FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

CM6 and apps2ext (not froyo's apps2sd,fat32)

1,172 posts
Thanks Meter: 81
 
By robuser007, Senior Member on 11th July 2010, 09:25 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
update (FIRERAT's implentation): http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/2...386#entry24386
 
 
11th July 2010, 09:28 AM |#2  
motoman234's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Tulsa, Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 566
 
More
Ive seen this method around. And i was wondering....would it be possible to bypass the ADB steps for someone like me that doesnt have ADB access?
11th July 2010, 09:38 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoman234

Ive seen this method around. And i was wondering....would it be possible to bypass the ADB steps for someone like me that doesnt have ADB access?

It's actually very easy:
Install Droid explorer (xda)
C:\Program Files\Droid Explorer\SDK\tools (Run... cmd)
11th July 2010, 09:58 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I am trying this now...I will post back after installing some apps


EDIT= This is great and works a trea ...thanks dude
11th July 2010, 10:04 AM |#5  
motoman234's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Tulsa, Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 566
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robuser007

It's actually very easy:
Install Droid explorer (xda)
C:\Program Files\Droid Explorer\SDK\tools (Run... cmd)

Well thats my problem, my computer is super old and messed up. I cant get administrator access to downloads the proper files for adb. All i can do is download zip files to transfer for my phone lol.
11th July 2010, 11:57 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoman234

Well thats my problem, my computer is super old and messed up. I cant get administrator access to downloads the proper files for adb. All i can do is download zip files to transfer for my phone lol.

Juts make another account and make it Admin. Then use the new account.
If your windows is that bad then I would either use a backup(if you did one) or a fresh install.
11th July 2010, 12:05 PM |#7  
motoman234's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Tulsa, Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 566
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deuse

Juts make another account and make it Admin. Then use the new account.
If your windows is that bad then I would either use a backup(if you did one) or a fresh install.

Well to create a new account i would have to have admin access. Like a year or so ago this computer was givin to me for that reason lol. Theres a admin account on my computer but i cant get into it. Never could I wish there was a work around. Ive been messing with android for a long time and not once i have EVER used ADB lol. I would love to, theres so much stuff that i cant do because of this terrible computer.
11th July 2010, 12:44 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoman234

Well to create a new account i would have to have admin access. Like a year or so ago this computer was givin to me for that reason lol. Theres a admin account on my computer but i cant get into it. Never could I wish there was a work around. Ive been messing with android for a long time and not once i have EVER used ADB lol. I would love to, theres so much stuff that i cant do because of this terrible computer.

Find yourself a copy of BartPE with Password Renew in it.

Burn, boot, use password renew to reset the password for any account.
11th July 2010, 01:36 PM |#9  
sturmeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I'm trying this, except when I get to "adb shell a2sd install" it says a2sd: not found.

:\

I had to go to /system/bin before i could run a2sd via ./a2sd, after which it worked.
11th July 2010, 01:37 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
What's the benefit of this over Froyo's SD implementation?
11th July 2010, 02:37 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepwalkers

What's the benefit of this over Froyo's SD implementation?


it allows you to use the ext partition from previous versions of CM. Froyo's version now uses a fat32 partition on the sd card, therefore will not read the ext partition and the fact that your apps are on there.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes