• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

A unique attempt to conserve battery... Think this will work

Search This thread

igotlostintampa

Oct 15, 2012
Hey guys! I'm new to the z3 and have been getting some awesome battery life out of this phone so far.. But I'm looking to improve it..

So I found a way to counteract any perceived lag on they phoneafterr turning on reduced performance for battery life so I could keep it on all the time... I lowered the resolution.

So don't get me wrong so far I am absolutely loving the phone and the display is just jaw dropping so far.. I really like everything about it... Well other than maybe the camera... But I figured I would post some settings from nomone in case you guys were looking for a little extra life..

To lower the phone to 720p it's 720x1280 at 240 spy to keep things looking ok, though it might push some things left it doesn't break the phone.

I have mine set at 360 currently.. Phone runs smoother than any phone I've ever had lol.... It's cool to see but I will probably turn it back to 720 as that at least wasn't too gigantic of a feel and it looks like my screen has started to wiggle a bit.. I'll play with it lol..

But if you wanna try 360 it's 360x640 at 140 dpi, oddly things work better than at 720 here so keep that in mind.. These are still works in progress..

I just figured while I know changing the resolution might not help so much but to seriously lessen the load from the gpu. There is a battery option we have in stamina mode to reduce performance, and it seems to also lower the display framerate... Try to play a 60fps video lol you will see a message saying stamina has lowered the frame rate for playback due to stamina mode...

I'll see if I can handle this 360 resolution..

I lost 1 percent battery in the past 30 minutes with the screen on so I hope it's helping :)