I've never needed to reboot, so I'm not sure why you would need to. There is no propagation to the permission tab as firewall rules apply to network access, it's the other way around, when blocking permission it uses the firewall.I might have an idea of what's going on - I've seen toggling FK checkboxes doesn't update the Permissions tab on App details WRT the internet access before reboot - so it could have been that I was toggling it on in the Permissions tab - but something else was set in the FW tab, then on reboot it got lost.
Anyhow tried now - setting the FW tab properly and immediately rebooting - access is on after reboot - gets preserved.
- Why the reboot? Why doesn't it propagate immediately to the Permissions tab and from it - back and forth on toggle everywhere? I.e. if you uncheck internet access in Permissionn, FW page should show you updated settings and they should be saved for boot…
- Sometimes I have to clear whitelisting completely and allow everything, to check for problems - if I forget this and don't reread the boot FW settings and reboot - the FW on reboot is empty and cannot be reloaded on the bottom.
- Finally - do you really save it by uid? If so, isn't that flawed? Meaning I export the toolbox settings before
system upgrade - then obviously all app uids are different on restore. Shouldn't it be saved just by package id - unless I'm reading you wrong. But thenga change of uid wouldn't be a problem no?
It seems like a UI glitch, but I'll have to enable Xposed on my device to test this more closely.
About changing whitelisting and clearing everything, I see the on-boot button gets red so that change is not saved and this would restore original settings upon reboot... Just make sure for them to be loaded...
That is wait for stupid OS to have run all apps that have requested to run on boot, which can take minutes since one of those *** Android updates.
I tested and it worked as designed. reload even reloaded settings before they were applied.
Firewall rules are applied based on UID, so they are saved based on that and with package name. UIDs are then auto-adjusted upon restoring toolbox settings.
So there's no actual problem.