FORUMS

[6/16]*techknowfile's* - Hack the HTC EVO - 3G w/o Sprint EVDO coverage!

169 posts
Thanks Meter: 16
 
By Techknowfile, Senior Member on 6th June 2010, 06:12 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
DISCLAIMER: The following information is provided for EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY. I am not responsible for any physical or monetary damages that may occur due to the educational guide below. I also do not guarantee that the following information would work for every individual, or that it would always be effective in the future.



How To: Hack the HTC EVO
A Guide On Accessing 3G Networks Without EVDO Coverage From Sprint


As of Android Froyo 2.2 the stock EPST app no longer contains ##PRL# functionality. In order to fix this, download THIS apk file and use Root Explorer to copy the DL over the EPST in /system/app/ (must be mounted as R/W. Long click the file->Permissions->check all. Then single click the new EPST.apk and install it.

Step 1: Obtain your MSL (Master Subsidy Lock). This can be achieved by calling *2 on the the default android phone application. A Sprint Support Assistant will answer your call - kindly request that they provide you with the Master Subsidy Lock for your phone. If, for whatever reason, the support personnel is unable to complete your request, follow this tutorial by techwerkz to obtain the MSL.

Step 2: Navigate to this tutorial on your EVO phone's default web browser and download the following PRL file: Techknowfile's 00001 epic PRL
  • If you weren't prompted to download the file and instead see a white web page filled with text jargon on it, press the menu button on your phone and click "save page" as 00001.prl
  • Alternatively, you may download the zipped version of my PRL file: Techknowfile's zipped 00001 epic PRL
Step 3: Dial ##775#. Enter your MSL into the password box that appears >> hit OK >> tap on the "Update PRL" button. Make sure "All Folders" and "Type: prl files" are selected. You should see the downloaded PRL (00001.prl) on the list; Select the PRL >> Press Menu >> Commit.
  • If dialing ##775# doesn't reveal the password prompt, please ensure that the EPST.apk file listed at the top of this tutorial has been properly installed.

If you get a 3g connection from this but it keeps dropping, try turning OFF data roaming. Thanks |Jason8|

How to undo the hack
If for whatever reason you wish to reverse this change, all you have to do is update the PRL through your EVO.

FAQ removed to make the post seem less daunting... maybe more people will read it all.


The following will change when the hack is applied:
  • Dialing *2 after implementing the hack will connect you to VERIZONS activation/customer service line.
  • Ping (Latency) increase
  • Every time you make a phone call the phone will beep twice at the start of the ringing.


Code:
Quick Access Links (PLEASE read the entire post before asking questions)
EPST 2.1 for FroYo Hashkeys
[6/16]*techknowfiles* 00001 PRL :: DOWNLOAD

[6/16] ZIPPED *techknowfiles*00001 PRL :: DOWNLOAD

alternative PRL *techknowfiles* 01337 PRL :: DOWNLOAD
alternative PRL *techknowfiles* 31337 PRL :: DOWNLOAD
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Techknowfile For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Techknowfile Ad-Free
6th June 2010, 06:29 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Hmm... What speedtest were you running? Who's towers did you tap into?
6th June 2010, 06:32 AM |#3  
Techknowfile's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegame3202

Hmm... What speedtest were you running? Who's towers did you tap into?

That's from mobilespeedtest.com, and tapping into alltel's old towers/verizons
6th June 2010, 06:40 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Re: *techknowfile's* - Hack the HTC EVO - 3G w/o Sprint EVDO coverage!
So its should work w any evdo phone not only Evo
6th June 2010, 06:46 AM |#5  
Techknowfile's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
it does (except the steps can be drastically different from phone to phone), but this is what i had done for my palm pre, as well. Consider it my first contribution to the android community. This is my day-1 with the androidOS, so I've got a lot to learn here.
6th June 2010, 06:55 AM |#6  
xxbabiboi228xx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Biloxi Mississippi
Thanks Meter: 185
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techknowfile

it does (except the steps can be drastically different from phone to phone), but this is what i had done for my palm pre, as well. Consider it my first contribution to the android community. This is my day-1 with the androidOS, so I've got a lot to learn here.

So what did you do ? I'm lost here
6th June 2010, 06:55 AM |#7  
magicalan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
i got this




does it mean i dont have "full 3g" O.o
6th June 2010, 07:09 AM |#8  
Tenny's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area, CA
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
So basically you are forcing the phone to roam?
6th June 2010, 07:15 AM |#9  
Techknowfile's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by magicalan

i got this
does it mean i dont have "full 3g" O.o

No, to get an accurate speed run the 1MB test at the bottom, once that is done you will have a 2MB option.

Quote:

So what did you do ? I'm lost here

Working on the tutorial right now (keep getting distracted with the phone) :P soon. meanwhile, lets keep filling up a dev thread with general chat >.< (I don't mind - just don't hate me, mods)
jasecloud4
6th June 2010, 08:20 AM |#10  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ummm...hate to burst any bubbles, but mobilespeedtest.com is horribly innacurate. It tells me I have anything from a 14mb connection one sec to a 300kb connection the next time I run it on every phone I own. Have you tried DSLreports mobile speed test? It's a lot more accurate and would definitely back up what your claiming.

~Jasecloud4
6th June 2010, 08:33 AM |#11  
Techknowfile's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasecloud4

Ummm...hate to burst any bubbles, but mobilespeedtest.com is horribly innacurate. It tells me I have anything from a 14mb connection one sec to a 300kb connection the next time I run it on every phone I own. Have you tried DSLreports mobile speed test? It's a lot more accurate and would definitely back up what your claiming.

~Jasecloud4

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes