Ad-Hoc Wifi on Acer A500 Tablet (Honeycomb)

Search This thread

aflan

Jan 16, 2008
Last edited:
Reactions: Shrike9

Shrike9

May 10, 2011
Thanks for pointing out the thread that worked on your A500. I am going to try it this week. I'm also new at this and have been able to root and do a few other things thanks to everybody that posts the great walk-throughs here.

Shrike9

May 10, 2011
I got adhoc working on my A500 also (tethering to a jailbroken iphone with PDANet). I was running into issues trying to run the ADB REMOUNT command, with the error "Operation Not Permitted" being returned. There is probably a more skilled & elegant way do do this, but I modified the instructions I found here:

You need to turn on Airplane mode to disable wifi, or you will get an error when trying to copy the wpa_supplicant file with ADB PUSH later on in the instructions...

adb shell
# su
# mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
# chmod 777 /system/bin/wpa_supplicant (Or any subdirectory you want to push to inside system)
# exit
adb pull /system/bin/wpa_supplicant <local path on your computer> (this is to backup your original file in case you have to restore it)
adb push <local file> <device location>
and eventually you should restore the original directory permissions by going back into the shell:
# chmod 755 /system/bin/wpa_supplicant (Or any subdirectory you modified permissions to)

Now turn off Airplane Mode, and give it a test.

Last edited:

richi chen

Feb 18, 2011
I also got adhoc wifi working on my A500 too by manually update wpa_supplicant via Root Explorer since the Acer new OTA version Acer_A500_1.126.03_COM_GEN1 still don't fix this issue.

Wes90

May 10, 2011
I accidentally did it without turning the wifi off, now wifi doesn't work. Is there a way to recover it?

Last edited:

Shrike9

May 10, 2011