FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[TUTORIAL] Remounting/restoring/backup the /EFS partition

444 posts
Thanks Meter: 297
 
By Szaby59, Senior Member on 26th December 2010, 04:16 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
/EFS partition contains a lot of information about your phone, f.e: wifi/bt mac address and your IMEI (nv_data.bin).

It's highly recommended to backup the whole partition, or at least copy the files from the efs directory.

CORRUPTED OR NOT?

You can check if the efs is mounted or completly damaged with this command:

adb shell
mount

You will see something like this:



Red part means /efs is mounted.

IF YOUR PHONE HAVE CORRECT EFS PARTITION:

1, Root your phone - there are several methods to do this.
2, Install root explorer or Estrongs file explorer and copy /efs dir to your sdcard - this will copy the files.

or

2, Make a backup from the whole partition -this is better if you flash a phone with wrong ops, the only way to restore using this backup.

Backup:
adb shell
su
dd if=/dev/block/stl4 of=/sdcard/efs.rfs

Restore:
Add efs.rfs to an unix compatible tar and flash with odin as efs file:



IF YOUR PHONE /EFS IS CORRUPTED:

Flash the included /efs tar with odin:
This will remount your efs partition and (if you have a backup or fixed nv_data.bin) you just need to overwrite files with a file explorer.

Attached Files
File Type: 7z efs.7z - [Click for QR Code] (15.1 KB, 16095 views)
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Szaby59 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Szaby59 Ad-Free
 
 
27th December 2010, 01:06 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Thumbs up
confirm WORKING 100% ... all you just need later is the nv_data.bin fixed

Thanks so much for your efforts
27th December 2010, 07:05 AM |#3  
sirtbhopal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
Donate to Me
More
Arrow
I am using I5801 JPB (with restored bootscreen and Rooted via SuperoneClick)
while using "adb shell" command at Better terminal its showing "adb: not found"

I flashed my I5801 from JP9, JPA and JPB till date..
is it possible to restore the backup now..??
27th December 2010, 10:06 AM |#4  
Szaby59's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 297
 
More
Because you need adb.
If you do on phone (Terminal emualtor) adb shell not needed, just su and the other commands.
27th December 2010, 11:00 AM |#5  
sirtbhopal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Szaby59

Because you need adb.
If you do on phone (Terminal emualtor) adb shell not needed, just su and the other commands.

many thnx..
BTW i am not able to get the snaps u attached.. O_o
27th December 2010, 01:26 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirtbhopal

many thnx..
BTW i am not able to get the snaps u attached.. O_o

google about install ADB for android phone, so you can follow TUT here... good for you now and future..., long journey to go, m8!
30th December 2010, 07:49 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
how to make .tar file because backup file is .rfs format help me i want my imei back
31st December 2010, 05:20 PM |#8  
soulstaker's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
ok, using the dd method i made the backup of my /efs to a efs.rfs file that have ~4 MB

But when i go to the efs folder (on / ) or see the copy i've made to my SD card, there is no files at all on this folder. How can we "see" those files (nv_data.bin) ?
2nd January 2011, 11:13 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Hi
For backup I simply copied my /efs folder to SD card using root explorer.
Then I modified nv_data files to get unlocked.
there was no SSNV in the files.
I have a working unlocked phone now but the problem is that IMEI is all zeros like 000000000!
Can I use that folder to restore my files?
3rd January 2011, 05:23 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhruvasoni

how to make .tar file because backup file is .rfs format help me i want my imei back

Download the Tar Utility from GnuWin32's SourceForge Page.

Code:
hxxp://sourceforge.net/projects/gnuwin32/files/tar/1.13-1/tar-1.13-1-bin.exe/download
(change it to http)


It'll install the tar.exe executable and required dlls in C:\Program Files\GnuWin32\bin

Copy those to where you have your rfs (or you can add the bin folder to your PATH Environment Var, google for help on how to do that)

Now type:
Code:
tar -cf efs.tar efs.rfs
3rd January 2011, 08:41 AM |#11  
Szaby59's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 297
 
More
Yes, you can, just copy nv_data to /efs.
Windows users can use IZARC to create tar files.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Szaby59 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Szaby59 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes