• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

[APP]SensorMaze - a little game

Search This thread

cgeboers

Jan 8, 2008
Schriek
I wrote this little program, called SensorMaze. It generates mazes and allows you to steer a little blue dot using the movement sensors in the HTC Diamond. It is based on the original SensorTest program and since it has been a while since I programmed for any PDA, it is a bit simple.

Usage:

Try to send the blue dot to the red dot by tilting your Diamond in the required directions.

Commands:
- New Maze: create a new maze in the same level
- Next Level: increase the complexity.

As mentioned, it is my first attempt, so there is still some work that needs to be done.

TODO:
- Implement timer, so you can compete against yourself
- remove the "Position" text and replace with timer output
- MessageBox instead of Dialog ?
- Replace the blue dot with a "ball" like structure
- Release the source code (after cleaning it a bit more)

Question:
When I try to use MessageBox from my code, the MessageBox fails to close and I can never get back to the Shell without a reset. Any one any idea what I could be doing wrong here ?

Changes ( 07-Aug-2008)

- Replaced the target with a cheese and the moving dot with a mouse icon.
- Added some text to show the current level.
- Initial level is lowered, so that kids could play it too.

Screenshots are provided in the attached .png files. I also added the sources, so that other people can see how you can use the acceleration meter

If you like my applications, consider a donation to Koushik.
After all it is thanks to his (and the many other developers) work and readiness to share it that I can write these programs. I (currently) still get enough satisfaction in writing these programs.

Attachments

• SensorMaze-01.CAB
    26.8 KB · Views: 33,441
  • SensorMaze01.png
    SensorMaze01.png
    9.9 KB · Views: 16,728
  • SensorMaze02.png
    SensorMaze02.png