FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How to solve the 2.1 "brick" after ota update

133 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By g0mib0y, Senior Member on 30th June 2010, 02:40 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
EDIT: DON'T UPDATE TO 2.1 AGAIN SINCE IT WILL HANG ONE MORE TIME. WAIT FOR HTC TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE!!!!!!

EDIT 2: BACK UPP ALL YOUR DATA FROM YOUR MEMORY CARD FIRST!!!

EDIT 3: How did I find this out? I talked to a very helpful HTC suport rep (yes they do actually exist in Sweden). He helped me do these steps and so I thought I should share this.


Ok so you got a message that 2.1 was available for your Hero - FINELY! and you installed it using OTA. And then you got a triangle with a ! in it and you rebooted and all it says is "HERO".

This is how to solve it!

Take out your memory card. FORMAT TO <span style="font-weight:bold;">FAT32</span>!!!

Download the RUU 2.73.405.5 from HTC support homepage

Run the installation.

When it fails to find your phone <span style="font-weight:bold;">DON'T EXIT!!!</span>

If you are using Windows 7 go in to c:\Users\<span style="font-style:italic;">yourusername</span>\AppData\Local\Temp

Search for ROM.zip

Move to desktop

Rename to HEROIMG.zip

Transfer to your newly formated memory card now with FAT32 file system

Put memory card into phone

Start phone holding volume down pressed.

It will now check zip fil and then ask if you want to install.

homekey for YES

After installing you have 1.5 again and can safely upgrade to 2.1 OTA
 
 
30th June 2010, 03:33 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Maple Ridge (close to Vancouver)
Thanks Meter: 196
 
More
seriously.. that's complex... LoL

and you figured this elaborate method out... how?

I mean, thank you, I'm sure people will find this helpful. It just doesn't seem like the sort of thing you'd just randomly work out yourself. How did you figure it out? if it was by trial and error then my sympathies go to you and how much time you must have spent!

cheers
30th June 2010, 03:35 PM |#3  
ticho's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You should probably add "back up data from your sdcard" as first step, as I can easily imagine some total newbie being surprised that all of his data are suddenly gone.
30th June 2010, 09:14 PM |#4  
g0mib0y's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkelley

seriously.. that's complex... LoL

and you figured this elaborate method out... how?

I mean, thank you, I'm sure people will find this helpful. It just doesn't seem like the sort of thing you'd just randomly work out yourself. How did you figure it out? if it was by trial and error then my sympathies go to you and how much time you must have spent!

cheers

Se my EDIT 3 in first post
2nd July 2010, 08:12 AM |#5  
kalagas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crete
Thanks Meter: 2,265
 
Donate to Me
More
Is this another method to downgrade??? I mean i have made OTA update successfully but now i want to downgrade to root my phone and i tryed everything, even GoldCard method, but nothing happens. When i try to install an older ROM to root it first and then use one of 2.1 allready rooted ROMs from this forum, I get always an error message that can't connect to my phone and also HTC Sync doesn't work...
So i'll try this method to see if i can downgrade my Hero...
2nd July 2010, 09:44 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Flag 2300 S
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Currently trying this out on my Hero "locked/unrooted" by the 2.1 OTA update.
As stated in post 1 - remember to rename the file before copying to SD - if not the device will not find the file.
2nd July 2010, 09:56 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag 2300 S
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Success - back on 1.5
Got a OTA prompt on first boot.
Now going to root and install a pre-rooted 2.1 image
2nd July 2010, 10:04 AM |#8  
kalagas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crete
Thanks Meter: 2,265
 
Donate to Me
More
Ohhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!11
Finally it seems that an employ of HTC Sweden gave as the solution to downgrade our Hero so we can root it....
A question: The ROM.zip which creating when you try to flash RUU_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.5_WWE_release_signed_NoD river.exe is unique for every phone or we can rename it to HEROIMG.zip and upload it somewhere so everybody who made the OTA update to official 2.1 could use it?????
2nd July 2010, 10:30 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag 2300 S
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Flashed a rooted 2.1 - works perfectly
This is the way to go for those that fails to see the warning against installing the 2.1 OTA on a rooted 1.5
2nd July 2010, 10:42 AM |#10  
kalagas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crete
Thanks Meter: 2,265
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2300s

Flashed a rooted 2.1 - works perfectly
This is the way to go for those that fails to see the warning against installing the 2.1 OTA on a rooted 1.5

Which official Rom did you use to create ROM.zip and which 2.1 rooted Rom did you use after???
2nd July 2010, 01:12 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Flag 2300 S
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalagas

Which official Rom did you use to create ROM.zip and which 2.1 rooted Rom did you use after???

To create the ROM.zip i used:
RUU_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.5_WWE_release_signed_NoD river.exe
from:
ttp://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=559622

Current 2.1 ROM is from:
ttp://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=714075

Sorry - not allowed to post links
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes