FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Fpse works on Wildfire (PS1 emulator)

289 posts
Thanks Meter: 46
 
By gurung_vishwas1, Senior Member on 21st February 2011, 07:52 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I just downloaded FPse emulator for android and it is working with Wildfire as well.

Tried with Tekken 3, it works, slow, but works. May be I need to overclock a little more (currently 710MHz) to make it work reasonably.

Anyone else tried and which game working smoothly ?

EDIT: O.K. With CM7 RC1 installed without google apps, JIT enabled, overclocked @768MHz and only FPse PS1 emulator app with 15 fps skip setting (for android) installed (trying to simulate gaming ROM for HTC Wildfire), the following games are tested and found satisfactory run:

1. Tekken - found running O.K.
2. Tekken 3 - found a little slow (but playable)
3. Gran Turismo - found playable
4. Digimon world - To be tested (as reported by ms_green)
5. Moto Racer - Full Speed with sound (After enabling boost mode)
6. Final Fantasy VII - Full Speed with sound
7. Tony Hawk's Pro Skater - Full Speed with sound
8. Quake II - Full Speed with sound
9. Tenchu - Stealth Assassins - Playable with sound
10. Mortal Kombat 4 - Full Speed with sound
11. Moto Racer 2 - Full Speed with sound (After enabling boost mode)
12. Moto Racer World Tour - Playable
13. Mortal Kombat 4 - very smooth (40-50 fps) as reported by @Was3k
14. Pro Evolution Soccer - playable (20-25 fps) as reported by @Was3k
15. Mortal Kombat Trilogy - very smooth as reported by @karl23koch
16. Motorhead - playable (30 fps with JIT enabled, @730MHz, sound OFF & boost mode)
17. Metal Slug X - very much playable @40 fps as reported by @ziemjak

Additionally, switch to Airplane mode and enable Boost Mode from system.

I'll add the games in above list as I test them.

Note: Only one mode can be enabled at a time, either HLE or Bios mode (if HLE is not selected, it is bios mode) and in bios mode only, Boost Mode can be enabled.
The Following User Says Thank You to gurung_vishwas1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gurung_vishwas1 Ad-Free
 
 
21st February 2011, 08:39 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Rugby
Thanks Meter: 32
 
Donate to Me
More
Wildfire can't even emulate SNES at a reasonable speed, it's just not powerful enough.
21st February 2011, 09:06 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickHu

Wildfire can't even emulate SNES at a reasonable speed, it's just not powerful enough.

Well to be fare snes is fine but I doubt that ps 1 will work good
21st February 2011, 09:15 PM |#4  
ms_green's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Try digimon world. It works fullspeed on my legend. (without frameskip) ...some text is missing tough...

Final fantasy 8 is not fullspeed but payable.
The same goes for ridge racer.
(try using frameskip)



Sent from my HTC Legend
22nd February 2011, 03:17 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ms_green

Try digimon world. It works fullspeed on my legend. (without frameskip) ...some text is missing tough...

Final fantasy 8 is not fullspeed but payable.
The same goes for ridge racer.
(try using frameskip)



Sent from my HTC Legend

I have done few steps which makes FPse play faster:
- fresh Installation of CM7 RC1 without Gapps
- Only installed two additional apps: FPse (obviously) and SetCPU for overclocking (@768 MHz)
- Enabled JIT
- Stopped all background processes and put in Airplane mode

and in Fpse settings, set frameskip to 15 fps.

With above changes, I think, FPse is working fine for Tekken 3 (not very fast, but good).

Can anyone suggest what more can be done to speed up the games ?

I think we can have a CUSTOM ROM for wildfire only for gaming without any features like phone, message, google services, etc, etc, then only, Wildfire will be able to play PS1 games smoothly.

Anyway, I will test additional games on FPse and put the result here.

I think this is the best place to requiest a good gaming ROM for wildfire:
Anyone can produce CUSTOM ROM for Wildfire for GAMING only ?
22nd February 2011, 06:09 PM |#6  
djdevine2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Linlithgow (Edinburgh)
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurung_vishwas1

I have done few steps which makes FPse play faster:
- fresh Installation of CM7 RC1 without Gapps
- Only installed two additional apps: FPse (obviously) and SetCPU for overclocking (@768 MHz)
- Enabled JIT
- Stopped all background processes and put in Airplane mode

and in Fpse settings, set frameskip to 15 fps.

With above changes, I think, FPse is working fine for Tekken 3 (not very fast, but good).

Can anyone suggest what more can be done to speed up the games ?

I think we can have a CUSTOM ROM for wildfire only for gaming without any features like phone, message, google services, etc, etc, then only, Wildfire will be able to play PS1 games smoothly.

Anyway, I will test additional games on FPse and put the result here.

I think this is the best place to requiest a good gaming ROM for wildfire:
Anyone can produce CUSTOM ROM for Wildfire for GAMING only ?

If you're wanting to go to all that effort then why don't you buy a cheaper android mp3 player that has a GPU something like one of the archos ones, you can get them now for around £100 (roughly $150)
22nd February 2011, 06:56 PM |#7  
nhnt11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,130
 
Donate to Me
More
Such a Rom already exists. CM7 without gapps in airplane mode.

There's hardly any point of making a gaming Rom separately because it would hardly do much to speed up games. The wildfire suffers mainly because it lacks hardware, which can't be fixed by a rom.

Edit : I don't think most wildfire users bought it for gaming anyway. There are better phones for that.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using XDA App
22nd February 2011, 10:44 PM |#8  
CosmicDan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 7,590
 
Donate to Me
More
Get a PSP and hack it, full speed PSX via POPS

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using Tapatalk
23rd February 2011, 04:38 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhnt11

Such a Rom already exists. CM7 without gapps in airplane mode.

There's hardly any point of making a gaming Rom separately because it would hardly do much to speed up games. The wildfire suffers mainly because it lacks hardware, which can't be fixed by a rom.

Edit : I don't think most wildfire users bought it for gaming anyway. There are better phones for that.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using XDA App

I agree with you on that even when I purchased HTC Wildfire, I never thought it will be ever playing PS1 games. I tried PSX4DROID earlier, but it did not work for me.

As Fpse developer mentioned, he has made this even for ArmV6, which is wildfire CPU.

The point is, since I already have Wildfire now (I know I should have purchased high-end phone with double the cost of wildfire), and PS1 emulator is available for it, why not to get few games which can play decently on it. I think, the low graphic requirement games will play decently on it.

I tried Tekken, and it is playing decently, and as I mentioned earlier, Tekken 3 is playing a little bit slow (with frameskip 20), but still playable.
24th February 2011, 07:01 AM |#10  
CosmicDan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 7,590
 
Donate to Me
More
Edit: I think I may buy it on next payday, I would like to try out some turn based classics like Kartia.

Tekken isn't exactly low end.. its 3D... bad 3d I know lol but the geometry is all done via software on our crappy CPU. Try a 2D game. And RTFM, apparently you can tweak the configuration for better performance. Alas it is only a new emulator, maybe the dev's can future optimize the 3d software emu in time.

I'm curious though... how the heck can you put up with real-time gaming with all the buttons PSX has?!? I have a hard enough time playing Super Mario World on SNES with this touchscreen... its impossible! Though I guess a fighter game wouldn't be as twitchy hey lol

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using Tapatalk
24th February 2011, 03:23 PM |#11  
ms_green's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Hey, the newest version has an option to disable sound to get better fps. That will help wildfire users as well I guess.

Oh and about the touchscreen controls: you can map controls to hardware buttons like search and back.

Sent from my HTC Legend
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes