FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Re-install mediascape after root.

97 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By shvyue, Member on 28th June 2010, 01:41 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Thanks for the great job done by developers. However, I noticed mediascape was removed after root. Personally I think mediascape is nice but failed to install it from the app folder on sdcard. Searched the whole thread but didn't find a method.

I tried manually copy the mediascape.apk to /data/app, reboot, then mediascape is restored in the application drawer and can be run functionally.

Here is the details.

Connect the X10 to PC using USB debug mode.

Get the adb.exe ready (you can run it from the root step4 folder directly)

0. Copy mediascape.apk to the step4 folder.
1. Start command prompt as administrater.
2. Change to the step4 folder.
3. Run "adb shell mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock2 /system" without quotes.
4. Run "adb shell chmod 777 /data/app" without quotes.
5. Run "adb push mediascape.apk /data/app" no quotes.
6. Run "adb shell reboot" no quotes.


BTW: I have copied all the mediascape related files back to /system/app as well, by running "adb shell chmod 777 /system/app" and using adb push.

Seems it's not ideal as the apk is not installed but added to the X10 directly.
Any better ideas?
 
 
28th June 2010, 02:18 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Try RealPlayer for Android, it's a new app, really good!

w w w.real.com/realplayer/android
28th June 2010, 02:20 AM |#3  
Fuzalert2k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Nah, nothing can beat mediascape.

anyway, how can one get timescape back?
28th June 2010, 02:23 AM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzalert2k

Nah, nothing can beat mediascape.

anyway, how can one get timescape back?

you mean timescape? or mediascape?
28th June 2010, 02:31 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shvyue

Thanks for the great job done by developers. However, I noticed mediascape was removed after root. Personally I think mediascape is nice but failed to install it from the app folder on sdcard. Searched the whole thread but didn't find a method.

I tried manually copy the mediascape.apk to /data/app, reboot, then mediascape is restored in the application drawer and can be run functionally.

Here is the details.

Connect the X10 to PC using USB debug mode.

Get the adb.exe ready (you can run it from the root step4 folder directly)

0. Copy mediascape.apk to the step4 folder.
1. Start command prompt as administrater.
2. Change to the step4 folder.
3. Run "adb shell mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock2 /system" without quotes.
4. Run "adb shell chmod 777 /data/app" without quotes.
5. Run "adb push mediascape.apk /data/app" no quotes.
6. Run "adb shell reboot" no quotes.


BTW: I have copied all the mediascape related files back to /system/app as well, by running "adb shell chmod 777 /system/app" and using adb push.

Seems it's not ideal as the apk is not installed but added to the X10 directly.
Any better ideas?


done this and mediscape still dont apear and cant install it through astro file manager
28th June 2010, 02:37 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Can you see mediascape.apk in the /data/app folder? If yes have you copied 4 mediascape files back to /system/app?

Sent from my SO-01B using Tapatalk
28th June 2010, 02:46 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
hmm I don't seem to have the app folder in my data folder, in my memory card o.O can someone help me out
28th June 2010, 02:52 AM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
The data/app folder is not on your sdcard. Up one level.

Sent from my SO-01B using Tapatalk
28th June 2010, 03:41 AM |#9  
Fuzalert2k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shvyue

you mean timescape? or mediascape?

I mean timescape
28th June 2010, 03:59 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
done this and it works. mediascpae reinstaled in my rooted x10

open dos prompt with administrator privileges, change do step4 folder and do this:

Originally Posted by maxmaniac View Post

Well Root worked for me,

Thanks Guys!!!


Anyway, I was able to get Mediascape to work again using a small script I wrote (looking at those made by our developers).

Here's what i've done:

IMPORTANT: you must have *.apk and *.odex files on your sdcard!!

----------------------------------------------------
@echo off
adb shell mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock2 /system

adb shell dd if=/sdcard/apps/MediascapePluginManager.apk of=/system/app/MediascapePluginManager.apk
adb shell dd if=/sdcard/apps/MediascapePluginManager.odex of=/system/app/MediascapePluginManager.odex
adb shell chmod 644 /system/app/MediascapePluginManager*

adb shell dd if=/sdcard/apps/mediascape.apk of=/system/app/mediascape.apk
adb shell dd if=/sdcard/apps/mediascape.odex of=/system/app/mediascape.odex
adb shell chmod 644 /system/app/mediascape*

adb shell reboot
----------------------------------------------------

I don't know if this will work for all of you, but it worked for me.
Don't really know if this breaks anything in your X10, so use this at your own risk.

Thanks again for rooting this thing!!

André
28th June 2010, 06:07 AM |#11  
_KP's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mangalore
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
hey is der ne way i can get mediascape running on ne othr device than x10??? just asking
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes