FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Telus Lite V5.2 [3/7/2011] -- THE Fastest Eclair mod

71 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
By xslntx, Member on 4th July 2010, 12:34 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Many annoyances I've found have been removed, including all unnecessary Motorola apps. The Motorola docks have been replaced with Google's standard ones - I find them more useful.

It's based on a hybrid of SHOLS_U2_02.36.0 for central Europe, and SHOLS_U2_03.11.0 for Telus, with North American frequencies enabled. Uses LauncherPro as the default, and only bundled launcher, includes the Dalvik cache hack, and will overclock the CPU to 1100MHz. To some, this may be excessive, but the Cortex A8 is an extremely capable CPU, which, I've found, has absolutely no trouble running at even 1250MHz while being absolutely stable. At 1100MHz, the device remains cool to the touch, aside from when there's heavy 3G activity - something that occurs even at stock speeds. That said, battery life continues to be as good, if not better, than a stock firmware.

The overclock is automatically adjusted based on the load of the CPU. If you rarely do intensive tasks with your device, it will rarely reach its max clock speed. This helps to ensure cool, reliable operation while being completely unnoticeable by the end-user.

If you would like to change, or disable overclocking, you can do so with GOT's OpenRecovery. It will override the default settings.

JIT is NOT installed. If you'd like JIT, it can be installed via OpenRecovery.

What you can expect from V4:
-Improved battery life
-Considerably snappier performance all-around
-More reliable data connection
-Automatic APN configuration nearly worldwide
-Unbeatable stability (weeks upon weeks of uptime)
-A new theme

V4.1 Update:
-Interactive Governor added (backport by nadlabak)
-Updated Messaging icon
-Uses Google DNS for faster host resolves

V5 Changelog:
-Plenty of performance enhancements
-Updated Market (thanks antonyfl)
-Switched to ADW Launcher
-Other stuff I can't remember.

V5.1 Changelog:
-Updated maps/adw/facebook
-Modified Phone.apk (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=8120125)
-Bugfixes
-Additional scheduler improvements
-Reduced size

V5.2 Changelog:
-Fixed setup page glitch

You'll notice the power menu has an entry labeled "Yearly". It's reboot. I'm too lazy to find the reboot string. Yeah, it looks weird, but it works. If you don't like it, just swap out android.policy.jar with one from an earlier version.




Some screenshots:


Additional images can be found here

A video of the boot/shutdown process:

I'd like to thank Jedipottsy for the base theme design. The post can be found here.



When upgrading from version 3.0 or earlier, or coming from a different "rom" entirely, I very strongly suggest you wipe your device prior to flashing. You don't have to, but you wont receive many of the performance gains without doing so.
Future versions will not necessitate, or recommend, a wipe. Including 4.0 to 4.1.

For those who require 900/1800/2100 frequencies, they can be enabled by applying the update.zip below. Be sure you've already installed the backup before you run the update.zip, however. Further localization, such as keyboard layout, can be accomplished using OpenRecovery.

Big thanks to peterdelara for the mirrors.

The Downloads:
Telus Lite V5.2 Download
Telus Lite V5 Download
Telus Lite V4.1 Download

For Exchange Support:
Exchange Support Patch

For European Frequencies:
European Frequency Update.zip
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to xslntx For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift xslntx Ad-Free
 
 
4th July 2010, 01:23 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Etobicoke
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
so you have this working on the telus milestone? with 3g working?
4th July 2010, 02:32 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
does app2sd work on this???video seems like it runs very fast
4th July 2010, 03:08 AM |#4  
OP Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armani G

so you have this working on the telus milestone? with 3g working?

Correct, I use it on a Telus milestone, and 3G is working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini002

does app2sd work on this???video seems like it runs very fast

It may need some tweaking. I haven't used apps2sd personally, but i'll definitely look into it.
4th July 2010, 03:28 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Etobicoke
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
How do I apply this file?
4th July 2010, 03:58 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hey good work man, jsut curious how your battery life is on this setup and if hspa works as well?
4th July 2010, 12:05 PM |#7  
OP Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armani G

How do I apply this file?

You'll have to flash the vulnerable recovery .sbf if you haven't got it already, and run OpenRecovery, or any other means of applying a nandroid backup. OpenRecovery is menu-based, so it's probably the easiest method.

Simply extract the .7z file, and place it in /sdcard/nandroid/openrecovery/

Quote:
Originally Posted by SplitSnake

hey good work man, jsut curious how your battery life is on this setup and if hspa works as well?

I've found battery life to be as good as when I bought it, if not better, and HSPA is working.
5th July 2010, 02:57 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Etobicoke
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Im on your backup right now and i must say whatever you did to it is amazing... this phone is running so fast its crazy! Looking forward to more updates...

Sent from my Milestone using XDA App
5th July 2010, 07:03 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
can someone tell me if app2sd works
6th July 2010, 08:36 AM |#10  
vagelisda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag athens
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Is there a chance,that you lowered the cpu speed?at about 720 or 800 or something?
I know its been said that the processor can handle it,but i just dont feel so good doing it,you must be a risky dude to do it


I think app2sd,creates more problems than it solves...
I hear all the time about weird things it does...
Sent from my Milestone using Tapatalk
6th July 2010, 10:17 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I had installed MilestoneOverlock and SetCpu. You just need to set frequency as you want, and voltage on procesor, because i think default max voltage in this rom is too high- on 1000MHz i have 60vsel and it works fine.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes