FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Is there any way to root 2.0.71¿

9 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By killmanaj, Junior Member on 29th December 2010, 03:36 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I did not know z4root doesnt work on 2.0.71 before i upgraded but now my archos seems sluggish like it needs to be overclocked. Can i downgrade or something?
 
 
29th December 2010, 04:17 AM |#2  
chrulri's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 278
 
Donate to Me
More
overclocked? with 2.0.71 it runs again at 1000 MHz.
if you want root, remove z4root and follow this guide/thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=880321
29th December 2010, 04:31 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks. I dont really understand that method enough to try it tbough
29th December 2010, 04:40 AM |#4  
chrulri's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 278
 
Donate to Me
More
It's simple:
  • download SDE: http://www.archos.com/support/downlo...droid_gen8.aos
  • download the custom kernel from the thread mentioned above
  • reboot archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
  • choose "Update firmware"
  • connect your archos device by usb to your computer
  • upload the firmware file to your device
  • safely disconnect the usb connection
  • press ok on archos device
  • reboot and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
  • Go to recovery menu and choose flash kernel / initramfs.cpio.gz
  • connect your archos device by usb to your computer
  • upload zImage and initramfs.cpio.gz to your device
  • safely disconnect the usb connection
  • press ok on archos device
  • reboot and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
  • choose "Developer Edition"
  • ...
  • run terminal app
  • type "su"
  • have fun...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chrulri For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift chrulri Ad-Free
29th December 2010, 04:43 AM |#5  
hexto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Middletown, CT
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
This is awesome. I just got a 101 and as much as I like it I can't help wishing I was running MIUI like I do on my Incredible. This tablet would be amazing on it.

Sent from my A101IT using Tapatalk
29th December 2010, 09:23 AM |#6  
maxtcee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Jerz
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
has anyone tried superone click?
29th December 2010, 11:24 AM |#7  
jutley's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 461
 
More
Will this all work on my archos 43 internet tablet?
29th December 2010, 12:00 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Someone in a french board, said that he a writted a program in C++ to gain root on Gen8 under firmware 2.0.71 :

http://www.archoslounge.net/forum/sh...t=16182&page=1

He say, it's a program like unrekoved.

Waiting for a link to see, if it's working or not ....
30th December 2010, 03:26 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 222
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spanish_man

Someone in a french board, said that he a writted a program in C++ to gain root on Gen8 under firmware 2.0.71 :

http://www.archoslounge.net/forum/sh...t=16182&page=1

He say, it's a program like unrekoved.

Waiting for a link to see, if it's working or not ....

Nah, it does not work at all. He just sucks trying to say he's very smart but he does even not understand what root means. The program is not in C++, but in Basic language. What the program does is displaying kind of an image, asking the username and launching ADB with the username... ^^

I'm not even sure if he knows there not root command anymore with firmware 2.0.71 !
30th December 2010, 03:33 AM |#10  
pokejake2002's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
give it a shot.
it should work on all the gen8 tablets if its gonna work at all

Sent from my A70S using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to pokejake2002 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pokejake2002 Ad-Free
30th December 2010, 04:27 AM |#11  
hurrpancakes's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento, CA
Thanks Meter: 121
 
More
EDIT: nevermind
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes