• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

Backtrack 5 for the DNA

Search This thread

hkbladelawhk

Sep 20, 2007
Phoenix, AZ
Samsung Galaxy Z Fold3
UPDATE: With the new release of Kali Linux, I started playing around and got their raw disk image put into a mountable img. Download can be found at https://www.cubby.com/pl/kaliarm_mod.img.7z/_f9cd8b50b18b441da2969053cb15c71c. The Kali image is not exactly resizable, and will require 5 gigs of space. I haven't tested it yet, but hypothetically if you name it the same, and put it in the bt5 directory, it should work the same. Report back if you have issues.

I spend a good few hours today working this out. I have been a long fan of Backtrack, and was unable to get it to work on the DNA reliably, until now. Here are the modified scripts.

YOU MUST BE ROOTED AND HAVE BUSYBOX FOR THIS TO WORK, I RUN DSB'S KERNEL AND UKB, WORKS FINE FOR ME. I TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THESE INSTRUCTIONS OR SCRIPTS ON YOUR PHONE, USE AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Included:
bootbt - starts up the loop device, and mounts all the needed partitions
ubt - unmounts the partitions, and sets your path variable back to normal

Instructions:
Download the ARM img file from Backtrack's site, Copy the bt5.img and other files (EXCEPT the bootbt) onto your sdcard into a folder named bt5.
Open terminal emulator and type su. cd to /sdcard/bt5 and type sh bootbt. Profit.

The bt image file is about 4.9 gigabytes. Technically it doesn't need to be that large, as the file structure is only about 2.5 gigs of space in use. If you want to resize it, you need to open up a Linux based VM or be on a linux machine and do the following terminal commands as root. (IE Sudo/SU)

This will create a blank image file that is about 3.2 gigs with 1 meg blocks
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/path/to/new/btsmall.img bs=1m count=3300