FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] AT&T will not give me an unlock code for the Focus

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By panman91, Junior Member on 9th November 2010, 05:04 PM
Thread Closed Email Thread
I have been a customer with AT&T for well over a year.
Why will they not give me an unlock code for this phone.
Does anyone know of any reputable online unlock sources to use that might have the Focus as a unlockable phone?

Also would calling Samsung directly get me any further?
 
 
9th November 2010, 05:14 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 258
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by panman91

I have been a customer with AT&T for well over a year.
Why will they not give me an unlock code for this phone.
Does anyone know of any reputable online unlock sources to use that might have the Focus as a unlockable phone?

Also would calling Samsung directly get me any further?


Unlocking is totally up to AT&T. Samsung won't help you on that. Whether or not online vendors can help is up to specific vendor. I know Samsung Captivate can't be unlocked by any 3rd party vendor and AT&T claimed 10-month exclusivity and refuse to give out any unlock code. Looks like Focus will be the same.

Just to be sure, you have a post paid account with AT&T and paid all your bills on time, right? That were the only criteria in the past determine whether or not AT&T will give you the unlock code for a phone. Now Captivate is the first phone that didn't follow that policy (iPhone is the exception).
9th November 2010, 05:26 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes post-paid account and paid all my bills on time. They better not screw me on this. I mean its a world phone and I'm gonna be traveling out of the country. It's not like I'm gonna cancel my service with them. And even if I did they would still charge for early termination fees.
9th November 2010, 06:27 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 258
 
More
Did they give you any reason why?

You can still use it as world phone. Just have to pay AT&T $$$
9th November 2010, 06:52 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Exclusivity to the carrier, the usual BS and the 10 month wait thing.
9th November 2010, 08:08 PM |#6  
Member
Flag La Ribera
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Can we get this unlock codes outside of at&t? or probably something like HSPL or something with that sort of access to the focus?
10th November 2010, 01:04 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quick update on the unlock fiasco....
I called Samsung direct and was transferred to their Level 3 technical support hotline and they gave me the unlock code without any struggles.

Make sure you put in a foreign sim and enter the unlock code and your golden.
Confirmed working by putting in a tmobile sim and made a phone call.
10th November 2010, 01:39 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
That's good to know

I never had problems getting unlock codes from them in the past though I remember someone saying the a/c should be in good status and beyond 6 months into the contract.
10th November 2010, 02:44 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Nice! That IS good to know. Yet another reason why I'm starting to like this more than the iPhone where you get NO unlock code, ever, from anyone, for any reason.
10th November 2010, 03:38 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by panman91

Quick update on the unlock fiasco....
I called Samsung direct and was transferred to their Level 3 technical support hotline and they gave me the unlock code without any struggles.

Make sure you put in a foreign sim and enter the unlock code and your golden.
Confirmed working by putting in a tmobile sim and made a phone call.

Can i have that number? Please?? Thanks
10th November 2010, 03:57 PM |#11  
enjoythemusic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arimozuki

Can i have that number? Please?? Thanks

Hate to tell you the bad news, yet each unlock number is unique to the phone's IMEI.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes