FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOWTO] Change PRL on Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V (5/06/2011)

135 posts
Thanks Meter: 76
 
By freddysam, Senior Member on 13th March 2011, 04:49 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I saw this information posted elsewhere in pieces and thought I'd bring it together. I didn't make this procedure, but I can confirm that it works (and so can many others now). This is absolutely for the LG Optimus V and no other phone. Do not do this unless you understand what a PRL is and why you are doing it. There is some risk in doing this. I'm sure Virgin and Sprint would not be happy to know of this mod. It might even be blocked in the future by changing the way Sprint's towers filters Virgin users. Do this at your own risk! I take no responsibility!

1. Requirements:

Windows
LG Optimus V USB Serial Drivers (updated 3/22/2011)
Read the first few pages of this thread if you have driver issues. You can also try this. Thank you rjones1981.

You don't need to have a rooted phone to do this.

2. Get Your MSL Code:

New Technique (thanks to mmarz)
  1. Log into your Virgin Mobile account.
  2. Click this link
  3. Although you get a 404 error page, search the page for "msl:"
  4. The six numbers after msl: are your MSL code. Write them down.

Old Technique
  1. Download CDMA Workshop 3.6.0 Demo
  2. Turn on USB Debugging, and connect your phone to your PC.
  3. Open Device Manager.
  4. Ports > LGE Android Platform USB Serial Port > Properties > Port Settings > Advanced > COM port number
  5. Change the value to a port number below 10. (demo restriction of CDMA Workshop)
  6. Run CDMA Workshop
  7. Select the proper port from step 4. Hit "Connect."
  8. Under the "Security" tab, find "SPC/User Lock."
  9. Change the drop down menu to "LG method," and click "Read."
  10. Write down the number that appears in the box. This is your MSL code. Now close CDMA Workshop, we won't need it anymore.

3. Update Your PRL:
  1. Connect your phone to your computer using a USB cable.
  2. Open Device Manager.
  3. Ports > LGE Android Platform USB Serial Port > Properties > Port Settings > Advanced > COM port number
  4. Make a note of your COM port number.
  5. Download and install QPST v2.7.
  6. Open "QPST Configuration".
  7. In the "Ports" tab, if your com port isn't listed, select "Add New Port" and write in your com port as "COM#" (# being the number you noted in step 4). Verify that your com port is listed.
  8. Make sure your phone appears in the the "Active Phones" tab.
  9. Click "Start Clients." Choose "SERVICE PROGRAMMING." Select your phone.
  10. Click "Read from Phone."
  11. Enter your MSL code when promoted. (It will not finish reading from your phone. It will stop near the end and report an error. This is normal.)
  12. Hit "Save to File" to backup your phone's settings and PRL to a .qcn file. (Optional but recommended)
  13. Select the "Roaming" tab.
  14. Under "Preferred Roaming Enable" choose "Browse..." and select the 01115.prl or 61677.prl file. (attached below, also see update 6)
  15. Under the "System" tab change "Roam Preference" to "Home only". (Optional but recommended)
  16. Click "Write to Phone," and your phone should immediately reboot. Do not disconnect your phone until it has booted back up.

To confirm that this worked, go into settings > about phone > status. You should have the new PRL and all that it entails. To reverse the process, follow the same steps but use the Virgin 61007 PRL or use your .qcn backup by selecting "Load from File" in the QPST SERVICE PROGRAMMING.

If you try different PRL's and get better service, please post your results here.

Update 1: Even though you can enable roaming using the QPST System tab under Roam Preferences, and you can actually connect to the Verizon towers, your calls will prompt you for a credit card, and your data will not work while roaming. I recommend leaving roaming on "Home Only." Even though you can't roam, an updated PRL will give you better coverage on Sprint's network. There are already reports that this fixes the 3G connectivity issue.

Update 2: I have created a hybrid PRL numbered 61676. I manually picked that number, and it may conflict with the PRL # of one released in the distant future, just fyi. I created the PRL by taking 60676 and removing a few roaming entries to make room. I then compared the entries in 61007 to it, and added all the non-roaming entries that 60676 lacked. It will almost be impossible to figure out if these additional entries help at all, but they can't hurt. I'm attaching 61676 below if you guys want to test it out. I promise nothing, but so far my phone has not complained about using it. Let me know how it works out if you do try it.

Update 3: Added new 60677 and a new hybrid 61677

Update 4: Proof that it is worthwhile to do!

Update 5: Added 01115 PRL. It is the latest from Sprint. Don't know why it is numbered like it is. I'm not going to make another hybrid prl for it because it is too time consuming, and I see no benefits from it.

Update 6: I'll no longer keep this updated for new PRL's. You can find new ones as they are posted here: http://cid-eabe29f3770d8d15.skydrive...0&sa=636785150

Update 7: Newest PRL posted here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=201

Roaming does not work on Virgin Mobile! If you do roam, you will not receive your phone calls or texts, and you won't be able to make calls or send texts! Your data will also not work if roaming. Set your "Roam Preference" to "Home only", and you don't have to worry about roaming.
Attached Files
File Type: rar 60676.rar - [Click for QR Code] (3.9 KB, 1032 views)
File Type: rar 61007.rar - [Click for QR Code] (1.7 KB, 1246 views)
File Type: rar 61676.rar - [Click for QR Code] (3.5 KB, 704 views)
File Type: rar 60677.rar - [Click for QR Code] (4.0 KB, 705 views)
File Type: rar 61677.rar - [Click for QR Code] (3.7 KB, 1801 views)
File Type: rar 01115.rar - [Click for QR Code] (4.0 KB, 1648 views)
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to freddysam For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift freddysam Ad-Free
 
 
16th March 2011, 02:56 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
This was never in pieces, why don't you give proper thanks to the original poster from android central?

http://forum.androidcentral.com/opti...nter-help.html
The Following User Says Thank You to xtravbx For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift xtravbx Ad-Free
16th March 2011, 04:39 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtravbx

This was never in pieces, why don't you give proper thanks to the original poster from android central?

http://forum.androidcentral.com/opti...nter-help.html

Haha, you should be asking why he doesn't give proper thanks to me. I wrote this, and he copied it. Before I wrote it, it was spread out over a bunch of posts. I don't really care either way. I didn't invent the phone, the programs, or the procedure. I'm just glad the info is out there.

http://forum.androidcentral.com/opti...tml#post715849

I guess he did reference me.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to freddysam For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift freddysam Ad-Free
22nd March 2011, 05:58 PM |#4  
Junior Member
springtown
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've installed all of the proper drivers but my phone is not showing up in device manager. i have a rooted V on sublimewulf's stock rom.

my cpu is running 64bit win7. after a little research i believe the sprint prl will help me quite a bit in my hometown.

is there anything thing i can do to set com for my phone?


UPDATE found my phone its not using the lg drivers, its using adb sooner driver but i cant figure out how to get it ti show in ports tab
22nd March 2011, 06:49 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by i shot jfk

I've installed all of the proper drivers but my phone is not showing up in device manager. i have a rooted V on sublimewulf's stock rom.

my cpu is running 64bit win7. after a little research i believe the sprint prl will help me quite a bit in my hometown.

is there anything thing i can do to set com for my phone?


UPDATE found my phone its not using the lg drivers, its using adb sooner driver but i cant figure out how to get it ti show in ports tab

Uninstall the other drivers and install the correct ones.
22nd March 2011, 08:48 PM |#6  
overthinkingme's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Does anyone know how to fix the "Failed..phone does not answer" response I get from CDMA when I try to read the spc using the lg method?
This is something I'd really like to try.
Thank you for taking the time to write the guide!
22nd March 2011, 09:54 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by overthinkingme

Does anyone know how to fix the "Failed..phone does not answer" response I get from CDMA when I try to read the spc using the lg method?
This is something I'd really like to try.
Thank you for taking the time to write the guide!

Which version of CDMA Workshop are you using? It works fine using the demo linked above. You may want to also try reinstalling the drivers. After you click connect, does pressing the read button next to it return an error?
22nd March 2011, 10:16 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yeah, i must be missing something here, I installed what should be the right drivers I'd thought but when I plug the phone in there's nothing in device manager under ports... There's an "ADB Interface" now with "Android Sooner Single ADB" under it. There's a Google mass Storage USB Device under Disk Drives, and a new USB Mass storage device under Universal Serial Bus...
So what am I doing wrong and how do I fix it?
Thanks for any help!
22nd March 2011, 11:00 PM |#9  
Member
Vancouver, WA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danwil77

Yeah, i must be missing something here, I installed what should be the right drivers I'd thought but when I plug the phone in there's nothing in device manager under ports... There's an "ADB Interface" now with "Android Sooner Single ADB" under it. There's a Google mass Storage USB Device under Disk Drives, and a new USB Mass storage device under Universal Serial Bus...
So what am I doing wrong and how do I fix it?
Thanks for any help!

Same issue here. If I install the phone's USB drivers from the LG website (http://www.lg.com/us/mobile-phones/LG-VM670.jsp, under "Resources" tab) I get an "ADB Interface" section in the device manager with "Android Sooner Single ADB" under it, exactly as the previous poster described.

If I uninstall those and install the drivers linked to in the OP, I then get told that no driver was found for my device when I plug in my phone. It should be noted that the page linked to by the original poster identifies the drivers there as being for the LG-LS670, which would be the Optimus S... The Sprint version of the phone. The Optimus V is technically the LG-VM670. (See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LG_Opti...LS670_-_Sprint).

Could this be why my system is refusing to use those drivers?

Are those of you who've connected to your Optimus V with the drivers linked to in the OP all running hacked ROMs?
The Following User Says Thank You to Kate6 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Kate6 Ad-Free
22nd March 2011, 11:42 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate6

Same issue here. If I install the phone's USB drivers from the LG website (http://www.lg.com/us/mobile-phones/LG-VM670.jsp, under "Resources" tab) I get an "ADB Interface" section in the device manager with "Android Sooner Single ADB" under it, exactly as the previous poster described.

If I uninstall those and install the drivers linked to in the OP, I then get told that no driver was found for my device when I plug in my phone. It should be noted that the page linked to by the original poster identifies the drivers there as being for the LG-LS670, which would be the Optimus S... The Sprint version of the phone. The Optimus V is technically the LG-VM670. (See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LG_Opti...LS670_-_Sprint).

Could this be why my system is refusing to use those drivers?

Are those of you who've connected to your Optimus V with the drivers linked to in the OP all running hacked ROMs?

I uploaded the drivers myself and fixed the link in the original post. Uninstall and delete (using device manager) the "Android Sooner Single ADB" driver and try unplugging and reinserting the USB cable.. If the device shows up as unrecognized, Right click on it in the device manager window> Update Driver Software> Browse my Computer> Let me pick from a list> All> (wait for the list to be populated)> LG Electronics> LGE Android Platform USB Serial.
22nd March 2011, 11:59 PM |#11  
overthinkingme's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by freddysam

Which version of CDMA Workshop are you using? It works fine using the demo linked above. You may want to also try reinstalling the drivers. After you click connect, does pressing the read button next to it return an error?

CDMA 2.7, I am going to try the demo and see if that helps.
Read also returns the same error. It connects fine though.


EDIT:
Figured it out!
Don't connect to the modem port.
I should have read the directions more slowly.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes