FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Guide] GSM unlock for Sprint LG G5

13,053 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,879
 
Post Reply Email Thread
Unlocking the LG G5 Sprint model!

First and foremost thank @vittger over in this thread where the method was posted - HERE

Reason I am making this Guide/post is it seems like even though its been posted, theres not a thread for it and some miss the actual method of doing it.

I haven't tested or seen it tested on any OS below Android 7.0 so it may not work unless you've updated.


1. Download this APK - HERE
2.Install the APK
3 Open the App
4. Scroll down & Select IOT(CDG2)
5.Select LTE setting,Select Operation Mode, Then Select Lab Network
6. Device will reboot, Then go back to step 3,4, and 5, and the option Band25 make sure its enabled. scroll down to LTE Data roam config, and enable all the bands towards the bottom in that menu as well.
7. Go back to the Hidden menu APK main menu, ModemProtocol, RAT Selection, then choose GSM/WCDMA/LTE Auto
8. Reboot and you should be good to go!
9. You now have you Sprint LG G5 LS992 GSM unlocked for both US and international GSM carriers


To Add your APN (for data):
Go to, The hidden menu APK, IOT(CDG2), LTE Settings,
APN settings and then add your APN for your carrier

Remember you'll need to set APN type to "default" and
authentication type to "None" or else it wont work


Tested and working with AT&T 3G/HSPA,4G/LTE And T-Mobile
2G/4G/LTE working perfectly fine in the USA. Also tested with a GiffGaff UK sim roaming in the US.

This method also works with the LG V20 and LG Tribute HD so it may work on other LG devices.

Having an issue with it stop working?
Disable your screen lock. No password/swipe to unlock/fingerprints - Having a password seems to be an issue with this method.


Here's a quick YouTube video I made,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10k8I5sDtuQ
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	https-%2F%2Fs4.postimg.org%2F7lrncuof1%2FScreenshot_2017_02_26_18_26_17.png
Views:	4080
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	4079630  
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to hyelton For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hyelton Ad-Free
 
 
18th March 2017, 05:45 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
thanks but are you tested it in Locked G5 Nougate version
18th March 2017, 06:28 PM |#3  
hyelton's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Wilmington
Thanks Meter: 5,879
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaifani

thanks but are you tested it in Locked G5 Nougate version

What do you mean by locked G5?
18th March 2017, 07:02 PM |#4  
PhantasmRezound's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 509
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaifani

thanks but are you tested it in Locked G5 Nougate version

This method works entirely on stock. Been running a TracFone GSM BYOP SIM card for the past month with use of the APK above.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2017-03-18-13-59-00.png
Views:	1986
Size:	186.6 KB
ID:	4079682   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2017-03-18-13-59-12.png
Views:	1968
Size:	159.6 KB
ID:	4079683  
The Following User Says Thank You to PhantasmRezound For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PhantasmRezound Ad-Free
18th March 2017, 09:10 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, OH
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Is this the same as the remote unlock? Thank you
18th March 2017, 09:25 PM |#6  
hyelton's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Wilmington
Thanks Meter: 5,879
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbshane

Is this the same as the remote unlock? Thank you

Sort of but its FREE. It will do the same exact thing. The instructions are in the OP. All you do is download the APK follow the directions and GSM unlocked
19th March 2017, 07:03 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Thanks.... Bro
20th March 2017, 03:01 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
How do we return to sprint? Can you put that in the instructions too?
The Following User Says Thank You to robnitro For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift robnitro Ad-Free
20th March 2017, 03:47 AM |#9  
hyelton's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Wilmington
Thanks Meter: 5,879
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnitro

How do we return to sprint? Can you put that in the instructions too?

Just dial ##RTN and enter your SPC code, which will reset your device. If you need your SPC code Give Sprint your IMEI and they can provide it.
20th March 2017, 04:02 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks,
RTN would do a reset of all sw or just the provisioning/network/sim setup?
20th March 2017, 05:16 AM |#11  
hyelton's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Wilmington
Thanks Meter: 5,879
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnitro

How do we return to sprint? Can you put that in the instructions too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by robnitro

Thanks,
RTN would do a reset of all sw or just the provisioning/network/sim setup?

It resets everything.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes