurentius26's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
1010
Donate to Me
More
Nice find RRibeiro bro, thank you.

Btw nice to see you on Leo too.

Grtz Leo
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes