FORUMS

Want to try to avoid 1.3.0 OTA? Modify build prop?

7,262 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,191
 
By khaytsus, Senior Member on 26th January 2011, 11:16 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey everyone, I'll up front say I'm more a user than a tweaker, so right now my NC (and my wifes) work awesome. I am currently on CM7, but my wife and many folks need to use the stock ROM and until a clean way to update with autonoot and such comes out, hopefully this is useful.

Clockwork Mod won't install an OTA, but I have a feeling that it'll still download it and try to install it, and I'm afraid it will try to install it over and over as long as the file is there. So moving to CWM to avoid the OTA is out.

Renaming otacerts doesn't work, lots of accounts of that.

But in my experience, OTAs always compare the build prop to see if they need to OTA, so what I'm going to do to my NC and my wifes NC is modify the build prop to the new settings and see if that avoids the OTA.

BTW, I know Nookie Froyo, CM7 etc won't OTA, etc, so now that's out of the way....

Due to multiple reports that using Root Explorer has somehow screwed up the system requiring users to manually re-copy their old build.prop back, I suggest you DO NOT use Root Explorer to do this.

First thing is look in /media for the uploader, in case it's already downloaded. Delete it if it's there! If you're paranoid, check when you're done with the following too, just in case it snuck in while you were editing
  • Remount the system r/w
Code:
adb shell
su
busybox mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
  • Push the new build.prop to your system
Code:
adb push build.prop-1.3.0-YOURBUILD /system/build.prop
Note you need to replace YOURBUILD with the appropriate build, Froyo or Eclair, or whatever you named the build.prop..

Now your NC should have thew new build.prop, so now reboot. When you reboot, you should get a pop-up message with a green N saying you've updated to 1.3, but you should not see any update progress dialogs or any indication there was an actual update. Hopefully this makes it not try to OTA to 1.3.0! Please report back! It worked for 1.0.1 with the 1.1.0, as well as the 1.2.0 update out there, and it should work for 1.3.0.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to khaytsus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift khaytsus Ad-Free
26th January 2011, 11:16 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,191
 
More
Below is for old 1.2.0 information, don't use this unless you're sure you need to!
  • Remount the system r/w
Code:
adb shell
su
busybox mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
  • Push the new build.prop to your system
Code:
adb push build.prop-1.2.0 /system/build.prop
The Following User Says Thank You to khaytsus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift khaytsus Ad-Free
26th January 2011, 11:53 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,191
 
More
Once I get a little feedback on this, I'm going to move it to the NookDevs wiki, just don't want to put nonsense there if that's what it is I've done this to both my NC and my wifes, no problem so far, and hopefully it avoids the OTA.
26th January 2011, 11:56 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Salt Lake City, UT
Thanks Meter: 178
 
More
done - we'll see what happens next ....
27th January 2011, 12:10 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
newbie
Hello
I am a newbie at all of this and used the autonooter with 1.01. That's about as deep as i planned going with the nook, enough to read, play some games and surf the web. So my question is for someone like me that really may not have the skill as most of you, what would be the easiest way to prevent an ota update that will unroot my nook? Thanks for any advise
27th January 2011, 12:13 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,191
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JF-WS6

Hello
I am a newbie at all of this and used the autonooter with 1.01. That's about as deep as i planned going with the nook, enough to read, play some games and surf the web. So my question is for someone like me that really may not have the skill as most of you, what would be the easiest way to prevent an ota update that will unroot my nook? Thanks for any advise

I'll keep revising the instructions in the first post, but that's so far the only theory that hasn't failed yet... So get adb to work and follow the instructions. You can do it over Wifi, so even if USB isn't working out for you due to your OS, the Wifi ADB widget on the Market will work.

How to use ADB itself, you can google.. It's fairly straightforward. Basically you'll just need to adb connect ip : port once you know it, the Wifi ADB widget tells you when it sets up.
27th January 2011, 01:41 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Bay City, MI
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
FYI, I just did all of this from Root Explorer on the device. I snagged yer file from your dl.dropbox link, copy it over via root explorer, and set the rights. When I restarted, the little green n told me I had recently updated.

Maybe we can bypass optional future updates by changing our version to something really high like 1.99?
27th January 2011, 01:52 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes I know I never say anything on here but will now. I have used something like this on before I I do think this will work just fine as the Nook already things it's updated so when it checks it's going to see that it is already updated.


Now as to what BN will do in a week or so who knows. We just need some more support for roms and so on for the nook and we will be good to go.
27th January 2011, 02:05 AM |#9  
danguyf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
ClockworkMod has no bearing on the OTA; it's not the recovery that attempts to download and install OTAs.
27th January 2011, 02:16 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 308
 
More
Used your download link to install it. Says I updated to 1.1.0. Thanks
27th January 2011, 02:19 AM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,191
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danguyf

ClockworkMod has no bearing on the OTA; it's not the recovery that attempts to download and install OTAs.

Um, yeah... Let me explain further I guess?
  1. B&N Components decide it needs an update, downloads it
  2. B&N components see the update is downloaded, sets up the OTA update, reboots
  3. Clockwork Recovery does NOT update
  4. System boots
  5. Repeat step 2 - 5 forever?

That's what I meant by "Clockwork won't install an OTA" and such.
The Following User Says Thank You to khaytsus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift khaytsus Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes