FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

IP address release and renew?

24 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By blastroid, Junior Member on 29th July 2010, 06:39 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
great forum - hope this is the right place to ask this question

New to android and smart phones but doing it up with my new Nexus One on stock froyo ROM.

My work network has some issues including erroneous DHCP addresses being dished up in the wrong 192.168... range (old office infrastructure fix for the problem is someone else's gig).

I want to do a /release /renew on my Nexus One to pick up a legit ip address (on our windoze machines we just do the ipconfig /release /renew).

Is there an equivalent for this phone and Android? I have searched around and picked up a couple of network stat apps but they don't have the release/renew. Sure I can keep rebooting or killing WiFi and reconnecting but would like to know if there is a better way.

thanks!
 
 
30th July 2010, 02:57 AM |#2  
GldRush98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Taylorville, IL.
Thanks Meter: 339
 
More
Instead of trying to band-aid a problem, you should just fix the existing DHCP issue.
Seriously, DHCP is one of the simplest protocols to set up. Take 10 minutes, track down the range issue, correct it, and never worry about it again.
30th July 2010, 12:49 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 974
 
More
If I understand it correctly, you're looking for "netcfg eth0 dhcp" command, or possibly:
"netcfg eth0 down"
"netcfg eth0 up"
"netcfg eth0 dhcp"
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jack_R1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Jack_R1 Ad-Free
4th January 2012, 08:18 AM |#4  
Member
Flag Elon, NC
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack_R1

If I understand it correctly, you're looking for "netcfg eth0 dhcp" command, or possibly:
"netcfg eth0 down"
"netcfg eth0 up"
"netcfg eth0 dhcp"

Jack, I tried those commands, and on the last one I got this:

action 'dhcp' failed (No such process)

Also, if I just run netcfg between down and up, it seems like eth0 is never disabling properly. I am in superuser mode.

Any hints?
18th July 2015, 05:35 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
try netcfg alone
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andresehn

Jack, I tried those commands, and on the last one I got this:

action 'dhcp' failed (No such process)

Also, if I just run netcfg between down and up, it seems like eth0 is never disabling properly. I am in superuser mode.

Any hints?

I just ran 'netcfg' alone and it turns out it's wlan0 instead of eth0.
10th August 2015, 03:18 PM |#6  
mickrick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
To do a DHCP release and renew:

Fire up terminal emulator and type:
su
dhcpcd -k wlan0
dhcpcd -n wlan0
Turn wifi off/on and you'll get a new dhcp ip address rather than just a refresh on the existing one.
The Following User Says Thank You to mickrick For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mickrick Ad-Free
31st July 2016, 01:12 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickrick

To do a DHCP release and renew:

Fire up terminal emulator and type:
su
dhcpcd -k wlan0
dhcpcd -n wlan0
Turn wifi off/on and you'll get a new dhcp ip address rather than just a refresh on the existing one.

If it's a different interface, say eth1, you might need to run 'dhcpcd eth1' first. You can verify the DHCP configuration via 'getprop | grep dhcp'.
5th October 2018, 05:25 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm trying to use a site on my LG stilo 3. The site keeps redirecting me an is saying Im using a proxy IP or VPN an I don't even know really what they are let alone how to use them. How do I set it so my IP doesn't hide when I try to use said site??? Please help!! Thank you
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes