FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

GPSSamsungRestore: Official GPS fix?

856 posts
Thanks Meter: 125
 
By SaneinOne, Senior Member on 30th November 2010, 07:49 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Samsung USA has tweeted the Market availability of GPSSamsungRestore, a GPS optimization app. Tweets have indicated that it is for the Vibrant and Captivate:

http://twitter.com/samsungtweets
 
 
30th November 2010, 08:04 PM |#2  
shwan_3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag gothenburg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
maybe , some one using AT&T can help and upload the apk maybe ?
30th November 2010, 08:46 PM |#3  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 258
 
More
Hmmmm... I assume that it is only on the market in the USA because I searched for it under the names GPSSamsungRestore, GPS Samsung Restore, GPS Restore, etc. and I cannot find it on the market here in Canada.

I am assuming that us poor Canadians will not see this app anytime soon but I have posted a question on the Samsung Mobile Canada facebook page and I will see if they answer it. I doubt it though cause they NEVER answer ANYTHING!!!

Sure would be nice if this is the "fix" weve been waiting for...
30th November 2010, 09:48 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
The apk is posted in the vibrant general forum, 1st post

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk
30th November 2010, 10:06 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Someone tried on Galaxy S ?
30th November 2010, 10:23 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yubnub

The apk is posted in the vibrant general forum, 1st post

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk

From that post, it says the app only restore the gps settings back to default...
30th November 2010, 10:25 PM |#7  
BlackDino's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,363
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sufox

Someone tried on Galaxy S ?

Yup, gives an error saying it wont work with the i9000 model
30th November 2010, 10:39 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 227
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendonsled

Yup, gives an error saying it wont work with the i9000 model

You can change the .apk to .rar and extract the content.

If you can provide the .apk we could take a look into it

Edit: it was posted here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...1&d=1291153281

I'm gonna take a look tomorow but if someone else want to take a look, might be interessting!
30th November 2010, 11:06 PM |#9  
BlackDino's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,363
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by t1mman

You can change the .apk to .rar and extract the content.

If you can provide the .apk we could take a look into it

Edit: it was posted here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...1&d=1291153281

I'm gonna take a look tomorow but if someone else want to take a look, might be interessting!

How would you modify the contents without the developers key?
I understand you can open the APK, but I thought that was only to remove/replace images


EDIT:
with some digging, i found the settings it replaces

#Generated by GpsLocationProvider.
#Tue Nov 16 04:14:48 EST 2010
SSL_TYPE=0
SSL=0
OPERATION_TEST_MODE=0
POSITION_MODE=7
ACCURACY=50
SESSION_TYPE=2
ENABLE_NMEA=false
SERVER_MODE=0
START_MODE=WARM
GPS_LOGGING=0
DYNAMIC_ACCURACY=1
AGPS_MODE=0
ADDRESS_MODE=1
OPERATION_MODE=MS BASED
USE_DEFAULT=true
DYNAMIC_ACCURACY_VALUE=50
SUPL_PORT=7275
ENABLE_XTRA=true
TIMEOUT=1000
NUM_OF_FIX=999999999
SUPL_HOST=lbs.geo.t-mobile.com
TIME_BTW_FIX=1


As you see this is for t-mobile,
you may need to replace a couple values to get it working on your carrier
1st December 2010, 01:08 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
hosnestly no need to install this ;
# Does the application contain new values for GPS?

* No. The application only resets settings to factory defaults and then writes data in setting file.

youhou ...
1st December 2010, 01:25 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
I'm going to chime in as one of those "my GPS has been working fine". Only been using Froyo for the last week so I don't know if it will get worse. However, so far it's been good.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes