FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[TOOL]Radio Switcher v."GUI 4.1" More secure than ever! [Win/Linux/Mac]

1,284 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By eyegor, Senior Member on 6th May 2010, 09:52 PM
Thread Closed Email Thread
Hi everyone, this is a tool for easier switching of the radio, spl and recovery of a 32A Magic. Now written in Java!

Requirements:
Fully charged phone!
Engineering SPL! Get one here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...oot+collection

NOTE: If the program says that you DO NOT have root it means that you DO NOT have an Engineering SPL! (S-OFF)

Now a powerful program with a GUI that has several options.
The program allows you to flash the provided files, or select custom ones!
You may also erase the system, data and cache partitions, on demand or as part of the flashing process.
You may now watch the progress on your mobile and on the PC!
NEW! Able to erase partitions AND restore nandroid backups!

N.B! DO NOT RENAME OR TOUCH ANY FILES THAT YOU RECEIVE WITH THE PACKAGE! There is no need for you to mess with it because there are options for flashing CUSTOM files. (the ones you select)

HOW-TO:
1. Extract RadioSwitchGUI_v4.rar anywhere you like, but do not touch anything inside its folder.
2. Boot your phone into fastboot.
3. Connect it to your PC via USB.
Windows:
4. Run RadioSwitcherAPP.jar or WinRun.bat and select one of the options.
5. Enjoy the app.
Linux:
N.B Don't double click on the jar file. It will not load the folder options correct! Use the provided LinuxRun.sh!!!
4. Right click on LinuxRun.sh and choose "Properties".
5. Click on the "Permissions" tab.
6. Click on "Allow executing file as program" and enable it. If it is allready enabled then leave it!
7. Click "Close".8.Double click on LinuxRun.sh and choose "Run".
8. Enjoy the app.


Warning! The procedure involves RISK, by downloading the files you agree that YOU are to be held responsible in case of any damage.

WITH THE PROVIDED FILES IT CAN ONLY BE USED FOR THE OLD 32A MAGIC (W/O 3.5MM JACK)!!!
You can use custom files to use it for flashing ANY device though!



THIS PROGRAM WILL (by default) ERASE YOUR SYSTEM AND DATA PARTITIONS!
This program will NOT create a nandroid backup that you can revert to later, so do it manually.


I hope someone will find it usefull!

Enjoy!


I wish to thank
KOZE for testing the Mac version and providing the mac version of the fastboot program!
BIG thanks to mumilover who wrote the wonderful Java version!
Amon_RA for the recovery images.
CursorDroid for everything he has done and for hosting!
:No-Frost: for the idea and code improvements and the Spanish translation!!!
tomme45i for translating it into Polish!
Bcrook for making the (legacy) linux version!
capychimp for translating it into danish!
fabioccoelho for translating it into Portuguese (BR)!

VERSION "GUI v4" is out! The most secure version yet! (thanks mumilover!)
Full version: NOTE: Due to slight changes version number did not change. (thread version is 4.1, the program says 4.0)
DropBox

Lite version (only for those who used the previous versions!):
RapidShare
Direct download
N.B To use the lite version simply copy the contents of the .rar file above into your existing RadioSwitcher folder!

Older versions:
1. v."GUI":
RapidShare
Direct download
2. v."GUI 3.5":
RapidShare
Direct download

Legacy version:
English: http://www.theandroidkitchen.com/eye...tcher+v2.1.rar
md5: http://www.theandroidkitchen.com/eye....1+english.md5
LINUX: http://www.theandroidkitchen.com/eye...cher+linux.zip
N.B: PLEASE DOWNLOAD THE CORRESPONDING .MD5 FILE AND CHECK FOR CORRUPTION BEFORE PROCEEDING (Win only, linux has it integrated)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Radio Switcher.jpg
Views:	3075
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	409514  
 
 
7th May 2010, 01:19 AM |#2  
Member
Flag Moncton, NB
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Great idea
Awesome idea, I like it, just a little concerning for noobs if a file is renamed as NEW instead of OLD it could cause a brick and vise versa

For those using this please follow the instructions provided carefully, and rename the correct readio/SPL to the correct names, Yes I know sounds simple enough.

Awesome work, might give it a try to revert to old radio to try the latest cyanogenmod ROM

and just wanted to suggest to include the Radio/SPL file combo's in the download to create a full package and simplify things even further.
7th May 2010, 08:43 AM |#3  
eyegor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Novi Sad
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
I did include them all in the download link (I've made it more clear in the OP) The reason why i also provided just the batch file is cause some people might prefer using their own radio/spl/recovery combo

BTW, the new Cyanogen is simply amazing. It is as fast as 1.6/1.5! I'm currently running it...
7th May 2010, 11:13 AM |#4  
Member
Flag Argenta
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Very useful but it returns me an error:

"CHOICE: invalid choice switch syntax. Expected form: /C[:] choices"

and then asks for installing the NEW radio

What's wrong ?
7th May 2010, 11:18 AM |#5  
eyegor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Novi Sad
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Did you press either 1 or 2 and NOTHING else?
I've tested it again, if i press any other number the computer beeps. You can only select 1 or 2.
The options work fine for me.

/c[:] "choice" sets from which values you can choose. in this case its 1 or 2
7th May 2010, 02:16 PM |#6  
Member
Flag Argenta
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
It just start with the error as soon as i run it, no menu and no way to choose between the two option even pushing 1 (or 2) while starting the batch.

I guess you have Vista/7; it must be something wrong with XP, I will let you know....
7th May 2010, 02:22 PM |#7  
eyegor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Novi Sad
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
yes, i wrote it under win7...but it has to be compatible.
try downloading it again...
ill make a version in xp later today if you cant get it to work :)
7th May 2010, 02:42 PM |#8  
Member
Flag Argenta
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I've tested it on other machines running XP with the same result, and works as it should on the only PC running Vista I have at the office.
ah ah, it's kind of amazing, it's the first time Vista does something better than XP ;)
I think it depends on the different choice files in the two system (choice.com in XP - choice.exe in Vista)
Don't worry about me, I will revert to old radio step by step (I'm just courious to try the new Cyanogen 5 since the Hero update to 2.1 is still late)
Anyway, it will be a very useful tool for many people, so I hope you to succeed in get it working in XP too (of course if other people has the same errors in XP).
Thank you eyegor

SOLVED

choice.com (XP) and choice.exe (Vista) have different syntax (poor MS customers). I've made some testing and found:

Vista (as in your batch): CHOICE /N /C 12 /M "Press "1" for the OLD radio, or "2" for the NEW radio"

to get it working in XP must be translated to:

CHOICE /N /C12 "Press 1 for the OLD radio, or 2 for the NEW radio"

and, yes, this is sooo stupid IMHO ......... blame MS once again
7th May 2010, 03:21 PM |#9  
eyegor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Novi Sad
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Ill provide an xp version later today...or tomorrow if i dont succeed today..:)

Sent from my HTC Magic using the XDA mobile application powered by Tapatalk
7th May 2010, 07:31 PM |#10  
eyegor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Novi Sad
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Support for Windows XP added!
XP users please download the attached XP version!

Enjoy!
7th May 2010, 07:52 PM |#11  
ONX's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Prahova / Zaragoza
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks but...



"Please enter 1 for the OLD radio or 2 for the NEW radio."
2

This will flash the NEW radio!!! (HTC Magic 6.35.xx.xx)
Press any key to continue . . .
'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
All done!
Press any key to continue . . .
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes