FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Moving ANY app to SD on FroYo (or how to Enable all grayed out 'Move to SD' buttons)'

146 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By well0549, Senior Member on 2nd August 2010, 11:35 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Well after reading the forums I found a lot op people complained about not beeing able to push an app to the SD card. And you don't have to root your phone for it. it will give you access to the 'Move to SD' button regardless if the programmer adapted his program for 2.2 yet.

With ADB you can do so very easy !, and there is no root required.

Perform the following steps :
1. Install HTC Sync (see : http://www.htc.com/ (select your device, download, and install ))
2. Install Android developers kit. (See http://htcevohacks.com/htc-evo-hacks...or-htc-evo-4g/ for a detailed how to.)

Start ADB.

Use : adb shell pm setInstallLocation [option]

Where option is one of:

0 [auto] Let the system decide.
1 [internal only]
2 [external]

And you are ready to go.

Maybe you should have a read of the official documentation from google : http://developer.android.com/guide/a...-location.html
to understand what you are doing. And what you should not do (Like moving apps that run as a service to the SD card....)

I did this on my Phone and went to the settings and moved every app to SD. On this moment I have 70 MB free where previously i would have the ugly notification saying I needed to free up space. So this trick really seems to work.

Not everything is moved to the SD card, but about 50% to 70% of an app can be moved. The only app that left a substantial footprint on the device is Navigon. This one dropped from 20 MB to about 18 MB.

Everything is still functional and i have not noticed any negative effects so far.....
The Following User Says Thank You to well0549 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift well0549 Ad-Free
2nd August 2010, 01:06 PM |#2  
well0549's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Voorschoten
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Reserved for future use
2nd August 2010, 01:17 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Ealing
Thanks Meter: 386
 
More
Just an FYI, but it does appear that there are still some apps that can't be moved to SD card using this method.

Skies of Glory is one that I've found that doesn't give you the option to install to sd, regardless of what you've set the install location to be.

Regards,

Dave
2nd August 2010, 01:18 PM |#4  
jedininja666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ChavCentral (Sutton)
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
So can you confirm what option you chose? Did you choose option 2? If so, does this set the default, so any new app you install automatically goes to the SD card?
2nd August 2010, 01:21 PM |#5  
well0549's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Voorschoten
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedininja666

So can you confirm what option you chose? Did you choose option 2? If so, does this set the default, so any new app you install automatically goes to the SD card?

yes I put it to 2.

This will do two things....

1. This will give you the abillity to move ANY application to SD. Not completely, but for a big part. (some files remain in phone rom).

2. Any NEW app you install will automatically install on SD.

For sure there are exceptions, and for sure there will be apps that cannot be moved. But it freed up about 80 MB on my phone, so now i have room for more apps.
2nd August 2010, 01:23 PM |#6  
jedininja666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ChavCentral (Sutton)
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Fantastic! Exactly what I was looking for, thanks!
2nd August 2010, 01:28 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I'll try this with Google Earth tonight. Thank you.
2nd August 2010, 01:34 PM |#8  
Norsehawk's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I talked to HTC today about this and they said if I do that what u told here that the 2 year-guarantee will be screwed. So thx but no thx! They also said that in future, when other app-makers will make an new app, it will be the only way to make them via FroYo and then all new ones will be able to move to SD-card. So have patiance before U screw up the guarantee.
2nd August 2010, 01:38 PM |#9  
dexteral's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
ill try it out tonite

hey is there any list of apps and games available online which would tell me the list of apps which support sd card save option.

i tried searching the market for "sd" "froyo" yet i dont think this shows the complete list
2nd August 2010, 01:39 PM |#10  
well0549's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Voorschoten
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by /rant/

I'll try this with Google Earth tonight. Thank you.

If you mean google maps, sorry cannot be done, this is part of OS and cannot be moved.

however :
Google sky map drops from 1.78 MB to 320 KB
Layar drops from 2.76 to 1.06
Systempanel drops from 1.07 MB to 556 KB
etc
2nd August 2010, 01:46 PM |#11  
well0549's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Voorschoten
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norsehawk

I talked to HTC today about this and they said if I do that what u told here that the 2 year-guarantee will be screwed. So thx but no thx! They also said that in future, when other app-makers will make an new app, it will be the only way to make them via FroYo and then all new ones will be able to move to SD-card. So have patiance before U screw up the guarantee.

Well i don't know who you talked to at HTC, but there is nothig illegal and it is IMPOSSIBLE to break your phone with this.

It could only void warranty if HTC could prove it was not their fault.

Since this is just a system setting invented by google and exposed by google, and documented by google, made possible thanks to HTC's own sync program, it seems very unlikely that HTC can revoke their warranty.

Before they can do such a thing they have to prove that what you did broke the phone. I doubt that they can EVER make it stick.

They also said that rooting would void warranty. But that's no longer the case either !. rooting is legal !.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes