FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Try this! (more stuff added)

320 posts
Thanks Meter: 26
 
By Robrecht, Senior Member on 20th November 2009, 11:01 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Ok, by now you probably know HTC's nice text selection tool. To use it, write some words in a HTC application (like the text message composer), then tap-and-hold somewhere in the text. You get one handle to move around, or two if you want to select a precise part.

But there's more. Change "HKLM/Software/HTC/TextSelection/EnableMagnifier" from 0 to 1. Now activate the text selection tool again as described above and try moving the single handle around... :)
 
 
21st November 2009, 12:18 AM |#2  
pdgpereira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag LX
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Nice catch. Can be helpful in tight selections. I've been looking through the reg. So much stuff disabled... Why does HTC do this? They could've placed it as an option on SMS menu...
21st November 2009, 12:55 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 408
 
More
Thanks. Added to tips thread.
21st November 2009, 01:38 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Maidenhead
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
Maybe they disable it so we at XDA have something to do until HSPL is released
26th November 2009, 10:42 AM |#5  
Robrecht's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 26
 
Donate to Me
More
Some other simple but cool things I discovered:

* You can use the album app to crop pictures. Just pinch-to-zoom until the part you want fills the screen, then tap the screen, tap the icon on the bottom right and choose the second option from the menu. In Dutch it's called 'Schermafbeelding opslaan'. It will save a cropped copy of your pic.

* Here's a registry entry I found: "HKLM/Software/HTC/Manila/InternetPush/EnablePushInternet". It's set to 0 by default. I'm not really interested in push internet, so I haven't experimented with this, but it seems you can enable it if you want.

* Sometimes touch scrolling gets in the way of selecting text. If you want to select text, the solution depends on the context, but to start you just tap-and-hold anywhere:
-- In Opera, you can switch text selection on/off in the context menu;
-- In some apps (like while reading an e-mail message) you get a pop-up menu where the first option is 'make selection' ('selectie maken' on my Dutch device);
-- In Word, just before the pop-up menu appears, you see this: '[T]'. As soon as it appears, move your finger and you'll be able to select text!

* If you like the Footprints app but prefer full size pictures to those square 'polaroids', there's an option to save a full sized copy whenever you create a 'Footprint' (Footprints tab -> Menu -> Settings).

* The 'me' entry in the People app stores your 'owner' info. I know this is widely known by now, partly because I've been posting it everywhere, but I still see so many people complaining they can't register their applications (Resco stuff, SKtools)... because the can't find the old owner info icon. I have registered both Resco Explorer and SKtools perfectly fine without ever bringing the owner info icon back.
24th June 2010, 01:27 AM |#6  
leepriestenator's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
I haven't ever been able to get the Text Selection sliders to work on a custom rom even after setting the registry value to 1.

This is an awesome feature and I can't understand why it doesn't work.
24th June 2010, 01:46 AM |#7  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,055
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leepriestenator

I haven't ever been able to get the Text Selection sliders to work on a custom rom even after setting the registry value to 1.

This is an awesome feature and I can't understand why it doesn't work.

you know it only works in text messaging, right? (well, some other htc apps too, apparently, but i couldn't name another one i've seen it in)
24th June 2010, 02:12 AM |#8  
leepriestenator's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Yes of course... I'm aware that it only works in the realm of Sense specifically mail and text. I can do the standard selection thing but I just can't seem to get the sliders.

Any ideas?
24th June 2010, 10:08 AM |#9  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,055
 
More
hmm, well a common mistake I've come across a few times is people not pressing select the first time.

firstly go type some text into a new text message. (not sure where the idea it works in email came from, certainly doesn't on mine.)
ok, press and hold should bring up a cursor and the words "select|select all.
use the single sljder to set the start(or end, whichever) press 'select' nd now a second slider should join the first, enabling you to select.
24th June 2010, 11:01 AM |#10  
leepriestenator's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Thanks for the responses guys, but as it turned out, I didn't realise that Energy ROMs are stripped of the HTC Messaging Module and that seems to be the only place where this 'feature' works.

It's a shame that's it's not available system-wide considering how easy it makes life.

I installed the HTC Messaging Client and voila, it was it there! but that excitement was short lived considering how bad HTC's messaging client is.
24th June 2010, 11:29 AM |#11  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,055
 
More
hah couldn't agree more. with the magnifier too its great ,, just never gets used.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes