FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Modding Chinese Android Hero H6 (android 2.1)

7 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By A n d r e, Junior Member on 27th December 2010, 04:47 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello!
I just bought an Chinese Android Phone Hero H6. I guess it's the cheapest Android Phone available (it sells for like US$120) and it has a MTK6516 chip.

I could root it using Universal Androot, but I'd like to take it to the next step:
use apps2sd or maybe update it to Froyo (I don't know if it's possible since it appears to have only 128MB RAM).

To install apps2sd I'd have to update the recovery, right?
Does anyone here has the same device so we can try to make it happen?

I'd be very grateful!

Thank you!
28th December 2010, 05:25 AM |#2  
PMGRANDS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hartford, Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 922
 
Donate to Me
More
Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by A n d r e

Hello!
I just bought an Chinese Android Phone Hero H6. I guess it's the cheapest Android Phone available (it sells for like US$120) and it has a MTK6516 chip.

I could root it using Universal Androot, but I'd like to take it to the next step:
use apps2sd or maybe update it to Froyo (I don't know if it's possible since it appears to have only 128MB RAM).

To install apps2sd I'd have to update the recovery, right?
Does anyone here has the same device so we can try to make it happen?

I'd be very grateful!

Thank you!

I Wont Lie To You, I'm Not Really Familiar With The Chinese Version, But I Do Have The Cdma Hero!!
You Should Be Able To Do The Same Thing As Me!! Don't See Why Not??

Try *Z4Root* For "Root", & Install
*Rom Manager* For "Recovery"

Also There's A App Called *Install- Manager* That Will Allow You To Move Apps From Phone Without Partitioning Your Sdcard!!

Hope This Helps!!


Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to PMGRANDS For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PMGRANDS Ad-Free
28th December 2010, 03:28 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PMGRANDS

Y

I Wont Lie To You, I'm Not Really Familiar With The Chinese Version, But I Do Have The Cdma Hero!!
You Should Be Able To Do The Same Thing As Me!! Don't See Why Not??

Try *Z4Root* For "Root", & Install
*Rom Manager* For "Recovery"

Also There's A App Called *Install- Manager* That Will Allow You To Move Apps From Phone Without Partitioning Your Sdcard!!

Hope This Helps!!


Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App

Hello!
I installed Rom Manager, but I got a little afraid with the big warning when you first run it lol

Is it possible to brick my phone when I install the ClockworkMod Recovery? I don't know if it's compatible...

I'll install the Install Manager and see if it's good..

Thank you!
29th December 2010, 04:17 AM |#4  
PMGRANDS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hartford, Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 922
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by A n d r e

Hello!
I installed Rom Manager, but I got a little afraid with the big warning when you first run it lol

Is it possible to brick my phone when I install the ClockworkMod Recovery? I don't know if it's compatible...

I'll install the Install Manager and see if it's good..

Thank you!

I Had The Same WARNING....LOL!!
They Just Have That To Protect Them!! I Guess??

Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
6th January 2011, 04:25 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i have recently bought the exact same phone

and i was wondering if i could root the phone
i'm afraid of running the universal androot and busybox
i want to put some apps in the SD, and also i would like to make a full backup, just in case i brick it
final goal is putting 2.2 in it
anyone... help? i'm rather new at this
6th January 2011, 01:54 PM |#6  
PMGRANDS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hartford, Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 922
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by makintral

i have recently bought the exact same phone

and i was wondering if i could root the phone
i'm afraid of running the universal androot and busybox
i want to put some apps in the SD, and also i would like to make a full backup, just in case i brick it
final goal is putting 2.2 in it
anyone... help? i'm rather new at this

Go To My Posts! I Think I Posted A App Called "Z4Root"?

Anyway, Use That To Root Your Phone (May Take A Few Tries)
But Definitely Works!!!

Then Depending If You Have S-on You May Have To Download "Unrevoked-Forever" From The Unrevoked.com Website.

Next You Can Go To The Market & Install "ROM Manager" Open That App, Select Flash Recovery, Confirm, Then Go To Install From SdCard.

Select The Unrevoked-Forever Zip, (Make Sure It's Put On The Main Directory Of Your SdCard)
Next I Believe It Will Bring You To Your New Recovery Screen!!

*Note* Recovery Menu Can Be Accessed By Powering Off, Then Powering Back On While Holding Volume Down, Once The Phones On Press The Home Button To Get Into Recovery!

Hopefully This Helps!!

Any Other Questions,
PM Me.... I'll Help You Out!

Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
19th January 2011, 02:50 PM |#7  
Capeschae's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hi guys,

I recently bought a Chinese SuperPad and now I'm looking for a Chinese Android Phone. I am thinking of the H6, H9 or Star A3000. All use the same processor.

How are your experiences until now with your phones?


Sent from my SuperPad using XDA app.
24th January 2011, 09:56 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by A n d r e

Hello!
I just bought an Chinese Android Phone Hero H6. I guess it's the cheapest Android Phone available (it sells for like US$120) and it has a MTK6516 chip.

I could root it using Universal Androot, but I'd like to take it to the next step:
use apps2sd or maybe update it to Froyo (I don't know if it's possible since it appears to have only 128MB RAM).

To install apps2sd I'd have to update the recovery, right?
Does anyone here has the same device so we can try to make it happen?

I'd be very grateful!

Thank you!

Could you please upload a ROM backup from your Android phone, i need it to test it o a Gigabyte Gsmart s1205 with the same processor?
28th January 2011, 01:29 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Otranto (LE)
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Are there any news.
Is there a way to install a Modded rRecovery on my Star A3000 (dualsim, froyo, CPU Mediatek MTK6515)?
Thank's to who will help me !!!
29th January 2011, 12:55 AM |#10  
Member
Sofia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Here is a ROM for Star A3000

http://dl.dbank.com/c0vsx28hqc
4th February 2011, 11:47 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Otranto (LE)
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by optybg

Here is a ROM for Star A3000

Thank's. BVut how do I upload it on my phone?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
mtk6516

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes