FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

WM7Full.bin taken apart..

11 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By akersj, Junior Member on 20th March 2010, 11:03 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
If anybody is interested in grabbing the ringtones/wallpaper/strange sample icons from WM7, it's possible to reverse engineer the BIN file to get at the raw files that make up WM7.

Happy to post steps if anybody wants to get at this stuff, if not please see wallpapers and ringtones attached to this post. Hopefully helpful to somebody out there.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ringtones.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.63 MB, 3236 views)
File Type: zip wallpaper.zip - [Click for QR Code] (751.4 KB, 2389 views)
 
 
20th March 2010, 11:16 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
thanks... please post how to extract the bin for noobs!
20th March 2010, 11:34 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Of course... you need:

- The BIN file. In this case I used WM7Full.bin available from several sites
- viewbin.exe from Microsoft Platform SDK
- cvrtbin.exe from Microsoft Platform SDK
- dumprom.exe from Microsoft Platform SDK

You may also be able to find these utilities using Google.

Use viewbin.exe to analyse the file:

viewbin.exe -t wm7full.bin

You'll see an image start and length. Start was 0x81000000 with length 0x0496A294 for the specific file I used. Plug these values into cvrtbin.exe:

cvrtbin.exe -r -a 0x81000000 -l 0x0496A294 -w 32 wm7full.bin

(obviously substituting the -a and -l value for those obtained from viewbin. Leave -w as 32)

This will produce wm7full.nb0. Plug this file into dumprom.exe:

dumprom.exe -d c:\output wm7full.nb0.

And there you have it, the files will be chucked into c:\output in their entirety.
21st March 2010, 01:00 AM |#4  
Win_XP's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bulgaria, Varna
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Thanks for this one, some good sounds inside
21st March 2010, 01:15 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I can't find viewbin.exe, cvrtbin.exe, and dumprom.exe anywhere, can someone post a link?

EDIT: Or, better yet, could someone just upload the dump?

EDIT 2: Okay, I found the tools, but the dump didn't work. Any suggestions?
21st March 2010, 11:42 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Could you provide details of the error that you're seeing please?

To answer your other questions, I'm not planning to upload the whole dump as it's copyright and against the forum rules. Same goes for the tools, they're part of the Platform Builder SDK.
22nd March 2010, 03:46 AM |#7  
silentP's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by akersj

Happy to post steps if anybody wants to get at this stuff, if not please see wallpapers and ringtones attached to this post. Hopefully helpful to somebody out there.

Thank you very much
22nd March 2010, 06:27 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Not to be a buzzkill, but these are the same ringtones and sounds from 6.1/6.5

Though I missed flamenco fire, thanks for bringing it back
22nd March 2010, 06:32 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazzarin

Not to be a buzzkill, but these are the same ringtones and sounds from 6.1/6.5

Though I missed flamenco fire, thanks for bringing it back

LOL.. I didn't try 6.1/6.5, just saw the BIN file screaming to be taken apart! Flamenco Fire ... hmm interesting
22nd March 2010, 11:43 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by akersj

Could you provide details of the error that you're seeing please?

To answer your other questions, I'm not planning to upload the whole dump as it's copyright and against the forum rules. Same goes for the tools, they're part of the Platform Builder SDK.

There is no error message; I run the tools exactly as described, which works, but when I look for "C:\output", I can't find it. Otherwise everything is fine.
23rd March 2010, 08:52 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fdo35

There is no error message; I run the tools exactly as described, which works, but when I look for "C:\output", I can't find it. Otherwise everything is fine.

You will need to substitute c:\output for a directory of your choice that exists on your system. Please also ensure that you are using the offset and length appropriate to the bin file you are using.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes