FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Droid X 2.2 Overclock is here

1,281 posts
Thanks Meter: 198
 
By LexusBrian400, Senior Member on 19th October 2010, 03:57 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Thanks to FREEWELL - THIS IS HIS WRITEUP AND ALL CREDIT GOES TO HIM!!!

Milestone Overclock Module 1.2t (nadlabak's patch) w/ Memory Locations for DroidX 2.2 Added by FreeWELL

Credits:
Tiago Sousa aka Mirage: for The Milestone Overclock Project
nadlabak: for patching in Froyo/2.2 Support
FreeWELL: for finding DroidX 2.2 memory locations/module compilation

Notes:

I'm trying to keep this as close as possible to the way it was done on 2.1. For me, 2.2 seems to need a little more voltage to be stable than it was under 2.1. I've included two versions of setscaling.sh to start from.

setscaling.sh is set to stock voltages/clock speed

setscaling100.sh is set to stock voltages w/100mhz bump accross the board to 400/700/900/1100 (This appears to be stable for me, and is the baseline for my testing/tuning)



Install Instructions

adb/terminal:
$ su
# cd /sdcard/extracted/droidx_22_oc (or wherever you extracted the files to)
# mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mcblk1p21 /system
# cp overclock.ko /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
# cp setscaling.sh /system/xbin/setscaling.sh
# chmod 644 /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
# chmod 755 /system/xbin/setscaling.sh

<optional(only do after thoroughly testing what works for your DroidX in setscaling.sh)>
# cp install-recovery.sh /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
# chmod 755 /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
</optional>

# mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mcblk1p21 /system


Run Instructions

adb/terminal:

$ su
# insmod /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
# setscaling.sh


HEAD ON OVER HERE FOR THE OG THREAD AND FILES YOU NEED

FREEWELL'S OVERCLOCK POST
 
 
19th October 2010, 05:01 AM |#2  
ericFuels999's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Awesome! I'm going to give this a go right now.
19th October 2010, 06:32 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Is overlooking the DX worth it? I heard a while back it wasn't. Hopefully I heard wrong.
19th October 2010, 06:40 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I actually underclocked my DX. I can't keep up with the speed. running fission 1.0

Sent from my DROIDX using XDA App
19th October 2010, 06:59 AM |#5  
ericFuels999's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yeah, I don't care about overclocking - I care about undervolting. For some reason my phone seems more responsive after undervolting on this kernel, too. Could be psychological, but I really feel like it's snappier.
19th October 2010, 07:33 AM |#6  
jaskru's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
This is so freaking awesome.
19th October 2010, 07:40 AM |#7  
LexusBrian400's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zehkaiser

Is overlooking the DX worth it? I heard a while back it wasn't. Hopefully I heard wrong.

Its always worth it. The benchmarks dont lie. 16.7 Linpack and 1600 quadrant. That is @ 1.19 Ghz and 64 vsel.

BTW, you can notice quite a difference during CPU intensive actions, such as restoring/backing up apps via Titanium Backup. It flew through that.
19th October 2010, 05:46 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexusBrian400

Its always worth it. The benchmarks dont lie. 16.7 Linpack and 1600 quadrant. That is @ 1.19 Ghz and 64 vsel.

BTW, you can notice quite a difference during CPU intensive actions, such as restoring/backing up apps via Titanium Backup. It flew through that.

can you post your setscaling.sh file for the 1.19?? I havent figured out how to edit those files to mean anything yet
19th October 2010, 08:08 PM |#9  
LexusBrian400's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
More
My setscaling for 1.19Ghz - http://db.tt/bGtpboI
19th October 2010, 08:21 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Mine for 1.15Ghz / 60 vsel - http://db.tt/Zpl0Y97
19th October 2010, 08:42 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
For some reason I can't get above like 1.15GHz. 1.15 works fine but 1.2, 1.3, and 1.4 all go to turtle mode. Ugh.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes