FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[DEV GUIDE]The purpose of HtcLoggers.apk

8,185 posts
Thanks Meter: 7,795
 
By jerdog, Admin Emeritus - Purveyor of word nuggets on 5th January 2011, 04:03 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
[NOTE: This information was passed to me by an anonymous source.]


***Thanks also to Joeykrim for helping me verify a few things on how this works - and for testing it out***

A lot of people have removed the due to not knowing what it did, and concern over the "big brother" possibility. Here is EXACTLY what the app is for, and how we in the dev community can utilize it. I have included the file for you to reinstall as needed. Installing it into /system/app will autoload it for you.

It's purpose is to provide logging of various aspects of the device when you're having issues, and help you identify exactly where those issues are occurring. This includes:
  • dumpstate (bug report)
  • dumpsys
  • Device logs
  • Radio logs
  • Events log
  • Kernel log

To use it:
  1. Dial *#*#HTCLOG#*#* (*#*#482564#*#*)
  2. You're presented with 3 options (Collect Log Files, Snapshot Report, System Loggers)



    - Collect Log Files gives you options to move the log files to the SD card
    - Snapshot Report let's you run "dumpstate" and "dumpsys"



    - System Loggers gives you some options



    - Device Logger
    - Radio Logger
    - Events Logger
    - Kernel Logger
  3. Enable the logs you want, then enable "Auto Start Logging"

    - you need to do this in order to have the logs start
    -
  4. Hit the "Back" key twice to return to the home screen
  5. Reboot and then wait for the issue to reproduce
  6. When the issue does occur make note of what time the issue occured
  7. Copy the logs off of your SD card and and find the time the issue occured and begin to analyze what was happening
  8. When you're done, don't forget to go back into the HTC Logging and disable logging
  9. Reboot to clear the HTC Logging auto start
Attached Files
File Type: apk HtcLoggers.apk - [Click for QR Code] (100.8 KB, 596 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jerdog For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jerdog Ad-Free
6th January 2011, 04:18 AM |#2  
snandlal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 473
 
Donate to Me
More
I installed and pushed the dialer code on cm7 rc0 and it ran. I wonder if this would help the devs with accessing the radio thru a dialer code and app in AOSP, like htc uses? Its the app itself that responds to dialer codes.
6th January 2011, 04:52 AM |#3  
verse187's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cali Baby
Thanks Meter: 14
 
Donate to Me
More
Nice find i always wonder the hell was the apk for
6th January 2011, 05:29 AM |#4  
Quote:
Originally Posted by snandlal

I installed and pushed the dialer code on cm7 rc0 and it ran. I wonder if this would help the devs with accessing the radio thru a dialer code and app in AOSP, like htc uses? Its the app itself that responds to dialer codes.

It will definitely provide anyone - especially devs - with information necessary to track down the source of a problem. Glad to know it works on CM7.
6th January 2011, 06:10 PM |#5  
myn's Avatar
Retired Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,003
 
Donate to Me
More
jerdog, thanks for digging into this. I've always wondered about this apk
6th January 2011, 06:19 PM |#6  
Quote:
Originally Posted by myn

jerdog, thanks for digging into this. I've always wondered about this apk

No problem. Me too - and figured others could use it.
6th January 2011, 06:51 PM |#7  
roar109's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Monterrey
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Wow nice, no more adb logcat for some things, thanks
6th January 2011, 07:16 PM |#8  
comhack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pale Blue Dot
Thanks Meter: 40
 
More
Well I tried it on a HTC MyTouch 3G 1.2(Magic) running Cyanogenmod 6.1(2.2.1) and could not get it to work. When I entered the last star in the sequence, the screen went black and then back to the dialer. Any ideals?

Ok it just automatically rebooted, removing apk.
6th January 2011, 09:49 PM |#9  
Quote:
Originally Posted by comhack

Well I tried it on a HTC MyTouch 3G 1.2(Magic) running Cyanogenmod 6.1(2.2.1) and could not get it to work. When I entered the last star in the sequence, the screen went black and then back to the dialer. Any ideals?

Ok it just automatically rebooted, removing apk.

Yeah this is in EVO 4G for a reason. On new versions of HTC phones they will probably have this - but right now it's only the EVO that does.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes