FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROM]Cognition v2.3b8

5,398 posts
Thanks Meter: 8,976
 
By designgears, Inactive Recognized Developer on 19th September 2010, 05:38 AM
Thread Closed Email Thread


Cognition Rom FAQ's
Check it out here!

Come chat with us!

Get Cognition Here

If you like this, buy me a beer!!

The Following 77 Users Say Thank You to designgears For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift designgears Ad-Free
 
 
19th September 2010, 05:38 AM |#2  
designgears's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag SLC
Thanks Meter: 8,976
 
Donate to Me
More
for OP.... OUT
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to designgears For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift designgears Ad-Free
19th September 2010, 05:47 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Cognition Captivate ROMs - Tips & Tricks

Lets get started !!!!

The items in this post are not my work, I am just collecting them and posting here. They are also dangerous and may brick your phone. Please use at your own risk. No warrenties
Please donate to appropriate talented individuals who do this wonderful work


Installation

Install Using Clockwork Recovery
Caution: If you are running Cognition 6.X or below you must install using ODIN.
  • If you are not already rooted, root with the tools here. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=739304
  • Go to the xda thread located here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=786532. Download the latest version of the ROM. Move it to your internal SD card on your phone. DO NOT RENAME THE FILE.
  • Download ROM Manager (available in the market, more info here) and choose "Flash Clockwork Mod" which will put an update.zip (holding clockwork recovery) on the root of your internal SD card.
  • Open Rom Manager, choose "Install ROM from SD Card", navigate to your Cognition2.x.zip, and check “Wipe Data”. Watch the magic happen!
  • Note: if this is your first time installing clockwork, it may fail at stock recovery and reboot. Simply choose "reinstall packages" once more, and it should work properly.

Install Using ODIN
Caution: Use this method only for ODIN FLASHABLE DOWNLOAD! Download link will say “Download Cognition v2.2 BETA X.X.X ODIN”. This .zip contains everything you need to flash a ROM using ODIN. It includes:
• Odin.exe
• PIT.pit
• PDA.tar
• PHONE.tar
• CSC.tar
1. Put your phone into Download Mode (See below for Instructions)
2. Set-up ODIN with the appropriate files and click Start. (One-click versions just click Start). Note: Not all files listed above will be included.
3. Watch the magic.

How TO's

HOW TO: Put your phone in Download Mode
  • Make sure you phone is powered off, unplugged and charged. Remove SIM, External SD and Battery
  • Right Click ODIN Exe and click “Run as administrator”
  • Click Vol Up/Vol Down at the same time and insert USB into phone (other end must be plugged into the PC).
  • Note: This is extremely important: your phone screen should display a large yellow triangular icon with a shovel wielding droid in it. The text "Downloading... Do not turn off Target!!!!" appears below the icon. If you do not see this screen, you are likely in Recovery Mode.

HOW TO: Flash To JF6 Stock
Where are archived ROMS?
Lock Screen Mods, Battery Indicators
HOW TO: Reconfigure Battery Stats
When you flash a new ROM it may be necessary to reconfigure your battery stats.
Signs you may need to re configure:
1. . Using more then 10% battery in an hour or less
2. . While plugged into the charger you lock screen shows a different percentage charge then the battery icon
3. . After a full charge your battery icon only shows 99% and quickly drains.
4. . Any general weird battery activity
Step by step battery reconfigure process: (This is the process that has worked for me time and time again with ROM after ROM)
1. . Flash the Rom on a full battery. (skip to step 6)
2. . If you flashed on less then full plug into AC charger asap and charge to full while the phone is powered on
3. . Once the phone blinks full 2.1-battfull popup shows 2.2-battery sign shows on left of notification bar power off
4. . Charge till full while powered off. the phone will vibrate and the green battery will show 100% in white text
5. . Unplug phone and power on.
6. . Using Root Explorer or a comparable program navigate to (Mount R/W first): data>system> and delete file batterystats.bin
7. . Reboot
8. . While the phone reboots it will rebuild that file and the software and phone should now match.
9. . If any of the symptoms persist start at step 2 and repeat.
10. . As with any rechargeable battery fully discharging the battery once in a while isn't a bad idea

HOW TO: BATTERY Calibrate
1. Connect the phone to the charger with the phone powered on, and allow the phone to charge until it shows 100%
2. Disconnect the phone from the charger, and power it off.
3. Reconnect the phone to the charger with the phone powered off, and allow the phone to charge until the battery indicator shows 100% (you can use vol-up/vol-down to make the indicator come back up when the screen goes to sleep).
4. Disconnect the phone from the charger and power it on.
5. Once the phone is powered completely on, power it off again and reconnect it to the charger until the battery indicator shows 100%.
6. Disconnect the phone, power it on, and use it.
You should only need to use this sequence one time.

HOW TO: Enable/disable Voodoo
  • To Disable: Create a folder in /sdcard/Voodoo named "disable-lagfix" (without the quotes; capitalization is important). To Enable just remove this folder
  • Now reboot the phone.

Tips & Tricks/Missing Apps/Walpapers & Other Stuff

(11/16/2010) Con 2.3bv4: HOW TO: Install Missing Wallpapers & Keyboard
Live Wallpapers & SOme keyboards were removed from this ROM. Here is how to get them. Credit pinoymutt
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=9095

(11/17/2010) Android Keyboard
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...41&postcount=2

(11/18/2010)MMS Fix
Credit: mmoorman12
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=4081

(11/18/2010)Some Google goodies for Froyo (Desk Clock, Genie Widget, Car Home, Music)
Might or not be compatible with all ROMS - Please try at your own risk
Credit: frauhottelmann http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=817092

(11/18/2010)androidIMATIONS | Custom Boot Animations for Android
Might or not be compatible with all ROMS - Please try at your own risk
Credit: cmbrougham http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=822955

(11/22/2010) 2.3b6 if you cannot get signal after flashing flash jj4 modem
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ighlight=modem

Credits:
Cognition Wiki
Many Many posts in XDA Captivate section
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to cnewsgrp For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cnewsgrp Ad-Free
19th September 2010, 06:05 AM |#4  
malfuncion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norman, OK
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Other Stuff from Quoted from Cog Thread

GPS Settings:
To get to LbsTestMode: *#*#3214789650#*#* from your dialer
Originally Posted by cnewsgrp 1. Disable “Use Wireless Networks”
1. Navigate to Settings > Location & Security > uncheck the box next to “Use Wireless Networks”
2. Go to the phone and dial *#3214789650#
1. This step throws you into LBSTestMode menu
3. In the LBSTestMode menu change “Operation Mode” to MS Based
4. In the LBSTestMode menu, find “SUPL/CP Settings” and change the SERVER & PORT to supl.google.com and port 7276 (DO NOT use www. in front of supl)
5. REBOOT
6. Enable “Use Wireless Networks”
* Navigate to Settings > Location & Security > check the box next to “Use Wireless Networks”

Update: When using MS based, tracking is terrible, the gps often misses the fact that i have turned and thinks i am continuing forward.
Using standalone is a bit better, but still has times where it misses the fact that i have turned

Should you want to revert back to your original GPS settings, you’ll need to re-enter you factory specs:

Original settings:
Operation Mode: Standalone
SERVER: www.spirent-lcs.com
PORT: 7275
MMS Settings:
Name: AT&T
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: leave blank
Port: leave blank
Username:[email protected]
Password:CINGULAR1
Server: leave blank
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
MMS Port: 80
MCC:310
MNC:410
APN Type: leave blank
Email fix if you have that "issue"
APK Download Here
adb pull /system/app/Email.apk
adb pull /system/app/Email.odex
adb push ./Email.apk /sdcard/
adb shell
su (at this point tell superuser to allow permissions if prompted)
rm /system/app/Email.apk
rm /system/app/Email.odex
cp /sdcard/Email.apk /system/app/Email.apk
chown root.root /system/app/Email.apk
chmod 644 /system/app/Email.apk
exit
exit
adb reboot
Cisco VPN Issue Fix:
VPN Links:
http://code.google.com/p/get-a-robot...9.apk&can=2&q=

http://code.google.com/p/get-a-robot...un.ko&can=2&q=


Simply follow these steps. ALL CREDIT GOES TO SUKKUBUS06 from another topic here on XDA. I modified a few steps that I think help the clarity of the instructions.

* Download the correct tun.ko for Android 2.2 here (it says Nexus One but works perfect with my Cognition ROM on Captivate): http://code.google.com/p/get-a-robot...un.ko&can=2&q=

Copy the tun.ko file to the ROOT of your internal SD Card.

Un-install any OpenVPN Settings, OpenVPN Installer, or OpenVPNC applications if they are installed. Perform these steps from scratch...TRUST ME.

You must have the Busy Box installer downloaded and install Busy Box. This app is availabe in the app store. use 1.17.

For the next step you must have the android SDK files on your computer. Open a command prompt, change directories to the C:\android-sdk-windows\tools directory then start the code commands.

Code:


adb shell

su(ALLOW ACCESS ON YOUR PHONE WHEN SUPER USER PROMPTS YOU)
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl6 /system
cp /sdcard/tun.ko /system/xbin/

* create symlinks for busybox route and ifconfig (required by openvpn)
Code:

cd /system/xbin
mkdir bb
cd bb
ln -s ../busybox ./ifconfig
ln -s ../busybox ./route

* create directory for openvpn config files
Code:

mkdir /sdcard/openvpn

* create symlink for cp (unix command for copy). otherwise the install-script of the OpenVPNInstaller (see below) will fail!!!
Code:

ln -s /system/xbin/busybox /system/xbin/cp

* download OpenVPNInstaller from Android Market
run and configure OpenVPNInstaller
specify directories: busybox is in /system/xbin, ifconfig and route are in /system/xbin/bb

* copy vpn-config files (config, certs, key) to /sdcard/openvpn (i.e. via adb push or mounting the phone as a mass-storage unit)

* download OpenVPN Settings from Android Market
run and configure OpenVPN Settings

activate "load tun kernel module"
Tun module settings:
- Load module using insmod (instead of modprobe!!)
- Path to tun module: /system/xbin/tun.ko

Path to configurations:
/sdcard/openvpn

Path to openvpn binary
/system/xbin/openvpn

Now install the latest VPNC found here: http://code.google.com/p/get-a-robot...9.apk&can=2&q=

I rebooted my device at this point. I set up my connection in VPNC and it worked perfectly. Oddly enough when performing a lsmod command in the terminal, I see NO tun.ko module running but hey who cares! It works!

GOOD LUCK!

How to edit notification bar/battery mods/transparent drawer:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=812541



The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to malfuncion For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift malfuncion Ad-Free
20th September 2010, 05:53 AM |#5  
Demented71's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

YEP

but if you already had everything setup the way you wanted....

With TiBu it really doesn't take too long to get back there,
20th September 2010, 05:54 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sorry if this is a dumb question but what is hsupa?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
20th September 2010, 05:54 AM |#7  
TheTodFather's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Yeah i got HSUPA but i had to do the harder way. That going to be a real treat for everybody.

Now we just need a kernal that can do it all, then there will be roms coming out everyone's ass we wont be able to keep up
20th September 2010, 05:55 AM |#8  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,855
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodFather

Yeah i got HSUPA but i had to do the harder way. That going to be a real treat for everybody.

Now we just need a kernal that can do it all, then there will be roms coming out everyone's ass we wont be able to keep up

this for sure
20th September 2010, 05:57 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
does the ugjh2 modem go into the pda spot in odin?? Never flashed just the modem
20th September 2010, 05:57 AM |#10  
AllTheWay's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Folsom, California
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauriciorubio

Sorry if this is a dumb question but what is hsupa?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App

http://www.google.com/#hl=en&expIds=...e331493393b8ab
20th September 2010, 05:59 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Simi Valley
Thanks Meter: 38
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddy17

does the ugjh2 modem go into the pda spot in odin?? Never flashed just the modem

nope, Phone slot. Kernel goes in PDA
The Following User Says Thank You to DOAlaboratories For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DOAlaboratories Ad-Free
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
best captivate rom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes